We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I have been travelling the East Coast and have come across one of the best places I've ever stayed!! It has everything you need, a great friendly/family atmosphere, very easy to meet new people, all the amenities you could want with an amazing swimming pool and even possums and Kookaburra's joining you for your dinner and breakfast (and if your lucky you can have a picture with Syphon the python)!!! The staff (Sandy and Mark are amazing) are super friendly and helpful and really make you feel welcome! You even get special tour deals from reception on most tours like dolphin watching, sandboarding, sailing, etc. I ended up staying over a week (originally booked 2 days) Samurai is that good!!!! The dorm rooms are clean and no creaking bunk beds and they are separated from each other and super comfortable. Would highly recommend this place and it's a place not to be missed. Also don't be out off with the spider comments there are not many there.......a place you HAVE to stay at!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
27
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We came to Port Stephens for a weekend on a tour from Sydney and left 4 months later! The hostel is in such a beautiful area that it really does feel like you're in paradise. The cabins all have their own showers and toilets and the dorms are really clean. Mark and Sandy make you feel so welcome and at home as soon as you arrive that you instantly feel like you're part of a family. I am so happy that we stumbled upon Port Stephens and Samurai Beach Bungalows really had a huge impact on making it such an amazing experience. This hostel is by far the best hostel I've ever been to. Thank you Mark and Sandy.. I can't wait to come back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Can't rate my experience at this hostel highly enough. We arrived on a Saturday morning expecting to stay for a two day tour in Port Stephens, four months later we still hadn't left!
Initially we loved the place because of the chilled 'at one with nature' vibe. When we arrived we were greeted by Sandy who was so warm and welcoming. We were shown to our doorm which was great, really clean, really comfy beds (in fact the most comfortable bunk bed ive slept in...ever!). Then we saw the amazing outdoor kitchen, equipped with every appliance you could need, a huge bbq, microwave, pots pans and even a friendly kookabburra to keep you company. We could relax by the lovely pool on the sun loungers, borrow bikes from the hostel and cycle through the national park, socialise in the games room, hang around in hammocks and even borrow sand boards and boogie board from the hostel for free! Not to mention all the beaches, hikes and pizza nights! This hostel has the best atmosphere where every quirky talent is valued, everyone is appreciated and everyone is considered family. Samauri Beach Bungalows is a home away from home and a little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here two nights, and although we were not there much it is a very unique place and the people are super friendly. The jungle setting is wonderful, plenty of spiders around so prepare for that, but it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Was the best place to stay on our journey. If we had found this beauty in the beginning, we had not traveled the whole continent, we would had let the time flow only at port Stephens samurai beach :) Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at Samurai over christmas this year and it couldn't have been better :) The bugalows lived up to the pictures, the rain forest feel was like a vacation in itself, and with it's own bus stop and central location it was easy to see all the sights in Port Stephens. Mark and Sandy (the owners) make it easy to know what fun things to do and how to get there... Really felt lucky that we found this place!! You won't want to leave, trust me ;) Thank you Mark and Sandy!

Room Tip: We stayed in a "triple" with a double bed and two bunks - charming, clean, free coffee and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I first came in 2010 and plan to stay 2 nights ended up extending it to 5. So when I knew I would be going past it again beginning of december 2013 I knew I would want 4 days minimum, but it just wasn't enough time so on the way back to Sydney I have just checked in for another 3 nights. The owners here (sandy and mark) are legendary they know how to make you feel right at home. You could say the shop are a little far and the beach is a bit of a walk but once your here that makes no diffrence there is so much to do in Nelson bay just a quick bus trip away. And the hostel is set up in such a way that you enjoy the stay so much you end up having well needed and perfect lazy days. Well recommend this hostel :) hope you enjoy your stay as much as I have :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Bay
2.2 mi away
Bays Holiday Park
Bays Holiday Park
#6 of 8 in Anna Bay
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,031 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays One Mile Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Treescape Camping & Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Middle Rock Holiday Resort
3.5 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA

Property: Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA
Address: 2 Robert Connell CL, Anna Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2316, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Anna Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Anna Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian style bungalows set amongst 3 acres of rain forest gardens around a resort pool. Bush kitchen and campfire in winter. FREE WIFI hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samurai Beach Bungalows - Port Stephens YHA Australia - Anna Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing