We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRUE HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Thirunelly
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“TRUE HOME”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I would rate this as one of the best hotels I have been to. It is difficult to describe it. The rooms are OK, bed linens are clean, towels are clean, rooms are cleaned everyday or when asked for. What stands out in this hotel is there are some True Gods who take care of you there. I literally mean that. Few human beings for me looked like gods. They are ever there to help you. Cook some of the best Kerala dishes. Always smiling and giving you information and things that you need. Nested in the middle of the Wayanad forest surrounded by serene, beautiful and lush green vegetation. Remember to reach this place before sun down. If you don't, rest be assured that you would land in front of few elephants or heard of elephants. Dangerous by all means and will be warned by the hotel staff prior to your arrival. The Manager and the staff there has left a lasting impression on me. I am sure to go back there soon.

Room Tip: Go along with what the hotel staffs tell you. Irupu water falls is just 10KM away from this hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjitSankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in KTDC Thirunelli for a night, on my way to Mysore. The hotel is just very comfortable, as you dont feel it to be a hotel. Feel like you are at home. Simple rooms, clean toilets, enough space outside rooms. Food is OK. The staff is very friendly.
Having explored Wayanad a lot, I find Thirunelli is the best place to stay. Excellent road through reserve forest, which becomes literally empty before 6 PM. You are likely to see elephant herds crossing road, deers and bison. There is risk after 6 PM. This is ideal stopover for adventurous travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor has better view to wild life. You can see elephants from your room, if you are lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you are visiting Wayanad and interested in wildlife, then I will recommend this place to stay.
The hotel is located inside the Wayanad forest close to Thirunelly temple. We stayed in this hotel for 4 days with our family and enjoyed the place. One of the night we heared a group of elephant came near to the hotel and we heared the sound of the elephant roaring. All rooms are equipped with AC, But we didn't switch on a single day due to the cold weather. Due to heavy rain there was no electricity for a day, but we didn't find any difficulties because they ran the generator whole day/night. Few notes which may help you.

- The hotel is inside the forest and nearest town Manthawady is approx 30 k.m, so all the required things bring with you, else you need to drive 30 k.m. These is no shop near by.
- Get your favorite soft/hard drinks with you, bcoz you won't get any coke/pepsi/beer etc in the hotel.. to get liquor you need to drive 30 k.m till Manathawady.
-If you are interested in wildlife then start from the hotel at 5AM early morning and drive towards tholopetty wild life sanctuary... I am sure you will spot a lot of wild life.
-Cary sufficient cash along with you bcoz the nearest ATM is 30 k.m long.
-Ask for the 1st floor rooms as you will get a better view.
- If you have kids with you.. then take all their necessary things. Don't expect anything to buy after reaching the hotel as nothing is available there.
- Food is not great but okay in the hotel... You have to order food well in advance else you won't get.
Food is little costly as compared to other hotels but expected inside a forest :)


I will definitely recommend this hotel.. really a great place for a vacation...

Room Tip: Ask for 201-204 rooms for better mountain view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srikanta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palakkad, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a good place to stay. One has to be prepared for the drawbacks that are found in hotels in pilgrim centers - such as the noises created by the guests. Thirunelly temple is famous as a destination to perform last rites of deceased. Hence there will be large number of people in each group/family. Though this hotel is less than one km from the temple, it's less crowded when compared to hotels adjacent to the temple. Moreover, this hotel provides both non-vegetarian dishes & vegetarian dishes. So those who cannot avoid non-veg food, cannot prefer the hotels adjacent to the temple.

Unlike other hotels run by KTDC - a government concern, we found the staff taking personal interest in all matters. There was genuine sincerity in their work. Hope they will maintain this quality. Our thanks to them - especially to Saravan, Jageesh and Anil, for making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hariprasad_VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The first tip is: Book online, for a 10% discount.
Tip # 2: Even if the site shows no rooms available, call and speak to the super friendly Saravanan on the listed number and you may actually get the room(s) you need (Government policies of keeping reserves!).
Located less than a km from the famous Thirunelly temple, Tamarind is the cheapest, while being comfortable, located in the midst of forest environs and boasting super friendly staff and prompt and smiley service.
Tip # 3: Ask for Rooms 202 - 204 on the first floor, for the best view. Ground floor rooms have NO view.
They have a decent restaurant which cooks up tasty fare with about an hour's notice, for all 3 meals. Tea and snacks is served in the room on request. They do not have a bar, but like most places, are not averse to your having a little party inside your room, as long as you don't disturb the neighbours! They also have a 10 (or so) bed dormitory, for large groups on shoestring budget.
All rooms come with double bed (or 2 singles), comfortable for 2 adults and a kid (ours was 11). Fan, AC, TV and geyser are available in all rooms.
We have stayed there twice, and despite being a Govt/ KTDC affair, would surely head right back there, if we wanted another break with just a temple visit, nearby waterfall/ wild life park on the agenda, with a lot of bird gazing and peaceful-moments-with-nature thrown in for free!

Room Tip: If your idea is to see a lot that Wayanad offers, it may be prudent to stay 1 (of your 2-3) days at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamnambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have stayed in the hotel on 27th August.2013. The drive to the hotel at 8 p.m. was memmorable. We saw 1 elephant in curve by roadside and two cabs before us signelled to stop. After few minits a private Bus came and passed the elephant. We also followed the bus. In another curve the bus stoped very close about 2 mtrs. to a mother and baby elephant. The bus could not move but they signelled us to pass. By the road side we saw some deer also. Next day when we come back we saw a elephant and groups deer within 8 km and lots of deer groups in Muthanga - mysore Road. The hotel is reasonably priced , neat and clean. We visited the thirunelly temple and did some offering, bali etc. it was also good experience. We plan to visit again and stay more days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RETNAKARAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our room had a great view across the valley to the hills opposite. The room was large with a/c and hot water. It was very clean. The decoration was plain and a bit tired. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and proud of the service they provided. They advised us on bus times and local places to walk to. The food was excellent because it is from a fairly short menu and cooked to order so it is fresh and tasty. Most other guests were pilgrims going to the temple early in the morning and returning about 9 for breakfast. It was quiet in the week and busier at the weekend when there was a good family atmosphere with children playing in the central area. We enjoyed staying here. It was excellent value and can be easily booked in advance through the KTDC website or at their office in Ernakulam.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
0.0 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
818 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#12 of 22 in Kalpetta
739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#5 of 81 in Kalpetta
239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haritagiri Hotel
Haritagiri Hotel
#11 of 22 in Kalpetta
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wayanad Wind Resort
Wayanad Wind Resort
#4 of 81 in Kalpetta
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Thirunelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Thirunelly

Property: Tamarind Thirunelly
Address: Kalpetta, Kalpetta 670646, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Thirunelly 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HRS so you can book your Tamarind Thirunelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Thirunelly Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing