We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very agressive and rude marketing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pelikan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pelikan
Ranked #1 of 5 Virpazar B&B and Inns
Holon, Israel
Level Contributor
276 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very agressive and rude marketing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We don't intended to stop Virpazar ,intended to drive till Petrovac,but since heavy rainfall under way we spent much time and were tired, and then decided stay in Virpazar. I may just to prove all what were written on other reviews about manager and his aggressive way to sell hotel and boat tour. Room was very small and overpriced, as well as boat tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    51
    18
    23
    40
See reviews for
34
68
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We haven't actually stayed in Hotel Pelikan, but we were tricked into taking boat trip organized by them. After we entered the restaurant to ask about the options we were told the boat leaves in 15mins and if we want a place we need to pay 10Euro per person per HOUR - so we paid 40Euros for 2 of us and 2h trip. We saw nothing interesting, only coast and one island with a ruined castle on it. We thought that by paying the extra money we'll get some information or will be shown unique areas - didn't happen.

After lunch (in another place) we decided not to leave it like this, since we felt really cheated. We wanted to speak to the Manager, but he pointed towards the receptionist and made her talk to us. She explained that since Hotel Pelikan was the first to offer trips on the lake they feel they can charge higher price. The Manager only came once, with a cigarette in his mouth, pointed at the official price list which we were shown before and said we agreed to it and have no right to complain. He was rather aggressive and unpleasant.

Really, don't go there - there are other boats to be hired for half of the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LenaZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Hotel Pelikan is located in the centre of Virpazar, at the shore of the Lake of Skadar National Park. Very beautifull! The hotel is a small family owned hotel, we had a room with a view on the lake, basic but really ok. The owners are very friendly and helpfully. Also the people at the reception are really nice, they speak perfect english and they give a lot of usefull information about the area. Also the son can tell you everything you wanted to know. He orgenisez also a boattrip on the fantastic lake. The father gives you free spices and during the breakfast he brought fresh berries. Virpazar is really recommended to visit, and this hotel is perfect to stay!

Room Tip: room with a view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The fact that we had a beautiful apartment in Sveti Stefan only served to highlight the divide between our place and this. We were met by pushy people the second we stepped out of the car and, if I said we were frogmarched into the hotel's dining area I would be exaggerating - but only just. We had bags of herbs, plant cuttings and God knows what placed on our table, together with blank envelopes. They continued to try to sell us boat trips even after we had said no. We didn't buy herbs or plants or anything else. We only wanted breakfast. The dining area would have Alex Polizzi hyperventilating - but it did add to the place's character. Breakfast itself was adequate and, as wea te, we watched other poor souls subjected to the hard sell (the hotel is next to where the boats leave on Lake Skadar - they clearly are desperate to get numbers up).
Try your best to avoid this place. Say you've just eaten, say you already have a place booked, say you're allergic to herbs, say you get seasick. Say whatever you need to in order to avoid being led into this hotel. It certainly was not typical of the rest of Montenegro that we saw and loved.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ootytooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have just came back from this place. Fortunately we were not staying there for a night but only we took the cruise on the lake & lunch. Just after entering the village we were attacked by the owners. Mr Marko (the son) shows you price list which you can('t) negotiate, but seems (by looking at others reviews) the price is still pretty high.
The boat is extremely noisy and the cruise itself is different from what you agreed (and paid before entering the board). In the end you don't see much.
The lunch in the "Pelikan" restaurant is also not the best choice. Cold food, rude service, tap water.
Rude and greedy guys, be careful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Uzzytkownik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We've been there on august 2012. We are more than disappointed and did not feel at ease at all. We found greedy and agressive persons there (which is very different from the people you can meet in Montenegro). Just before we entered the city by car someone from the hotel tried to sell us boat trips (we were still in the car!). There was nearly no visibility because of forest fire when we were there but every half an hour a very agressive man from the hotel chased us to convince us to go on his boat tour (with nothing to see in this case !). He came while we were in the car, in the room and in the restaurant ! Even with a very clear no ! We found him counting its banks notes in his car parked in front of the hotel just after ! Everything in this hotel gives a bad feeling. Rooms are smal and overpriced but very clean.
The town in itself is fine and the region is nice. We liked doing kayak on the river a little bit further north.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SC_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

It is a pity that I read the previous feedback from Russia55 too late. I can confirm each word of it. Only one difference: we were deceived on 34 euro. the excurcion was boring,not 3 hours,but 2,5, we saw nothing,only coasts.the man who organised this excurcion was very agressive. He is professional lier without conscience. I hope that in the future less people will fall in to this trap and their lying business becoms bancrupcy!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate0505_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virpazar
7.7 mi away
Sato Hotel
Sato Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sutomore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vir
Hotel Vir
#4 of 5 in Virpazar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#1 of 26 in Podgorica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Guesthouse Skadar Lake
Guesthouse Skadar Lake
#5 of 8 in Virpazar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country House Djurisic
Country House Djurisic
#1 of 8 in Virpazar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Apartment Vir
#4 of 8 in Virpazar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelikan

Property: Hotel Pelikan
Address: Virpazar B.B | Montenegro, Virpazar, Bar Municipality 81305, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Bar Municipality > Virpazar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Virpazar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pelikan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Pelikan" is a private company that is operating and developing a family business since in 1960. We are situated in a small rustic village on the banks of Lake Scutari. In our business we have developed a tradition from the very beginning for Cruises on Lake Skadar, and today we offer several varieties of cruising the lake , during which you and your clients could rich an impressive flora and fauna, remains of impressed historical and cultural monuments of antiquity. Boat trip services we are providing with our boat for up to 80 people, with a cabin and a toilet. The ship sails with a staff that consists of 4 members of the crew, led by the Captain .For small groups and private cruises we can offer two smaller boats. At the Virpazar, a small town with only 200 residents in the central hotel building with capacity of 17 beds we own restaurant with 50 seats indoor and 50 seats in the restaurant preparing terrace. In the restaurant we are preparing a Montenegrin national cuisine and fish specialties from the area of Skadar Lake. We can extract and some of them, such as Carp in fruit and Eels in rice. We own the annexes house with the accommodation capacity of 29 beds. Our staff speaks several languages we can mention: German, English, Italian, Russian, etc. In the future communications we can continue write each other in English or Italian. Virpazar is very well known in the field of production not only wines and spirits, but it is also known for the production of cheese, so as a part of our service we can also offer to you a visit to the wine cellar where you can see the plantation of grapes, wine production process as well as taste homemade cheeses, prosciutto, olives, ... In addition to these routes of wine and cheese, also, it is possible to organize hiking, and biking trips, fishing, etc. I hope that we have made our presentation attractive to you, and that you will have an interest in coming , we will represent our region to you and contribute to your satisfaction so we hope that the impressions which you will take with you will last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pelikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing