We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of The Walden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Walden Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The facility was excellent - clean and safe. The service was excellent - they went out of their way to meet our needs -helped to check-in for a flight, and waited up for us till 1 AM on our arrival date. We had to change our plans at the very last minute and Walden Suites accommodated a change of dates at no additional charge. This is a great base for Cape Town activities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My daughter and I had an awesome time at Walden Suites and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The views were also great. However, the best part was the service, especially from their intern Alex, and a friend staying there to help with guest experiences, Paul. I am in the restaurant business in the US, and these guys were the definition of excellent customer service from early morning to late night. We actually enjoyed their company in the friendly kitchen/den sitting rooms and it made our stay much more personable. If I ever go back to Cape Town, I'm staying at Walden, if they will have us again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The lodgings were very comfortable, but the wifi was non-existent for the two days we were there, and no attempt to repair the solution was ever approached, despite us pointing out this impediment numerous times. If you do not know your way around a German keyboard, the lodging's laptop will not be of much use, as the default language is all in Deutsch.
The breakfast was lovely, as were the kitchen staff.
One very unsavoury event was enough to make us never want to return though: we were travelling with an elderly gent, and when he roamed away from us for a few minutes the hostess of the B&B admonished him instead of assisting him. "What are you doing!?" she demanded instead of a kindly: "Can I help you?" This left him rather rattled which rather ruined the holiday vibe.
Another time, a young, blonde lad asked if he could book our lunch reservation. When we replied that we could easily do it ourselves, no problem, he insisted saying that the lodge gets free "points" for reservations made at restaurants, which they can then redeem for a "free lunch" now and then. This came across as a bit greedy.
Staff member Marco was the only redeeming member of staff. He was lovely, helpful and very kind.
But we won't return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WalkieTalkieKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We only stayed one night, and it was a last-minute booking, but the hotel was very nice, the staff was very accommodating, and we enjoyed it very much. We will recommend the hotel, and would stay here again if we visit Cape Town again.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We enjoyed a large sofa in a large living room and a large bath in separated large bathroom. The room was perfectly clean and beautiful, Nice deco. Wifi connect was good. Customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mamari1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

It is a very nice place to stay in when you in Cape Town not far from city and Sea Point. The area is quiet and safe. Rooms are comfortable and nice. Everyone of the straff are wonderful and really want you to have pleasant stay!! Great restaurants and things to do were suggested and reserved for us. Great breakfast, eggs, pancakes and lots more. The poolarea were great our daughter loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms with Lion Head view are quieter but smaller. We also stayed in the poolview room wich was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here towards the end of our holiday. Had a balcony room with a great view of Table Bay. The room was extremely comfortable and very clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but the kitchen was open and available at all times. It had a very nice coffee machine and it was nice to come in after a day out and make a cup of tea. The garden and pool area were nice to relax in. The Walden suites were within walking distance of the hop-on bus route.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Prue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Fresnaye
The Clarendon Fresnaye
#3 of 12 in Fresnaye
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sundown Manor
Sundown Manor
#1 of 12 in Fresnaye
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashby Manor
Ashby Manor
#8 of 12 in Fresnaye
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Walden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walden Suites

Address: 12 Bellwood Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range: £79 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Walden Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Walden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Walden Suites Cape Town/Fresnaye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing