We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Retreat Port Stephens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort(Salamander Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Central Motel(Nelson Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cote D'Azur(Nelson Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Aqua(Nelson Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
87
55
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
55
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunesgames roomport stephensbbq facilitiesfire pitaffordable holidaybbq arealarge familyfamilies or groupsclose at handgreat facilitieslovely hostshuge tvbush settinglarge housefamily get togetherentire weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A group of more than 20 of us stayed int The Lodge in November 2013, and had a fantastic time. Lots of space, great facilities - and the sand dunes made for some memorable photo opportunities. Highly recommended, and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

The Lodge is one of the most popular buildings with groups because of the number of guests it can hold. Would love to see some of the photos of you all on the dunes as it is amazing out there. We are so lucky to have them at our back fence.
Look forward to having you all come again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed here with 9 other friends, so it was a group holiday. The accommodation was even nicer and cleaner than I expected it to be. There were enough beds for everyone and we all had heaps of fun! The kitchen and the BBQ equipment were very useful as well.
Overall it was a great experience, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heylenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

So glad you had a great stay and we exceeded your expectations. We do suit groups of all numbers especially with the BBQ areas and camp fires.
We look forward to having you all stay again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Friendly welcome and accommodating of our requests for after hours DVD hire and milk supply. Great facilities in barbeque areas with fire pit and ready supply of firewood so fantastic for groups and families. We enjoyed the quietness of the area and a good sleep! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thanks so much for your review we love to hear how people enjoyed their stay with us.
Our camp fires are a very special part of the experience at The Retreat and we always have a good supply of wood ready for our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We decided to have a family holiday, the first for many years, and we chose The Retreat as it had accommodation to have all 17 of us. The facilities were great and there is plenty for the children to do. It is also very close to everything else that is necessary for a great family holiday. However the cockroaches were a bit of a problem. A can of spray provided would have been a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We are so glad that you had a great stay and we do have plenty to keep the kids entertained while on holidays with us. So sorry about the cockroaches but I believe this is due to the weather that we had been experiencing. The pest control company has been out and sprayed for us which is great news and is no longer an issue.
We do hope to see you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Bungalow my daughter and I stayed in was well fitted out and the venue very private off the road situation. The management were very thoughtful and accommodating. As expressed in previous reviews this place is fine for kids, families and school expeditions. However, the nights we stayed were quite noisy with barbecues and kids yelling until after 10.30 at night ...at which time it rained so sent everyone inside. Definitely child friendly but not the place if wanting a quiet rest at the time we went.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin or Bungalow away from the central area.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRetreatPS, Manager at The Retreat Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We are so sorry to hear that your peaceful stay was interrupted.
This is not a common issue as most guests are considerate to others that are staying especially when using the BBQ area's and camp fires. We do have a 10pm curfew for these areas and ask guests to please be considerate at this time.
We do have Cabins and Bungalows which are away from the main BBQ area and camp fire which you can request for a future stay.
I hope you did mention this to the office stay so they could ensure this did not happen the following nights. We do want all our guests to have an enjoyable stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews