We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Amazing Service. Rivals Ritz and Four Seasons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarendon Fresnaye
Ranked #3 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Service. Rivals Ritz and Four Seasons”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there last week with our five children during our visit to South Africa. The entire team was amazing in responding to our very request and need. It is a beautiful old estate with pretty gardens that once belonged to the Earl of Clarendon who was the governor of the Cape. Have travelled the world and stayed in the nicest places. This is definitely on the list!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank plentium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    42
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
131
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently spent four nights at the Clarendon Fresnaye as part of a South Africa/Victoria Falls vacation.

The location of the hotel is convenient. The guest rooms are charming and comfortable. The common areas and grounds are lovely. Best of all, every member of the Clarendon staff was incredibly warm, gracious and hospitable.

Capetown is beautiful. We would return to the Clarendon in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emanuel_S_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neydens, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights as a family & really loved our room (23!): v bright, separate children room, nice b-room, just 5 steps down to the pool. Service was incredibly nice & helpful (Emmi, Mavuto notably but not only) to fill ur stay with restaurants & activities. Nice & cosy atmosphere. Only slight issue: street noise.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Yonn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was our second stay at Clarendon Fresnaye. We spent 9 days and everything was perfect.
We had room 23 which is in a separate building from the main house. It is a large family suite with 2 bedrooms , dressing room and bathroom.
All the reviews about Clarendon Fresnaye are really true. Emmy and the whole staff are so kind and helpful.
The area is perfect for a stay in the Cape Town area and with a car all the sights are easily accessible.
It is a few minutes to Seapoint promenade and it's three huge sea water swimming pools
Big choice of restaurants in the area or close by and the exchange rate of the Rand helps in keeping the cost of meals very reasonable
You can't go wrong at Clarendon Fresnaye

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger3875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very comfortable rooms and well kept garden. Breakfast plentiful and varied. Staff more than helpful and seemed genuinely concerned that we enjoyed our stay.
Good location with an easy walk to the beach. Felt a secure setting.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank carolineinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandvika, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were a family group of ten, aged from 15 to 80, who stayed from sept. 30th. till october 4th. It was our last stop on a fortnights roundtrip and we were spoilt with wonderful experiences. The Clarendon certainly did not let us down! The hostess and her staff really made us feel at home, and were there for us all the time. Returning from an excursion we were welcomed "home" with a cup of coffee or the, and som nice snacks to go with it. We were recommended first class restaurants that gave as a taste of the South African varied kitchen. The rooms and other facilities were exellent. A beautiful, spacious garden with swimmingpool were perfect for relaxation. Situated in a nice and peaceful area it was not too far from the center of Cape Town, and was a good base for adventurous days in the Cape region. No matter age, everybody enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragnhild L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What a stunning perfect hotel! Thank you so Much to Emmie and the team for making the stay so wonderful. From the minute you get to this hotel you feel welcomed and very relaxed. The service from Emmie and the team is amazing, so tentative and happy to help with any queries you have, booking taxi's and recommending fabulous restaurants! The hotel itself is so beautiful every room is so gorgeously done up, the breakfast area and sitting areas are gorgeous, the grounds are stunning, the pools are so clean and lovely comfy sun loungers. I would 100% recommend this hotel and i hope to visit again, a trip to Cape Town without staying at this hotel would be a lose! thank you to Imagine Africa for recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoecrazybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.5 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Fresnaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Fresnaye

Property: The Clarendon Fresnaye
Address: 67 Kloof Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Fresnaye 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Clarendon Fresnaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Fresnaye Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing