We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful guest house”
Review of The Walden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walden Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at the Walden Suites for 8 nights in January 2013. It is a beautiful property in a lovely neighborhood, just a short stroll down the hill into Cape Town. The 2 ocean view rooms we stayed in were very comfortable with elegant marble baths. The owners, Eberhart and Melanie were very accommodating and helpful. The staff also very nice, serving us delicious full breakfasts every morning. The pastries were outstanding. We felt very much at home here relaxing in the pool surrounded by beautiful gardens, or on a porch or in the lounge.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms were very nice
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for The Walden Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent the holidays in Cape Town and stayed in Walden Suites for 7 nights. We were a 9 member family with 3 children under 8 yrs. We loved the place and everybody enjoyed the whole time. Such a nice staff with clean, relaxed and beautiful environment and home-like athmosphere. Breakfast was excellent and the service helpfull at all times. Nice balconies with amazing seaviews. Good for children with nice little pool and space to run free. We can recommend Walden Suites for everybody!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaThesleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Great place for extended stay when personal space and attention is desired in a bustling city. Hosts were great and our room was like a private appartment that was very tastefully decorated.
Location in quiet area of the city with private parking space in gated property. We enjoyed our stay and will come back some day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I booked our first trip to Cape Town 6 months ago. We received a great tip and recommendation from a friend and native of Cape Town. We stayed at the Walden Suites for 12 nights and can not say enough as to the graciousness of the owners, and staff. The guesthouse is spotless, the decor is beautiful, the setting is perfect (when you prefer a little more quiet). It was easy to feel comfortable and indulged. We will recommend Walden Suites, and we will return. I can not thank the wonderful people at Walden Suites enough, for providing with such an unforgettable vacation.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms open to a beautiful terrace and pool. But, you can hear the upstairs traffic...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellasMom2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Walden Suites is an exceptionally beautiful property, well appointed, appealing interior and exterior design. It is located in a very nice and safe area of Cape Town and an easy drive to the City as well as close to Camp's Bay and Table Mountain Road. Very nice and accommodating staff. Delicious breakfast in sunroom. Honour fridge with all sorts of goodies, beer and wine very convenient. We recommend Room # 7 with ocean view, private balcony and modern bath area. We were more than pleased with our stay at The Walden, and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heide E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Walden Suites is really beautiful guesthouse in a lovely area of Cape Town, 5 minutes from Camps' Bay. On arrival we were should to our suite, a huge room with doors opening onto a pool which we had to ourselves as the room that shared it had no occupants. We were offered a cup of complimentary coffee and shown the conservatory area where breakfast was served. The accommodation was perfect, it felt like a French Chateau, lots of windows lighting up a bright, airy, spacious room, all windows has shutters if you chose to keep the room dark. We we able to come and go as we pleased with a key to the front door and a parking space with electric gate zapper. The breakfast was lovely, continental with an option of a cooked breakfast too. There weren't many other guest so it was so peaceful. The view of the sea is lovely, only slightly marred by some new building work in progress lower down the road. We dined near-by one night at Richard's Bistro which had really good steak! The Guesthouse also provides good wifi for free. The Walden Suites come highly recommended by me, I thought being a guesthouse we would be more or less staying in someones house but we were so pleased with the large, very private suite where we sipped champagne on the terrace and soaked up the sun.

Room Tip: Ask for the groundfloor suite which has doors opening onto the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Property: Well maintained, modern, comfortable. Wi-Fi is dodgy.
Pool was clean and salt-water which was a nice change.
Room (s): Stayed in 2 different ones, would recommend both but the favourite is suite # 7.
Staff: Accomodating and friendly.
Food: Amazing breakfast. Cool to have access to honour fridge and complimentary coffee and tea.
Location: Wonderful. Quiet. Near beaches and hikes.
Parking: Plenty on the street and is safe.

Room Tip: Choose Suite #7 for the best view and private balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marknbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
307 reviews
1.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,741 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden Suites

Address: 12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range: £64 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walden Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Walden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walden Suites Cape Town/Fresnaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing