We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aranyakam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aranyakam
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kalpetta
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Neema made us very welcome at her peaceful and characterful timber homestay amid the coffee plantation. We enjoyed lovely food. we stayed in the main building but examined the well equipped log cabins which had breathtaking views across the valleys. Neema arranged trips with a local guide.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    36
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

You wonder where you are going as you drive up to this coffee plantation, and it's a lovely secluded spot. We stayed in the main plantation building, across the courtyard from the dining area. The rooms were very large, sparsely furnished, and there was a veranda at the front. It's a very old building full of character. The bathroom has wet room style shower so ask for an old towel to help soak up the excess water and prevent slipping on the tiles. The only downside was that the rooms were very dark at night and only one of the two sockets worked, so very difficult to read and to recharge everything. The food was fantastic - unusual dishes using local produce and delicious, and the hosts were around for chats and local knowledge. Walking up the road outside the homestay takes you by several properties - nice to see local life and the people were friendly and wanting to chat. Beautiful scenery in that area - coffee and tea plantations and the view from Chembra Peak was stunning (although narrow road leading up there is challenging for driver and passengers).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EalingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I had a brilliant two night stay at Aranyakam! The site was great, you are staying on an actual functioning coffee plantation, the room was breathtaking and the family were so helpful and lovely to chat to.

We chose to stay in one of the treehouses which was really something else, it was constructed entirely of local materials, was very spacious, including a large mosquito net and large comfortable bed. A lot of effort has been put into the construction of the tree house and you can tell, its very luxurious and is nearly as special as the view into the valley below. The view just about wins as it has such a big wow factor you can't help but be gob smacked!

The family were really very helpful form the moment we arrived to when we left, it truly felt like you were one of the family!

The food was delicious and plentiful and cooked by the family for the family, the home cooked flavours were so very good.

We also managed to have a tour of some of the plants and get some coffee, pepper and cardamon to take home, wholly organic, wholly tasty!

We wished we'd stayed longer, this place is a dream!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the treehouses, it was worth the price increase as the views were breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 970NickL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We've been in Aranyakam for a few days in December. We were lucky to book one of the treehuts, and I must say that it was one of the best places we've stayed in India. The location is fantastic, very quiet and all surrounded by nature. The treehuts are separated from the main building which is really good if you want to have some peace and enjoy the sounds of the jungle. The huts have everything you need (spacious, clean and very comfortable).
Neema and Rajesh are excellent hosts, they really make you feel like at home and they will take car of everything you need (arrange taxi's, jeep tours, etc..). I shouldn't forget to mention about the food, as it was awesome! Classic Keralan food with a lot of varieties, everyday we were eager to see with which delicious dish Neema would surprise us! We tried to be every day for lunch and dinner as we didn't want to miss out on her food! Even one night we were late (due to a day out with a jeep) and she kept some food for us, very sweet!
I would definitely recommend this homestay if you are looking for a relax and re-energizing holidays. Is not a fancy hotel or the type of "resort" kind of place but in my opinion is much better! Thanks for the lovely treatment! Floris & Barbara

Room Tip: Treehuts are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

As a family of 3, we arrived at Aranyakam with expectations of tranquill, calm & nature at its best in wayand.

At Aranyakam, Things were better than we expected. The LOG HUTS were beautifully made and located at the edge of a mountain. Even a 3 night stay was insufficient to soak-in the natural beauty around.

Neema and Rajesh are very warm and friendly hosts and take great care of their guests. The Traditional food served is sumptous, tasty & authentic. The Passion of the host family for their work is very evident.

Rajesh is an Offroading champion and we were lucky to get a ride with him in the mountains in his wonderfull 4X4 of which he is proud owner. Neema is ever smiling, energetic and very sensitive to guest preferences.

All in all a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: The Log huts are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nimeshrathod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Aranyakam truly stands by its name! The colonial design homestay is situated midst a 30 acre coffee plantation and oversees the jungle( Well it looks and sounds like a jungle at least!) The rooms are really spacious and clean, decorated with classy wooden furniture and paintings. The balcony oversees the plantation and is a treat for the eyes especially when it is misty! Well what can I say about the hospitality. From joining you for breakfast daily to telling stories about Wayanad to giving to perfect directions to all tourist places, Neema and Rajest are excellent hosts. The rates for the rooms are really economical for all that they offer and the best part no hidden taxes and stuff in the bills which was truly surprising!
If you are deciding on this place make sure you know the directions well because we took a longer route and was really a pain. Also for people who are not from Kerala, food might be a problem because they serve only Kerala food (breakfast was decent) and there are no good restaurants nearby. We survived on bread and milk! :D

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramya3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Just got back last weekend from a 2 night 3 day stay at Aranyakam and let me say the experience far exceeded my expectations ! I had never been to Wayanad before and while I’ve heard of Vythri and the other ‘tree hut’ offering resorts, was quite intrigued with the comments on Aranyakam.

Getting here is not very difficult (if on public transport). You get down at Kalpetta and take an auto to Valathoor around 10 kms away. From Rippon Estate, it is around 2 kms to be precise.

The property is infact a picturesque 40 odd acre coffee plantation and it is filled with an assortment of ginger, pepper, avocado trees amongst others. The farm-house feel is complete with ducks and guinea hens roaming around the main house, cows mooing contently from the shed and their old pet dog ‘Remo’, adding his presence from time to time. All that lush vegetation, means that it plays host to a multitude of birds like drangos, minivets, woodpeckers and what not, which are endemic to the region. Bird/Nature lovers will have a field day.

The eight odd guest rooms (suites or deluxe rooms) are part of an ancestral two storied home. Stayed the first night in the deluxe room and it’s massive ! the flooring throughout is patterned handmade attangudi type tiles and they is a small balcony attached behind, with the view of the coffee plantation. The bathroom is fairly large and spotlessly clean. The furnishing are modest/functional. Personally I would like a plug point extra, considering the variety of gadgets we need to stay connected, but then it’s not a deal breaker. Apparently when this started, they had television etc in each room, but the noise and feedback around it (coming into nature and spending time enclosing watching the idiot box is so pointless) and they were smartly removed :)

The much described ‘tree huts’ are in another part of the property and seriously none of the photos can do justice on how quaint it is for real. With large windows surrounding two sides of the house, I really liked the design and interesting touches like the loft and step ladder to take you to the floor above. The USP is definitely the fantastic view of the valley below and the ranges of hills before you, that seem to change every passing minute thanks to the mist and cloud play ! I just didn’t feel like leaving that place for even a minute ! For us city-dwellers the bird and insect noises do take a little getting used too, but that’s the beauty of this place. At this time, of the two log houses..but only the larger unit is functional, the other unit is under repairs (apparently getting appropriate material and specialized carpenters for repairs is an expensive affair, considering they have to be refurbished every few months and that’s the reason, they are more expensive than the regular rooms)

The owners Raj and Neema are a delight and are full of information of the region, food, ayurveda and the challenges in maintaining the homestay !

Last but not the least and importantly the food is simply awesome. Since I didn’t step out, all three meals for literally three days were on premises and not once did I get bored. Authentic and wholesome Keralan meals of delicious veggies, fish, salads and other regional specialties will easily hit the right spot in your stomach. Neema and her team of helpers, will certainly make sure you are well fed.

If you want to be one with nature and need a quiet relaxed break amidst green environs, then this place will be right up your alley ! highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijaykrishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
22.6 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
22.0 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
14.3 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
9.1 mi away
Rippon Mount Resorts
Rippon Mount Resorts
#11 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
21.1 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#4 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranyakam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranyakam

Property: Aranyakam
Address: Valathoor,Rippon, Kalpetta 673577, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aranyakam Hotel Kalpetta
Aranyakam Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing