We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary.”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary.”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stay at this marvellous pub 4-5 times a year.
Every time is better than the last. The rooms have had a make over which makes it even more homely.
We recently celebrated our 23rd Wedding Anniversary, and yes we spent it at the Hollow Bottom, a fantastic place to stay what ever the occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thanks Guys for a great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms. Happy Anniversary and hope to see you celebrate many more in the future, Hugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    47
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
138
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

only popped in today on our way home, followed the signs from the main A road, did wonder at one point if we had missed tha pub as it seemed to go on & on It really is in the middle of nowhere.....but boy was it worth it when we go there. Everyone was so friendly the atmosphere was relaxed and the food was great. Would like to go back and stay for a few days on the future. Great place

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you for a few nights sometime soon! Hugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We were looking for that increasinngly rare animal, a traditional English Inn with good food, beer, accomodation and staff. We found it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
Many, many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a great experience. Hope to see you again soon, Hugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

After a period of worry and illness, we needed a quiet couple of days away, and settled on Guiting Power because I knew it to be way off the beaten track. In the Special Requests section of the online booking form, I wrote ‘quiet rooms please’.

It has to be stressed that, in most respects, the Hollow Bottom is excellent. It is an attractive old pub in a beautiful village, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the food is very good. On the night we stayed there, however, it was decidedly not quiet. We arrived at 6 pm, and a noisy celebration was in full swing. We expressed some concern to the receptionist when we saw the rooms, and were told that things would quieten down after 9. After 9, however, it was worse: music was being piped through a speaker screwed to the bar ceiling, immediately beneath the floor of one of our rooms. An enquiry at the bar elicited the assurance that the music would be turned off at about 10. At 10.30, with the music still going strong, I spoke to the owner, and the truth at last appeared, red in tooth and claw. They had a licence until 12.30 am. If I elected to stay in a pub, what else did I expect? Well, I’d said what I expected on the booking form. If the establishment could not meet my needs, I should have been warned, and given the option to cancel. As it was, it was now too late to go anywhere else. We huddled in our rooms and, at 11.45, all was finally peaceful.

Of course, people who go to a pub have a right to be noisy and to listen to music; but, equally, people who pay £95 each for their bedrooms have a right to sleep, at times of their own choosing. Pubs doing expensive bed and breakfast often have rooms out at the back or in an annexe away from the bar, but the rooms we stayed in are directly above the bar, with their windows immediately overlooking the outside tables. Far greater soundproofing is necessary if the rights of both bar customers and room guests are to be served. That said, if you want to go to bed at midnight after a jolly night in the bar (and good meal in the restaurant), then the Hollow Bottom is the place for you. If you want peace and quiet, however, then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Many thanks for a fair review of your stay and we do appreciate the positive comments you gave us. On this particular night we had held a party for a local Horse Trainer who was leaving after 18 years, the party was only arranged on the day & I agree tha it was noisy until 10.30pm when the music was turned off. You have highlighted a potential problem with staying above a pub as these nights do occasionaly happen although very rare. We have planning permission to build 3 quiet rooms seperate from the pub next year and we hope then to give a better choice to our guests. Thanks again, Hugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed at the Hollow Bottom for one night with our young children as a stop over on a weekend walk around the cotswolds.

The room was absolutely perfect. Clean and tidy with an extremely comfortable bed , just what was required after a long walk through the beautiful cotswolds countryside.

The food was absolutely faultless and the hearty breakfast provided in the morning was a great start to the days walk ahead. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The Hollow Bottom is on our list of places to return to sometime soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us, Hugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west england
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

First off we managed to get a great deal here for little money including breakfast, hence our stay. The cost of our double room for 2 with breakfast was cheaper than a taxi home. Look out for this locations best deals via their website. The restaurant is a real gem with proper food being served by caring staff who really want to impress you with their ability and knowledge of what people want on a leisure break. The rooms here are above the pub, so be prepared to put up with a bit of noise after hours, or indeed join in that noise and have a few extra beers after your meal. The rooms are nicley thought out, I will say they could do with a spring clean, but they are not dirty, just in need of a sweep round and a good Dyson. The welcome is excellent, the staff very happy to take time out to talk to you and overall this is the type of place most people I am sure would love to stay.

If you are looking for a cheap stay over with a great breakfast and willing to pay for a considrabely clever but well thought put menu ( approx £ 35 a head wit wine ) then get yourself along to the hollow bottom, a real gem in what is otherwise an expensive location in gloucestershire.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We have also upgraded the rooms since you have stayed and hope you will see a huge difference when you return, Hugh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Arrived Jan 6th having booked via a phone call after reading the Good Pub guide as we travelled from Edinburgh to Fowey, Cornwall..
Lovely pub which would particularly appeal to lovers of horse racing. We aren't but the huge menu and great beer more than made up for that. The friendly staff (Scottish?) advised us well on the best choices and we weren't disappointed. The room was fine but the comments in other TripAdvisor reports about too many dust-gathering toys and poor showers were proven to be true. However it didn't stop us having a nice night there and being happy to return. A fine English breakfast and a walk around the village gave us a good start onwards for our journey.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback & we are happy that you had a good experience with us.
Our rooms are being renovated this month and will be completed by March2011. We agree on the showers which are all being replaced with rather smart & stylish new ones along with a total revamp of the style of our rooms to give a cleaner more spacious feel with a touch of luxury. I am sure you will see a great difference on your return. Hugh, Charlie & all the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
11.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guiting Guest House
Guiting Guest House
#2 of 3 in Guiting Power
101 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Townhouse
The Cheltenham Townhouse
#8 of 69 in Cheltenham
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Property: The Hollow Bottom
Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing