We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable accommodation and great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Walden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Walden Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation and great customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Walden Suites worked well for us for 4 nights. It was in a location where a reasonable priced taxi ride could get you anywhere. You could walk to the shore, but it is downhill there and uphill back which is a little strenuous for the elder crowd. Salt Restaurant, which was our favorite place for fine dining, was very near us. The rooms were spacious and well kept. Most balconies are shared so you need to be considerate of other guests. There were other seating areas outside that we hung out at for our evening cocktail. The young staff were very accommodating in calling taxis and recommending places to eat. You do have to pay for wi-fi. All and all it worked well as a base for our touring. We had a rental car for our day at Cape Hope but used taxis the rest of our time there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
67
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nice
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed 2 nights in a room wih private balcony. Obviously the hotel expanded lately (our room was part of the new section). Nice view over the Ocean. Quiet neighbourhood still It was good to be able to park inside. Not far from Camps bay and convenient for day trip to Cape point and even more for Table mountain. Staff was ok, not always very efficient, but always nice and willing to help.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Clean hotel with excellent customer service. Free parking on the road outside and felt I was in a safe location. Location is a short drive away from the water front and walking distance from lions head.
Very nice breakfast which consist of freshly cooked hot food to order, fresh fruit, variety of bread products and yogurts.
No restaurant on site but are free to use the open plan kitchen to cook meals during the day and evening.
Staff were very helpful as would check each day to see if the cable cars were open at table mountain.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

The place is spotless
Decorated with taste and class
Excellent breakfast
Very helpful stuff
We stayed in winter so we could not use the outside facilities
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orly_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weesp, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed for 7 nights at the Walden Suites. German owned with excellent (good english speeking) staff who were very willing to help you whatever wished for. They know the area well and give you tips on e.g. best restaurants. Breakfast is superb. Rooms are modern, romantic and spacious.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wye valley
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. The guest house is located in a quiet street in a residential area about 5 mins drive from the centre of Cape Town. The rooms are big and roomy with wnderful views out to the ocean and Robben Island. They also have a large fridge in the kitcen that you can help yourself from if you want wine or a cold beer and you just mark what you have taken on a sheet to pay for when leaving. The breakfast is also very good and plentiful which helps when you are heading for a busy day sightseeing. The staff are very friendly and happy to help with guidance on restaurants etc. They have a book here with the names and locations of local restaurants and the kind of food they serve. They were happy to book a restaurant for us and organise a taxi to take us there so we could leave our hire car at the guest house and therefore have a drink with our meal. We would definately stay here again next time we visit Cape Town. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.2 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden Suites

Property: The Walden Suites
Address: 12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walden Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Walden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walden Suites Cape Town/Fresnaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing