We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kool Kalpetta Kottage Stay!”
Review of Royal Palm Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Palm Resort
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Kalpetta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2013

A family vacation that I planned was around a stay in another property. At the last moment, the owners of that property had to defer teh booking as their renovation did not finish in time for us to be there. So, a bit of searching, asking and taking suggestions, I shortlisted a few places and one of them was this Royal Palm Resort in Kalpetta.
We booked after speaking to Mr. Richard on the phone and planned to a 4-day/3-night stint. Reached there as planned. Due to some road work in the vicinity, there was some issue with water supply and power (Indian summer!) and we were accomodated in an alternate cottage from the original booked for us, till the issues were sorted and the staff, richard and Cliff all helped to make us comfortable.
Yes, some things were a bit off, some small niggles, but overall, the expereince was good and we really never felt out of place.
In all, it was a good call for me and the family. Good to have happy endings! :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IqbalKhuraishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Traveled in a group, the place is very good and easily accessible from the main road.
Hotel room is very spacious and had all amenities. Enough parking facility is available.
Morning buffet was good and quality food was served.

We ordered food for night in the room, it was highly overpriced.

Other than that we enjoyed our stay @ Royal Palm Resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clintu, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Palm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Thanks for your review sir.,.,,.looking forward to welcome you back anytime...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

we had our honeymoon trip to wayanad,,booked this resort online found the pictures and reviews reustfull allaround.
The scenic beauty of the construction is far more excellent than seen in photos,
a well maintained resort with all amenities.
Dont look for an high end listed resort.
this is of best value for the deals they offer.ofcourse a middle budget hotel than any other resort around in wayand.
the rooms were clean,,bedshheets,towels and a clean andneat bathroom.
We ended up extending our stay for 1 more day out here.
the manager and staff were so cooperative and arranged us the candle light dinner ina surprise.
this was the best moment we had.
The food was authentic.especially the kerala cuisine,,delicious.,.,their special pepper chicken was hot and tasy although it made me have a bottle to rescue my mouth burning...it was too good.
they planned our trip so that we covered most the places.
the only reqiurement here is they should have a swimming pool.although we saw the construction works going on.,.,they should be keeping 1.
we also saw students enjoying the campfire and music out.,.we were happy to join them.,
Alcohol is strictly prohibited in the premises,.,it strongly attracts many families to them.,.

Room Tip: the ble palm.,.,its a beauty.,.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank renju t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Booking : We had booked a green palm cottage (Non AC) through internet.The management was very prompt in booking the room and responding to our queries through email.
Travel : We availed KSRTC Volvo service to travel to Kalpetta from Bangalore.From Kalpetta bus stand we hired an auto rickshaw to reach the property.
Location:The resort is located on a small hillock near Kalpetta market and the bus stand.
Check In: Check in was a breeze.Though we had booked a Non AC cottage but the manager allotted us a AC one(yellow palm) with no extra charge.
Resort:The resort is around 100 mts away from the reception area.It has four cottages viz Green Palm,Yellow Palm,Red Palm and Blue Palm.We stayed in the Yellow Palm cottage which was nice and cosy.The bed linen and furnitures were clean.The bathroom was very spacious and was clean too.
Staff:The resort staff were extremely cordial.The service was also good.
Food:The resort serves both veg and non veg food.However the cuisines are Kerala style.The re are a lot of hotels and restaurants in the market area which is around 10 minutes of walking distance from the resort gate on the hillock.
Sightseeing:The resort arranged a vehicle for our local sightseeing trip.The driver was extremely friendly and very well behaved.
Downside:Just a minor one in my opinion.There is an Indane gas cylinder depot just adjacent to the resort.We woke up early in the morning one day , during our stay, to the noise of loading and unloading of cylinders on the lorries.However barring this sporadic instance,the ambience was largely peaceful with sounds of chirping birds everywhere in the property.

Room Tip: All the cottages appeared to be good and well maintained.We stayed in the Yellow Palm cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank subham3327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

went here with my friends.,.,they warmheratedly welcomed us .,.,treated us like vip s.,.,thanks to all.,.,we wer students .,.,never expected such royalty from the staff.,.,the manager and the crew werre impossibly polite and arranged our plans for sightseeing.,.,their decency compelled us to write the review.,.,
anyway travellers gettin by should ask for the tour planning from the reception otherwise u gonna end up wasting time and effort.

Room Tip: we stayed in the apartment rooms.,., a 3 bedroom unit..,but it is apart from the cottages.,.,choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susmithmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We ended up extending our stay at the Royal Palm resort due to their excellent above and beyond service and offered activities! We were welcomed in by Clint the resort manager who was very polite and friendly! The cottages were clean and nicely furnished- had good tv's and bathrooms. They provided us with breakfast, (lunch if we were there) and dinner which were all delicious! Clint ended up taking us out for day excursions and made sure we had an amazing time in Wayanad. Overall i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Asia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Location
-----------
- well located off the main road in kalpetta
- kalpetta also happens to be the nearest spot to all local sight seeing places

Hotel
--------------------
+ves

- Mix of appartments(rooms), cottages and Villas to choose from depending on budget
- Well maintained
- Value for Money
- good Ambience
- Neat and clean rooms, neat bedsheets and towels
- good staff
- good manager
- Spacious rooms
- meet the manager for sight seeing options and he will give you best iterinary with local route map of roads to follow, also he can help with local holidays, else you will land up wasting time as I did by reaching caves on Monday and that being a holiday :)

-ves
------
- Franky food was a big disappointment both breakfast and dinner considering other places where he had food was very good
- The so called Gala dinner on New year night was a big disappointment too

All in all a very good experience in Gods own country and specially good for Pocket.
Tip: Bargain well as I believe there are no fised prices and just depend on your bargain skills :)

Room Tip: Blue cottage and Red cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rohitprakashmathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
0.3 mi away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#14 of 22 in Kalpetta
43 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 3 in Kenichira
104 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
#5 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
84 reviews
7.5 mi away
Vythiri Greens Resort
Vythiri Greens Resort
#4 of 7 in Lakkidi
59 reviews
0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#4 of 22 in Kalpetta
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Resort

Address: Bye Pass Road, Kalpetta 673121, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kalpetta
Price Range: £20 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the royal palms a homely enclave situated in the charming hills of wayand,kerala, gives u memorable days at different cottages,,,and apartment flats.Easy to get from town(600mts)...but away from the hustle bustle of town..Missionmain provision is hospitality ,,,keep it ....homely...and precisely NICE..Descriptionthe royal palms a homely enclave situated in the charming hills of wayand,kerala, gives u memorable days at different cottages,,,and apartment flats.Easy to get from town(600mts)...but away from the hustle bustle of town.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Resort Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing