We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, interesting and relaxing.”
Review of Wynberg Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wynberg Resorts
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peaceful, interesting and relaxing.”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

A remote haven of peace and quiet in a tranquil area of Wayanad. Good accommodation with a balcony over-looking the grounds, tasty evening meal and breakfast - it is so remote there is nowhere else to go to eat. The highlight is the guided walk by the owner who takes you round his plantation and explains all about the rubber/coffee/coconut trees etc - he is so enthusiastic and it is fascinating to learn all about the growing methods.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

It can be a bit difficult to find this hotel - we came on the bus from Bengaluru, and only just managed to stop at the right place (the little town of Minangadi). From there we got a tuk-tuk - we gave the driver the number of Wynberg Resorts so that he could phoe for directions. We had arrived quite late in the evening, but the hotel (knowing we were coming) were still able to provide supper for us. The room was spacious , clean and comfortable, and the location was rural and peaceful.
Very tasty food was provided for breakfast and supper.
The staff were very helpful and would arrange whatever trips we wanted. The owner has a plantation, and will take guests out on guided walks of his land and the surrounding area - a very worthwhile way to spend a day or half a day.
If there is a downside, it is that because the site is quite remote, you become rather dependant on the staff to arrange things for you - even Minangadi is a 20 minute tuk-tuk ride away. Having said that you could not have the experience that Wynberg gives you in a more central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardnamurchan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

What a wonderful location, lovely accommodation, perfect food and friendly, helpful staff. Vanchy was a perfect host and his guided walk was fascinating. His knowledge and love of the area and of India as a whole, was infectious.
We stayed in the basic eco-cottage and it was perfect. After 10 minutes there we asked to extend our stay.
It was a great base for exploring that part of Kerala. We didn't do the tourist sites but chose just to head off each day walking and met some interesting and friendly people around the local villages. A perfect place to relax and absorb that wonderful area of India.

Room Tip: The eco-cottage furthest from the entrance was perfect with a small 'patio' to sit on and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Wynberg was definitely the highlight of our trip in Kerala. The owner arranged a lot of different things for us (such as a seperate tiger safari in Bandipur NP, during which he accompanied us and taught us a lot about nature and wildlife). The personnel (Suresh in particular) was very friendly and helpful. We booked the treetop house, which we can recommend! It is a great experience and worth the extra money. We would also recommend the plantation and village tour with the owner, since he can talk with great passion about all the spices and the life in and around the plantation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjorn_cruts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

There's so much to say about this wonderful place run by genuinely kind, attentive people under the ownership +leadership of Wanchi. Here is somewhere which shows full commitment to the local environment, to nature and the community. A plantation + estate tour clearly demonstrates the bringing together of traditional methods and new ideas, without resorting to artificial + chemical techniques. Forward thinking and inspiring
The resort, rooms and atmosphere are simply wonderful. The enthusiasm and commitment by the management and team is awesome. Food is simple but very tasty. Rooms are lovely. Staff are fantastic under Suresh. The owner Wanchi is a wildlife and nature photographer - you get the best out of this place if you share his ideals
Don't just read about this place - go there

Room Tip: All superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardnewman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

After a rather trying day and a long and unpleasant trip by car, we arrived at Wynberg Resort to find a peaceful and rejuvenating haven. The setting is lush and lovely, the staff are charming and helpful and the food is just delicious.

We especially enjoyed having all the dishes in our evening meal explained to us and the candleit ambience for dinner was just lovely.

We would love to come back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jobyscoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Just go for this place.. no 2nd thoughts.. The owner Mr Vanchy is the man with all the plan. Perfect setting of the resort, very calm and peaceful. The rooms are very neat and well maintained. The food is buffet and very delicious especialy the Chicken curry. The Staff is very friendly and are ready to help you wit whatver and wherver possible with a great smile.
only 1 drawback--resort is diff to locate, but MR Vanchy is will give the perfect route map. Just follow his route and you will be pleasant valley in no time. Must visit to stay in waynand for familes of any number.

Thanks once again to Mr Vanchy, Suresh and hanish for making a pleasant staying experience for us in Waynand.

Room Tip: for 2 people choose the eco-delux hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikky_106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
12.4 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
818 reviews
12.1 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#12 of 22 in Kalpetta
739 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
7.5 mi away
Blue Ginger Spa Resorts Wayanad
2.6 mi away
CYBELE HILL RESORTS
CYBELE HILL RESORTS
#17 of 81 in Kalpetta
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynberg Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynberg Resorts

Property: Wynberg Resorts
Address: Kuzhivayal Estate | Trikkaipatta, Kalpetta 673577, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Wynberg Hotel Kalpetta
Wynberg Resorts Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing