We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taxi to the station”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“taxi to the station”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

thanks hugh for dropping us back to Cheltenham railway station,last evening at 21.30 hours..good beer and food.enjoyed watching the Cheltenham festival,in the lovely comfort and surroundings of the hollow bottom

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
No problem. Glad you could join us and hope to see you all again at the next Cheltenham races if not before. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    65
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't Stay but Treated Us Right!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Due to a computer booking error, we actually were not able to stay at The Hollow Bottom. However, they took the liberty of booking us at another accommodation (which was twice the cost), and took care of the difference in price. We felt that this was very nice of them to due and speaks highly of the establishment. We returned for dinner and enjoyed a great meal with lively atmosphere. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyle27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. we are delighted that the accommodation we arranged was so nice and that you enjoyed your meal & drinks with us. hope to see you again someday. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Used to be better.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Have been visiting the restaurant for over 20 years and the food has been first class, but on our last visit..Jan 2014 the menu appeared to have reduced in size and quality.The serving sizes were noticeably smaller and the place lacked that special feel..now just felt like any other pub restaurant.Value for money Poor..£77 for the two of us...my wife only had scampi and chips! Will not return now unfortunately.

Helpful?
Thank AUSTINANDWENDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 20 November 2014
£77 for two? Scampi & Chips=£10. That was one heck of a drinks bill Sir. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eating at The Hollow Bottom”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

8 old friends rendezvoused at the Hollow Bottom after a days racing at Cheltenham. (We had booked. Booking a meal is highly advisable on racing days)
I have to say it was one of the best pub meals I have eaten for a very long time. The menu is comprehensive without being overladen and there are daily specials. I had tiger prawns served on a bed of rocket, cooked in garlic, fresh chilli and lime juice butter. For my main I chose smoked haddock in a creamy cheese sauce served on a bed of mash with baby carrots and sugar snap peas. To finish I had a delicious, home made banofee pie. My fellow diners were all very complimentary about their choices. (I had a sample of the calves liver which was perfectly cooked and delicious. We had three bottles of sparkling water, two bottles of house Merlot and one bottle of Sauvignon Blanc. The wines were splendid. The bill for all 8 came to £235( just under £30 a head). So, not only was it one of the best pub meals I have ever eaten, it was tremendous value too. The service also was efficient and friendly. Thoroughly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GregDonohue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for such a heartwarming, detailed and positive review. It really means a lot to us that you had such a great experience, which is what we strive for every day. We agree that we represent great value and hope that we will see you again soon. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Year's Day”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great pub and grub,took visitor from china, who was very impressed.set in beautiful countryside even in winter, and very English.they even run a bus taking customers home within 15 miles! What a diddle.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to rate us 5 star. We're glad your friend from China enjoyed it too. Yes our "Getting you home safely" Bus seats 8 people and will drop people home within a 15 mile radius with prior booking. We hope you'll both return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

Guiting Power, Cheltenham
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing