We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Body and Soul, Relaxed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayurveda Yoga Villa
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kalpetta
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mind Body and Soul, Relaxed!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed two weeks in Ayurveda Yoga Villa as part of my trip to south India. This was my first trip and I must say it was an amazing experience.
Situated in Kalpetta and in a beautiful environment filled with greenery and away from all the concrete, I would recommend this place to anybody seeking for a relaxing peaceful stay. I will start with the cons.

Cons:
1. There was no meat in the food menu, not even an egg was served and I felt it hard to go on for two weeks without meat. (I'm a meat lover. It won't be a big issue if you can manage with vegetarian food. Just know what an ayuruvedic diet is :)
2. No close by towns. (I mean big ones with supermarkets. Whatever you take is what all you got. So don't miss anything. Pack those most wanted items with extras for the days you stay.)

Pros:
1. The Environment. (This is what made me so attracted to the place. The beautiful scenery of the river. I recommend you chose a cottage that is facing the river. It's a bit expensive but worth it.)
2. Friendly doctor and staff. ( Dr. Tony and massager Nidish were my buds in the stay. They were very friendly and I should also mention all the staff that were helpful. Sorry I don't remember their names ;)
3. Reasonable price. (The whole stay with food and everything, even airport pickup only cost me around 2 lakhs Sri Lankan rupees ($1700) which I felt was well worthy.)

Verdict:
Overall it was a pleasant stay at Ayurveda Yoga Villa. I underwent the stress management program which gave me good results. For someone seeking peace of mind, I don't think India has anything better to offer than the services provided here. Real value for money.

Thank you.

P.S: I heard from others who was staying in the cottages that there are mosquitoes so it's better to keep the windows shut at night.

Room Tip: Grab a cottage that is facing the river. You get the beautiful scenery plus the breeze is just amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhothaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    44
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
43
245
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Of all of the places that I have been to India, there is no place like AYV. Everything about the place is wonderful, and definitely worth the visit to Kerala. From the extremely friendly and caring staff to the pleasant little cottages by the river, there was never a moment when I regretted my decision of coming here. Special thanks to Kishore (the kindest person you will ever meet) for making this the genuine "Pray" experience

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klalalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I spent 4 weeks in the Villa during monsoon season, after finding Trip Advisor reviews most helpful in choosing accommodations. I hope my experience will help others in their search. Retreat was clean, beautiful setting in rain forest, very friendly staff and management, led by Mr. Murali and Dr. Anu. Treatment was excellent and accommodations, freshly prepared meals, daily doctor consultations and medicine are all included in the price, so you won't get a feeling of being "nickel-and-dimed". Everyone who works at the Villa truly show their care for your well being. Special thumbs-up to Kishore, guest relations, without whom the place would not be the same. His level of care is extraordinary.
Ayurveda Yoga Villa offers full package of daily activities, including yoga, relaxation, balanced nutrition, one-on-one consultation with counselors, morning and evening pooja.
State of Kerala is recognized for having many ayurvedic centers to choose from and it is not always easy to make a selection. Thanks to Trip Advisor I made a right choice and hope to return to Villa in the future.

Room Tip: Saraswati cottage is the most secluded and peaceful, though it is also most requested by returning g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in YogaVilla for 3 weeks during Feb 2013. Absolutely enjoyed my stay. The pristine nature of the surrounding areas is breathtaking. The lush greenery is something truly special. I am a non-vegetarian (meat/fish is a part of my daily food intake). Before I decided to stay in YogaVilla I knew they serve only vegetarian food. So I was a bit apprehensive. But to my surprise I have to admit that I enjoyed the vegetarian food they served. The kitchen staff is quite friendly. The cottages are built according to traditional Kerala architecture.
I underwent their Panchakarma treatment and participated in yoga sessions. I am so energized that I feel a new man now! Dr Vipin was very good.
They prepare ayurvedic medicines at the premises. Truly fascinating to see the preparation of different kinds of medicines and massage oils.
The owner, Ajith, is an exceptionally friendly man! He gave me a detailed explanation of the different kinds of ayurvedic treatments and also yoga therapy. Staff was very good, polite and helpful.
I will gladly recommend this place to anyone looking for a vacation in a yoga resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radhaxkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Even if at Ayuerveda Yoga Villa the food would be only half as tasty, the place half as beautiful, the location half as magic, the treatment half as efficient and the other guests half as interesting, Ayuerveda Yoga Villa would not loose a percentage of it’s attractivity, because beyond all measurable offers, everything here truly comes from the heart and consequently reaches you right there. I came with a mind full of chaos and I left with a heart full of gold.
I recommend this place especially to those who are searching to improve the health of their body, mind and soul but as well to those who just want to reactivate and love nature, Indian culture, kitchen and traditions and appreciate interesting conversations with people from all over the world.
After 4 weeks I am returning home as an almost new person and just wonder how I can keep up this wonderful energy in my everyday life.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room with a nice with ask for one of the cottages behind and above the "her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J0Hannes1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent a long time looking for an ayurvedic centre in which to holiday and rejuvenate. The reviews led me to enquire at ayurvedayogavilla, where the help and information via e mail were excellent and prompt. A good omen I thought. The location is superb! The doctors are very thorough as are all the staff who unite with the ayurvedic principle of your stay paramount. I wish I was in a position to stay longer for the true magic of ayurveda to shine through. I have no complaints about the centre. Do your homework as this type of trip may not suit all. It is an ayurvedic experience not a laze around a pool holiday. We all need a trip like this but you may not want a trip like this at this time. I have been on a few retreats before and so didnt pack any luxuries as they are normally forbidden where I go. So should I go again I would pack; iPad with some movie or tv, books, music, chocolate as an occasional treat, work out how a local phone simcard would work to call home, more warm clothing for the evening and even a sleeping bag. I travelled in december/january.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ayurvedicosteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was my birthday gift to myself and was my very first trip to India. After visiting the Ayurveda Yoga Villa I can say I am a changed person for the better! From the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcomed like family. The staff who work there go above and beyond to take care of any need you may have. This was my first Ayurvedic experience and feel I have learned so much (Thank you Morelli for sitting and having such amazing conversations). The early morning and eveng Pooja’s really made me feel the spirit of this truly amazing place. The yoga classes led by both Prijitt and Shakti were amazing as they were both very attentive to all levels of Yoga for people participating in the class.

All I can say about the food is that it was delicious and really enjoyed all the meals as you can feel they were made with love. I am not a vegitarian and still after 3 weeks have not eaten meat or chicken. Everything the guests eat are grown organically from the local area.

The rooms we stayed in were good and did not have air conditioning but were equipped with fans and mosquito nets. The rooms were large and spacious and provided more than enough room for my personal belongings. The only improvement I would recommend is get better mattresses for the beds.

The location could not be in a better place, situated along a river, many mornings you can take a good walk along the river or along the road to explore and take in the amazing countryside. This was one of if not the best trips I ever went on. I feel I really grew inside and learned so much and made some life long friends in my trip. I will return to the amazing place and only hope that I could stay longer the next time! Thank you for all you do and please don’t evern loose Prijitt or Shakti! They are so important to the Ayurveda Yoga Villa’s success! I cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chryz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
15.0 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 21 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
7.6 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
15.0 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#4 of 21 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
7.5 mi away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 2 in Kenichira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
13.9 mi away
Orange County Resorts Kabini
Orange County Resorts Kabini
#1 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayurveda Yoga Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayurveda Yoga Villa

Property: Ayurveda Yoga Villa
Address: Bavali PO Ayurveda Yoga Villa Kartikulam | Kuruva Island, Kalpetta 673121, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayurveda yoga holistic research centre for Detoxification and rejuvenation programme designed to get optimum result by treating body,mind prana.The process primarily seeks to restore the vital strength of the body by eliminating the accumulated toxins and making the tissues pure.Our practices and exercises in the lessons at Yoga Spirit are developed by including self-acupressure, meditative or breathing exercises in order of the different sections of the lesson enables you to relax and purify your body through Ayurveda as well and we practise daily Asana, Pranayama and including Dharma and chanting in 90 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayurveda Yoga Villa Hotel Kalpetta
Ayurveda Yoga Villa Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing