We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting location, Good Food - Value for Money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Banasura Island Retreat
Ranked #18 of 82 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Coimbator
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exciting location, Good Food - Value for Money”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The resort will provide you a picturesque experience undoubtedly, and if you can really afford around 7/night you can enjoy the individual villa they are offering. The food is good and you cant afford to complain, but nothing left in the resort to enjoy a long weekend. Those who prefers a night or max 2, its fine. Planning for a long weekend - lookout for other resorts as well. Managerial staff are friendly enough, no phone connections in the rooms and the charges for food and water it bit on expensive side, so before confirming the rooms, better to have a rate card enquiry with the manger, so you need to spoil your mood on checkout, they charged us heavily on tea and water as well. My thumbsup who wishes to spend one or two nights there....

Room Tip: Independent villas will provide you a better view, so go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jramonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    41
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A wonderful setting at Waynad forests.The cottages are superbly located giving a great view of the waters. The rooms are well done and well maintained. The food taste is average and needs improvement in taste.

Room Tip: Single cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

What a view! The view from our twin cottage verandah was exactly as the one shown on the website - lake with the submerged islands and surrounded by green hills. This place totally scores on its location. The rooms in the twin cottage are very neat, each with its own balcony. The washroom is spacious with good quality fittings. The Living room could be furnished better with a sofa etc., currently it is very basic with only a dining table. The verandah attached to the living room is very spacious and meant for large groups to enjoy time together while taking in the brilliant view. The second night was a full moon night and the reflection in the lake was picture perfect! The nights and early mornings were misty & chilly and the view was breathtakingly serene. Given the location, away from any inhabitance or town, Shahjahan the Manager went out of his way to please the guests with a decent buffet, but a little more attention can be given to the taste factor. Our wish was their command and they served us appams for breakfast, which was very tasty. We had an issue with the latching system for the main door and balcony latches were weak…he made some temporary arrangements to make us feel safe. The resort is currently quite basic for the rate charged but I am sure things will improve. The beautiful location, speed boat ride and Kerala Ayurvedic Massage (included in our package) combined with Shahjahan’s hospitality were the highlights of our stay.

Room Tip: Twin cottage and Single cottage have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonalib72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This was our honeymoon trip, which I booked at the last moment because our thailand trip got cancelled. I was little upset about my Thailand trip.

I reached on evening Dec 3rd 2012, we had a warm welcome, our room had Kerala style construction with two balcony. Right away went to dinner, I should mention the food was "AWESOME". With lot of variety. We have enjoyed the food for 5 days and we loved each and every dish. My wife even made a note of some of the recipe.

Now the location where the resort itself is located is so beautiful, you have to see it to beleive it. One side is covered with forest and otherside with backwaters of banasura dam. I used to wake up early , just to capture the beautiful sunrise. The rooms were very neat, there is no AC, It was cold during night and day AC was not necessary.

We stayed here for 5 days, without a special mention about the managers Shajahan and Binoy and there staff this review is incomplete. They took care of us like we were part of there family.

My wife enjoyed a lot in the water streams, loved the place, food and the care taken for us. She said I would not have enjoyed so much if we had bein to Thailand.

I would visit to this place again .. Love this place and staff here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senvaishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday in Kerala and Banasura Island Retreat was one of our stops. The location is wonderful - amazing views, lovely walks. The accommodation is very comfortable. We were in the main building and benefitted from a wonderful balcony which was a superb spot to gaze out on the lake and birdwatch. The staff was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very polite and friendly. The food was outstanding and there was plenty of it much to the delight of my 15 year old son! A thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would love to repeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richenda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The location itself wins 4 stars. The retreat has mountains on one side and a lake formed by a dam on the other three. Waterfalls, streams, misty peaks and mini islands popping out of the lake like magic, the retreat has it all. This is as close as you will get to extreme wilderness. The staff here are courteous and service is good. Do not expect luxurious rooms with soft, white sheets and bathrooms with chandeliers and a bathtub and you will be fine. The rooms we stayed in (luxury rooms) didn't have fridge, TV and tea coffee making facilities. There is a Table Tennis table, carrom board right outside the luxury rooms. Also tea/ coffee is served by 7am outside these rooms which is as good as room service. I recommend coming here in a group as otherwise the children might get bored. Do go out on treks up the waterfall and the peaks of the nearby hills. I promise you the view is worth itA visit to the Banasura dam is also good. You can walk to the dam from the gate without waiting for the jeep. The jeep service is a con job at Rupees 100 for a trip that is just 5 minutes away on foot. We visited the retreat in the last week of October and were blessed with the best of rain and sunshine. Do take enough plastic bags and carry pouches of salt when you trek to keep the leeches away.

Room Tip: Book luxury rooms if you are in a group. If you can get cottages for the whole group then even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

stayed at this place with my family from oct 19 th to 21st oct 2012. excellent location. breathtaking view of the river and also the peaks from the balcony and windows of the rooms. very good rooms, and staff were very courtious. need to make a special mention about mr shahjahan and mr binod who went that extra mile to take care of us. very good food with a touch of kerala cuisine. for people wanting to get away from the fast paced city life , an excellent place to relax and get rejuvenated. overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
1.9 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 23 in Kalpetta
845 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#6 of 23 in Kalpetta
842 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 23 in Kalpetta
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 3 in Kenichira
410 reviews
3.2 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 23 in Kalpetta
167 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banasura Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banasura Island Retreat

Property: Banasura Island Retreat
Address: Kuttiyamvayal,Varambetta P.O | Padinharathara, Kalpetta 673575, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Banasura Island Retreat Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing