We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful & Friendly Staff at Pelikan”
Review of Hotel Pelikan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pelikan
Ranked #1 of 6 Virpazar B&B and Inns
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
290 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“Helpful & Friendly Staff at Pelikan”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had reserved directly at Pelikan but upon arrival in the village, an English speaking man escorted us to the hotel & arranged for a boat ride on Lake Skadar.

We had two meals in the hotel restaurant that were exellent. Traditional food served in a dining room that reeked with charm & antiquity. The waiter was very efficient.

Our room was a bit cramped but the shower was ok & for one night, Pelikan is a good place to stay. The price is right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    51
    18
    24
    41
See reviews for
34
70
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grosuplje, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We enjoyed our day at Skadar lake with great hosts at Hotel Pelikan. The boat ride was unforgettable! Friendly hosts and really beautiful nature worth seeing. Surely we will return to enjoy it again, maybe for more than 2 hours long trip across the lake.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaSLO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

we enjoy the day staying in this hotel, the room was nice and the food too. The "Pelican" staff was very polite and lovely people
I mostly recommend the boat trip, you find yourself sailing in lucent water surrounded by mountains!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPelikan, Manager at Hotel Pelikan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Hope that we will see soon.
With kindest regards,
Hotel Pelikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was there in last July with my friends and we had a really great time. The hotel was one of 'good value for money' ones and we were offered even a boat trip which we liked very much. The place itself didn't disappoint us, it is emerged in simpleness and wild beauty. To sum up, I'd recommend both Virpazar and this hotel to everyone who decides to visit Skadar Lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10willy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPelikan, Manager at Hotel Pelikan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Hope that we will see soon.
With kindest regards,
Hotel Pelikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We found this a friendly and comfortable hotel in a scenic location by Lake Skadar with mountains in the background. Rooms were clean, with masses of hot water. Locally-produced food, especially when prepared with fresh fish from the lake, and good local wines ( this is a wine-producing area) and friendly service made this a pleasant and relaxing environment. Free wi-fi is available in reception and a small supermarket and ATM almost on-site add to the convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPelikan, Manager at Hotel Pelikan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Hope that we will see soon.
With kindest regards,
Hotel Pelikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We enjoyed our day at Skadar lake with great hosts at Hotel Pelikan. They recommended a boat ride which we enjoyed very much and the lunch after was great served in a traditional style. Very good value for money and we definitely will come back.

Room Tip: A boat ride on a lake is definitely worth it and should not be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miljan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPelikan, Manager at Hotel Pelikan, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely opinion. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Hope that we will see soon.
With kindest regards,
Hotel Pelikan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were here over the weekend in the early summer (June) and it was a great experience - the owners helped us to a very well guided visit to the National Park, with a bird expert - not cheap but worth every minute. We spotted the real Dalmatian pelikan, but also the nature around (green, lush) is just beautiful! When we came back to the hotel, the father gave us a present postcard with the pelikan stamp on it - so nice. After the trip we enjoyed their home cooking - the fresh carp soup is the local "bouillabaisse". This hotel is small, the rooms are not big either (the bed was), but we spent all days outside, so it was OK. Nearby you can also see a historical memorial from the partisan times, and an ancient castle is 15 minutes walk away (getting renovated, can be visited). And the hotel is full of interesting b/w pictures and personal things from the past.

Room Tip: In the new building opposite to the Hotel Pelikan, recommend the rooms upstairs with windows to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpaceOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virpazar
7.7 mi away
Sato Hotel
Sato Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sutomore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vir
Hotel Vir
#4 of 6 in Virpazar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Laguna
Hotel Laguna
#1 of 27 in Podgorica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Guesthouse Skadar Lake
Guesthouse Skadar Lake
#5 of 9 in Virpazar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
5.2 mi away
Country House Djurisic
Country House Djurisic
#1 of 9 in Virpazar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Apartment Vir
#4 of 9 in Virpazar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelikan

Property: Hotel Pelikan
Address: Virpazar B.B | Montenegro, Virpazar, Bar Municipality 81305, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Bar Municipality > Virpazar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Virpazar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pelikan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Pelikan" is a private company that is operating and developing a family business since in 1960. We are situated in a small rustic village on the banks of Lake Scutari. In our business we have developed a tradition from the very beginning for Cruises on Lake Skadar, and today we offer several varieties of cruising the lake , during which you and your clients could rich an impressive flora and fauna, remains of impressed historical and cultural monuments of antiquity. Boat trip services we are providing with our boat for up to 80 people, with a cabin and a toilet. The ship sails with a staff that consists of 4 members of the crew, led by the Captain .For small groups and private cruises we can offer two smaller boats. At the Virpazar, a small town with only 200 residents in the central hotel building with capacity of 17 beds we own restaurant with 50 seats indoor and 50 seats in the restaurant preparing terrace. In the restaurant we are preparing a Montenegrin national cuisine and fish specialties from the area of Skadar Lake. We can extract and some of them, such as Carp in fruit and Eels in rice. We own the annexes house with the accommodation capacity of 29 beds. Our staff speaks several languages we can mention: German, English, Italian, Russian, etc. In the future communications we can continue write each other in English or Italian. Virpazar is very well known in the field of production not only wines and spirits, but it is also known for the production of cheese, so as a part of our service we can also offer to you a visit to the wine cellar where you can see the plantation of grapes, wine production process as well as taste homemade cheeses, prosciutto, olives, ... In addition to these routes of wine and cheese, also, it is possible to organize hiking, and biking trips, fishing, etc. I hope that we have made our presentation attractive to you, and that you will have an interest in coming , we will represent our region to you and contribute to your satisfaction so we hope that the impressions which you will take with you will last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pelikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing