We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of electric fence at entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Thirunelly
Dubai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of electric fence at entrance”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Make sure you return to this Hotel before 8 pm , after 8 PM gate at main entrance will be closed by forest dept. and electrified to prevent wild elephant entering in to the hotel area. Main entrance is common for Tamaraind, Agraharam and one more resort, main entrance is about 100 mts. away from Tamaraind reception.

After temple visit, we have returned to hotel around 7.30pm and found gate was closed by some one, we have contacted Tamaraind reception by Phone and got reply that they are not in a position to come near main entrance due to elephant menace. Security guard at Agraharam was not ready not ready open the gate for guest of Tamarind Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was a very nice place to spend your vacation. It was a bit hard to believe that this hotel is run by the Government. The Professionalism and the hospitality of the Hotel Staff was Amazing! The hotel was located in a very calm and a picturesque environment. The only downside is, it is pretty far from other sight seeing places. Since I love to drive, the hour or hour and a half drive from this hotel to other places was a plus to me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Krishna Prasad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at KTDC Tamarind, Tirunelli on 4 June 2014. The stay was wonderful. The surroundings were serene The clean well kept rooms were faultless. The service was excellent. The food service was delicious. Thanks to Saravanan, Jigesh and Anil for making our stay in Tirunelli memorable. Will highly recommend this place to stay if you are visiting Tirunelli.

Dr Asha Nair

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I would rate this as one of the best hotels I have been to. It is difficult to describe it. The rooms are OK, bed linens are clean, towels are clean, rooms are cleaned everyday or when asked for. What stands out in this hotel is there are some True Gods who take care of you there. I literally mean that. Few human beings for me looked like gods. They are ever there to help you. Cook some of the best Kerala dishes. Always smiling and giving you information and things that you need. Nested in the middle of the Wayanad forest surrounded by serene, beautiful and lush green vegetation. Remember to reach this place before sun down. If you don't, rest be assured that you would land in front of few elephants or heard of elephants. Dangerous by all means and will be warned by the hotel staff prior to your arrival. The Manager and the staff there has left a lasting impression on me. I am sure to go back there soon.

Room Tip: Go along with what the hotel staffs tell you. Irupu water falls is just 10KM away from this hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjitSankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in KTDC Thirunelli for a night, on my way to Mysore. The hotel is just very comfortable, as you dont feel it to be a hotel. Feel like you are at home. Simple rooms, clean toilets, enough space outside rooms. Food is OK. The staff is very friendly.
Having explored Wayanad a lot, I find Thirunelli is the best place to stay. Excellent road through reserve forest, which becomes literally empty before 6 PM. You are likely to see elephant herds crossing road, deers and bison. There is risk after 6 PM. This is ideal stopover for adventurous travelers.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor has better view to wild life. You can see elephants from your room, if you are lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you are visiting Wayanad and interested in wildlife, then I will recommend this place to stay.
The hotel is located inside the Wayanad forest close to Thirunelly temple. We stayed in this hotel for 4 days with our family and enjoyed the place. One of the night we heared a group of elephant came near to the hotel and we heared the sound of the elephant roaring. All rooms are equipped with AC, But we didn't switch on a single day due to the cold weather. Due to heavy rain there was no electricity for a day, but we didn't find any difficulties because they ran the generator whole day/night. Few notes which may help you.

- The hotel is inside the forest and nearest town Manthawady is approx 30 k.m, so all the required things bring with you, else you need to drive 30 k.m. These is no shop near by.
- Get your favorite soft/hard drinks with you, bcoz you won't get any coke/pepsi/beer etc in the hotel.. to get liquor you need to drive 30 k.m till Manathawady.
-If you are interested in wildlife then start from the hotel at 5AM early morning and drive towards tholopetty wild life sanctuary... I am sure you will spot a lot of wild life.
-Cary sufficient cash along with you bcoz the nearest ATM is 30 k.m long.
-Ask for the 1st floor rooms as you will get a better view.
- If you have kids with you.. then take all their necessary things. Don't expect anything to buy after reaching the hotel as nothing is available there.
- Food is not great but okay in the hotel... You have to order food well in advance else you won't get.
Food is little costly as compared to other hotels but expected inside a forest :)


I will definitely recommend this hotel.. really a great place for a vacation...

Room Tip: Ask for 201-204 rooms for better mountain view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srikanta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palakkad, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a good place to stay. One has to be prepared for the drawbacks that are found in hotels in pilgrim centers - such as the noises created by the guests. Thirunelly temple is famous as a destination to perform last rites of deceased. Hence there will be large number of people in each group/family. Though this hotel is less than one km from the temple, it's less crowded when compared to hotels adjacent to the temple. Moreover, this hotel provides both non-vegetarian dishes & vegetarian dishes. So those who cannot avoid non-veg food, cannot prefer the hotels adjacent to the temple.

Unlike other hotels run by KTDC - a government concern, we found the staff taking personal interest in all matters. There was genuine sincerity in their work. Hope they will maintain this quality. Our thanks to them - especially to Saravan, Jageesh and Anil, for making our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hariprasad_VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
8.6 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Kallat Hotel
The Kallat Hotel
#10 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#14 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
15.1 mi away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#4 of 74 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Haritagiri Hotel
Haritagiri Hotel
#11 of 20 in Kalpetta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Thirunelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Thirunelly

Property: Tamarind Thirunelly
Address: Kalpetta, Kalpetta 670646, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Thirunelly 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamarind Thirunelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Thirunelly Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing