We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is all about people!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wynberg Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wynberg Resorts
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
790 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“This place is all about people!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 2 nights at Wynberg in one of four deluxe rooms (groundfloor, entrance on the left). The room was just enough - two beds connected, cubbies at the sides, wardrobe, small tv, mirror. Floor is spotless. Maybe a small table would be convenient. There's also a nice terrace where we used to sit and read waiting for the rain to stop - it was monsoon time. Bathroom was spacious and quite good although you would wait a bit for the water to get hot.
There was also a worse part: because of the high humidity the ceiling and one of the walls are loudly calling for renovation. The bedclothes and curtains could also be bit more tidy. Be also prepared for some blackouts, but there's some emergency light in the room for such cases.

But these are minor disadvantages when taking the "staff factor" into account. Vanchy took us for a visit to Uravu bamboo factory, gave a plant lesson in the plantation around the houses. Earlier he organised our stay and trip to Bandipur National Park and drove us into Wynberg with his car. He's a naturalist, eco-conscious guy and great wildlife photographer. The boys were very kind, organised transport for us and took care of meals and other issues at the resort. The atmosphere is relaxing. And the food - oooh, it's delicious. Practically every dish was great. And there's a lot of food... You will not be starving for sure :-)

As for the location - remember that it's a remote place, far from the main road. It's quiet. You just listen to the birds. If you're after some restaurants, action and shops please stay in Kalpetta or Sultan Bathery. This is the place for people who want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the Indian cities and towns.

I would like to give 5 out of 5 but the current state of the room does not fully justify the price we paid (3600 rupees per double room with meals) and brings the overall rating bit down. But nevertheless - highly recommended place.

Room Tip: Deluxe ground floor rooms are close to the dining area - good in monsoon rains :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisD_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Overall Exp: 4.8/ 5
The views from the sit outs/ balconies are just amazing.
The paddy fields, coconut trees, tea and coffee estates provide a real comfort to the mind and body.
This might just be a location to start writing a book, re-kindling your love for photography, start a hobby :-)
The hospitality, kindness offered and attention paid to every single detail during our stay was 100% focused on customer satisfaction.
Anish, Suresh, Vanchy and the entire team truly deserves kudos for Wynberg.
The voices in your head stop and you only hear bird sounds, cricket sounds, sound of the rain (in monsoon). If you are looking for a vacation which will heal your mind, body & refresh your spirit - Pack your bags and drive to Wynberg.

Con:
The road leading to the resort/ parking area needs serious makeover.

Pros:
Amazing food. I never liked South Indian food. This is the first time that I started loving it & ate to heart's content, every time dinner was served. Loved the Puttu.
The variety of food in dinner is a stunner.
North Indian, South Indian, Chinese, just name it - Its all there in the dinner.
We stayed there for 3 days 4 nights and never ever a dish was repeated, unless requested.

One more thing, don't miss out on the Black Coffee/ Tea.
Just amazing.

We thank Wynberg for a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: Patio is great. However, one night stay in Eco is a must ! No swimming pool. Fyi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarjeet_Aug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here in the in mid April, 13 for two days. We had no plans to see places in Wayanad and found this resort to be just what we were looking for..a place to wind out, be lazy and chill. Nice room, good food and a amazing surrounding to sum it up. The good part is, it is away from the city and offers a serene village stay expereince.The mornings are amazings, the coffee blossoms ( and dont know what all) adds up to the freshness of this place. Walk besides the fields is again an experience of its kind. If you are going to wayanad in summer then afternoon can be a bit hot,venturing out during the day time can turnout to be bit hectic and my advice here would be - stay indoors! The room staff are helpful too, and if you are of "talk a lot" kind then they are the "I am in " kind. The owver of the resort, Mr. Vanchy is there it help you with planning your day, offering you gamut of options depending on your preferences. I have recommended it to my friends and personally looking forward to visit this place in the future.

Regards,

Rejeesh

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rejeesh_Gopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

We recently spent two nights at this resort.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. This resort is located in a very quiet village, surrounded by coconut trees and rice paddies. The scenery is beautiful and it is very relaxing to stay there.
The accommodation was good and the food was some of the best that we had in all of south India.
Vanchy, the owner is a very knowledgeable and helpful man - we went on safari with him to Bandipur national park. He helped with our onwards journey also.
Many thanks for the great memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJason2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

A remote haven of peace and quiet in a tranquil area of Wayanad. Good accommodation with a balcony over-looking the grounds, tasty evening meal and breakfast - it is so remote there is nowhere else to go to eat. The highlight is the guided walk by the owner who takes you round his plantation and explains all about the rubber/coffee/coconut trees etc - he is so enthusiastic and it is fascinating to learn all about the growing methods.
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pacar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

It can be a bit difficult to find this hotel - we came on the bus from Bengaluru, and only just managed to stop at the right place (the little town of Minangadi). From there we got a tuk-tuk - we gave the driver the number of Wynberg Resorts so that he could phoe for directions. We had arrived quite late in the evening, but the hotel (knowing we were coming) were still able to provide supper for us. The room was spacious , clean and comfortable, and the location was rural and peaceful.
Very tasty food was provided for breakfast and supper.
The staff were very helpful and would arrange whatever trips we wanted. The owner has a plantation, and will take guests out on guided walks of his land and the surrounding area - a very worthwhile way to spend a day or half a day.
If there is a downside, it is that because the site is quite remote, you become rather dependant on the staff to arrange things for you - even Minangadi is a 20 minute tuk-tuk ride away. Having said that you could not have the experience that Wynberg gives you in a more central location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardnamurchan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

What a wonderful location, lovely accommodation, perfect food and friendly, helpful staff. Vanchy was a perfect host and his guided walk was fascinating. His knowledge and love of the area and of India as a whole, was infectious.
We stayed in the basic eco-cottage and it was perfect. After 10 minutes there we asked to extend our stay.
It was a great base for exploring that part of Kerala. We didn't do the tourist sites but chose just to head off each day walking and met some interesting and friendly people around the local villages. A perfect place to relax and absorb that wonderful area of India.

Room Tip: The eco-cottage furthest from the entrance was perfect with a small 'patio' to sit on and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
3.6 mi away
Coffea Aroma Resort - Wayanad
12.1 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#13 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Planet Green Plantation Resort
4.2 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
4.2 mi away
Haritagiri Hotel
Haritagiri Hotel
#10 of 19 in Kalpetta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynberg Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynberg Resorts

Property: Wynberg Resorts
Address: Kuzhivayal Estate | Trikkaipatta, Kalpetta 673577, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Wynberg Hotel Kalpetta
Wynberg Resorts Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing