We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, awesome food, home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cheeral Green Homestay
Ranked #18 of 90 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Thanks to Mr. and Mrs. Soman for making the stay at Cheeral so wonderful!

This place is tranquility itself. Nestled in a spice garden among lush greenery, this place is perfect to unwind and be one with nature. The room was basic but adequate with hot and cold water. Mr. Soman is very attentive and gave us emergency light ( one short power cut), umbrella ( it was a glorious monsoon) and even an adapter when I needed one. He was of great help in planning our sight seeing as well.

Now comes the food.. I am a Bengali and like coastal fare, fish etc. I tried mostly Kerala dishes at this homes tay like Ada ( rice dumpling with coconut and jaggery filling), Puttu ( steamed rice and coconut balls), Kerala fish curry and many other yummy things. Mrs. Soman is and awesome cook and a warm person.I will remember her cooking for a long time to come :) !

Activities within 10 mins of walking- Take a walk into the tea plantations near the charming temple. Walk through lush greenery and spice plantations. Visit the local market where locals meet

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdie250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Cheeral Green Homestay is truly a green Paradise. We stayed there for 11 days an each one filled our heart and soul. Besides visiting the nearby well known places like the breathtaking Edakkal Caves, Pokkot Lake and the Jain Temple we also very much enjoyed relaxing there, walking around the interesting farm, sitting on the wonderful upstairs verandah watching the many birds around, the raising of the moon, doing yoga, or just looking into the various shades of green of all the different plants on the property. We also liked to walk around the interesting neighbourhood and into the beautiful fields and plantations nearby. The three of us felt so happy and in peace being there, on the farm and surrounded by the loving care of Shashi and Soman.
He has such a good knowledge and interest in the culture and traditions of Wayanad and he is very passionate about organic farming.
We also can´t praise enough each one of Shashis wonderful variety of meals, so healthy and so incredibly tasty!!!!
Our room was spacious, light with many windows and a wonderful view into the green and colourful garden. Also the bathroom was big and clean with hot water always available.
Shashi, Soman and Parvathi, we thank you from the depth of our hearts for your loving care, for the good and happy time we had at your very beautiful home and farm and for making every single day of our stay with you so very special.
Definitely we will return and can´t wait to do so.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvia_and_tobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Cheeral Green homestay for two days in November 2013. The homestay has comfortable rooms and no tv so it gives you time to unwind , away from the hustle bustle of the cities. Mr. Soman has nice plantation of coffee, bananas and spices and is using organic agricultural pratices.
We visited Muthanga wildlife sanctuary, Edakkal caves and Suchipara waterfalls which are near from Cheeral.
Mrs. Soman made delicious break fast for us.
For dinner we had to go to Sulthan Bathery which is 10 kms from this place. That was a bit tedious after a full day's site seeing.
Overall it was a nice experience close to nature for us. It is a recommended stay for a family if you have your vehicle to move around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NarendraPhadke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Despite being a Keralite. I never had the fortune of visiting the state of Wayanad, which I believe is one of the rather hidden gems in India, that was until the month of October 2013 when I went there with my family for 5 days. Our stay was made all more pleasant by the hospitality shown by the host Mr. Soman and his wife. This is a house which is completely in harmony with nature, Mr. Soman's house has a lovey garden which is extensive and filled with variety, one can spend a considerable amount of time by just exploring this garden. When it comes to the rooms, they are neat, tidy and extremely comfortable. Mr. Soman was also kind enough to show us his paddy field which is cultivated by him using natural methods, once again showing the respect which Mr. Soman has for living in harmony with nature. The homestay is also at a convenient location as it is close to Sulthan Bathery, one of the largest towns in Wayanad. The house is in proximity to the popular destinations of Edakkal caves, Banasura sagar dam, Muthanga sanctuary and Suchipaara waterfalls. Another reason to chose this homestay is the delicious and homely food prepared by Mrs. Soman, which I advice you to not miss out on. All in all a highly recommended place to stay at if you plan to visit Wayanad.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepuJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Cheeral Green Homestay in Wayanad is one of the simple and good homestay in that region, It is just basic without any luxuries, yet i liked it.
Rooms are pretty decent and clean, No TV, No music, but that's what we need when we stay close to nature.
Mr.Soman the owner of the place is lovely person and will take care all your needs right from booking, Unfortunately during our stay Mrs.Soman was not keeping well and hence we had to depend on the near by hotels for our lunch and dinner, But Mr.Soman ensured we get the food in right place and he even arranged it to deliver in the room, Food was good :)
For Breakfast we had simple Kerala breakfast made at Mr.Soman house and it was very tasty and we enjoyed it, Also the passion fruit milkshake was awesome.

Overall, We felt very homely in Cheeral Green Homestay and Mr.Soman a perfect host

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PraveenByrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Cheeral is probably not on anyone's travel map. But Mr. Soman has managed to put it on the travel map of wayanad !! The homestay is in a small village about 10 Kms out of Sultan Battery. Mr. Soman's house has a coffee plantation and an array of trees. So the homestay is in a nice location. There is nothing much to do/see in Cheeral, but then wayanad is not a huge district and the touristy places are not more than hour and a half away. Make sure you are stocked up on whatever you want because cheeral is a small village. Unfortunately when we visited, Mrs. Soman had gone visiting her son and so we felt a bit underserved. Cheeral has no hotels and we had to do with Mr. Soman's cooking :). He tried his best to make us comfortable in all ways and is a very nice person which is a big plus.
So if you want to just get away from the crowd and do nothing but put your feet up and read some books or play cards/boardgames. This is the place. Not very pricey yet sufficient. Overall a thumps up!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

One of my best travel expereience so far! I guess it's about the place you live in & the people you live with matters the most while choosing for a homestay.. Cheeral green homestay by Soman & his wife is definitely a must visit place for all the homestay lovers.. The food was very delectable & delicious,Thanks Soman uncle & Aunti for making our trip so memorable.. We will come back for sure! Korobi & Moinak frm Bangalore!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsy1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
0 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
0 mi away
OYO 8842 Kallat Hotel
OYO 8842 Kallat Hotel
#12 of 22 in Kalpetta
158 reviews
0 mi away
Sunrise Homestay
Sunrise Homestay
#22 of 80 in Kalpetta
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wayanad Cliff Hotel Apartments
0 mi away
Maple Oak Holiday Home
Maple Oak Holiday Home
#40 of 80 in Kalpetta
23 reviews
0 mi away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#4 of 80 in Kalpetta
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeral Green Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeral Green Homestay

Address: Vendole Road | Via. Sultan’s Bathery, Kalpetta 673595, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Cheeral Green Homestay Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing