We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, didn't like the staff demeanour.”
Review of The Walden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Walden Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cangzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, didn't like the staff demeanour.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The lodgings were very comfortable, but the wifi was non-existent for the two days we were there, and no attempt to repair the solution was ever approached, despite us pointing out this impediment numerous times. If you do not know your way around a German keyboard, the lodging's laptop will not be of much use, as the default language is all in Deutsch.
The breakfast was lovely, as were the kitchen staff.
One very unsavoury event was enough to make us never want to return though: we were travelling with an elderly gent, and when he roamed away from us for a few minutes the hostess of the B&B admonished him instead of assisting him. "What are you doing!?" she demanded instead of a kindly: "Can I help you?" This left him rather rattled which rather ruined the holiday vibe.
Another time, a young, blonde lad asked if he could book our lunch reservation. When we replied that we could easily do it ourselves, no problem, he insisted saying that the lodge gets free "points" for reservations made at restaurants, which they can then redeem for a "free lunch" now and then. This came across as a bit greedy.
Staff member Marco was the only redeeming member of staff. He was lovely, helpful and very kind.
But we won't return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WalkieTalkieKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    41
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
68
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We only stayed one night, and it was a last-minute booking, but the hotel was very nice, the staff was very accommodating, and we enjoyed it very much. We will recommend the hotel, and would stay here again if we visit Cape Town again.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We enjoyed a large sofa in a large living room and a large bath in separated large bathroom. The room was perfectly clean and beautiful, Nice deco. Wifi connect was good. Customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mamari1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstrand, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

It is a very nice place to stay in when you in Cape Town not far from city and Sea Point. The area is quiet and safe. Rooms are comfortable and nice. Everyone of the straff are wonderful and really want you to have pleasant stay!! Great restaurants and things to do were suggested and reserved for us. Great breakfast, eggs, pancakes and lots more. The poolarea were great our daughter loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms with Lion Head view are quieter but smaller. We also stayed in the poolview room wich was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sillen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sway, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here towards the end of our holiday. Had a balcony room with a great view of Table Bay. The room was extremely comfortable and very clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but the kitchen was open and available at all times. It had a very nice coffee machine and it was nice to come in after a day out and make a cup of tea. The garden and pool area were nice to relax in. The Walden suites were within walking distance of the hop-on bus route.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Prue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

very comfortable stylish house with spacious rooms, which gives you feelings of home and privacy. not far from the ocean and short driving time from main city attractions. Friendly and competent staff. Negative - we could hear our neighbours from the upper floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We booked this charming guest house at the last minute based on excellent reviews and were not disappointed. great breakfast, great pool, long enough to actually swim. One of us had to leave at 4am for a flight and was met by staff to see him off. Restaurants were suggested and reserved for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.3 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#3 of 6 in Bantry Bay
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden Suites

Property: The Walden Suites
Address: 12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walden Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Walden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walden Suites Cape Town/Fresnaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing