We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better.”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Have been visiting the restaurant for over 20 years and the food has been first class, but on our last visit..Jan 2014 the menu appeared to have reduced in size and quality.The serving sizes were noticeably smaller and the place lacked that special feel..now just felt like any other pub restaurant.Value for money Poor..£77 for the two of us...my wife only had scampi and chips! Will not return now unfortunately.

Thank AUSTINANDWENDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

£77 for two? Scampi & Chips=£10. That was one heck of a drinks bill Sir. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 315 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

8 old friends rendezvoused at the Hollow Bottom after a days racing at Cheltenham. (We had booked. Booking a meal is highly advisable on racing days)
I have to say it was one of the best pub meals I have eaten for a very long time. The menu is comprehensive without being overladen and there are daily specials. I had tiger prawns served on a bed of rocket, cooked in garlic, fresh chilli and lime juice butter. For my main I chose smoked haddock in a creamy cheese sauce served on a bed of mash with baby carrots and sugar snap peas. To finish I had a delicious, home made banofee pie. My fellow diners were all very complimentary about their choices. (I had a sample of the calves liver which was perfectly cooked and delicious. We had three bottles of sparkling water, two bottles of house Merlot and one bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. The wines were splendid. The bill for all 8 came to £235( just under £30 a head). So, not only was it one of the best pub meals I have ever eaten, it was tremendous value too. The service also was efficient and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank GregDonohue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you so much for such a heartwarming, detailed and positive review. It really means a lot to us that you had such a great experience, which is what we strive for every day. We agree that we represent great value and hope that we will see you again soon. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great pub and grub,took visitor from china, who was very impressed.set in beautiful countryside even in winter, and very English.they even run a bus taking customers home within 15 miles! What a diddle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to rate us 5 star. We're glad your friend from China enjoyed it too. Yes our "Getting you home safely" Bus seats 8 people and will drop people home within a 15 mile radius with prior booking. We hope you'll both return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Have been to the The Hollow Bottom a number of times now, and never leave with a bad word to say. Great location, great atmosphere and great food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 24Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you Thomas! We hope we will see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and i stayed here for a weekend about 3 years ago. This is everything i expect in a pub, great beer,wine and food. Friendly staff (nothing was too much trouble) The locals are also very welcoming and fun.
We were in the Cotswolds recently and decided to have lunch and a beer.(there was no choice it had to be the HB) It is still brilliant. We both loved our meals and plan to come for a weekend in the spring.
Shows what can be achieved with hard work and team work.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you so much for such a positive review. It seems often people forget that Tripadvisor is to share your experiences and we are very thankful you have used it to express yours in such a lovely way. We hope you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing