We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stopped one Saturday night on the way home from Cheltenham. The Hollow Bottom is a very nice Cotswold pub/inn, and the rooms are well maintained and decorated. Even having the one room that has a separate bathroom across the hallway was no real inconvenience - all the other rooms that have ensuites were booked that night.

The pub itself has a great selection of real ales to try - always a bonus when so many places just serve the Green King IPA/etc.

The restaurant is also well run and appears to be well used by locals and passing visitor alike. The food on offer in the evening and at breakfast is really good quality and value for money.

As another reviewer has highlighted, the only real downside is that certain regulars feel the need to punctuate their discussions with "select" obscenities in very loud voices (maybe we were in the bar on the wrong night). I'm a regular in different pubs in the West Midlands, but the language was certainly "choice" in the Hollow Bottom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your room and your choice of food was a good standard. We're glad you found us to be value for money and feel that the restaurant is run well. We apologise for some of the language used on this particular night, unfortunately in a pub atmosphere this does happen occasionally, but we are trying to knuckle down on this. We hope we will welcome you back in the near future. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

As an American expat to beautiful Britain, I've always been enamored with the Cotswolds. What a beautiful area and beautiful, adventurous drive. The boyfriend and I drove from Leamington Spa on a crisp, but sunny, Sunday mid-morning. We had no plans in mind, but just happened to see road signs for the Hollow Bottom! Curiousity got the best of us, and we decided to venture to the pub for Sunday roast. Best decision ever! The pub is a bit of a ways down, but is wonderfully authentic and absolutely charming. I enjoyed hearing the locals talk about their horses and life in the village!

We sat outside and had a lovely hostess check up on us a few times on our food, and offer desserts. For a pub, I was surprised by this. I had the vegetarian nut roast (delicious!) and the boyfriend had the traditional roast, we had no complaints about anything. Beer was tasty, too. We had a wonderful experience (even just walking around the village afterwards too) and we'll be sure to stop back here when we venture into the Cotswolds again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallendria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

We're glad curiosity got the better of you, after all you'll never find another pub called the Hollow Bottom!! We're glad you enjoyed your Sunday Carvery and the Nut Roast too. Isn't Guiting Power beautiful? We hope to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your kind words. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night as were going for wedding locally. The staff were so kind, welcoming and helpful from the moment they arrived. They let us check in early and even made sure some of the items we left behind in the room made their way to us. We stayed in the Binderee room outside the pub. We had a lovely large comfortable bed and a massive room. It was all tastefully decorated and well kitted out. The breakfast was very tasty too!

Room Tip: We stay in the Bindaree room. It was large and well furnished and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coverack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Excellent news that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We love Cotswold hotels and the reviews here prompted us to book. One of our party was unable to make it due to illness but the Hollow Bottom didn't blink an eye and amended our booking without any hassle. The welcome was good, the food very nice. Most Cotswold villages lost their "local" as they were turned into residential property but it's nice to see some of these old character places alive and well simply through good customer service. The only downside it the place is used by local regulars who felt it appropriate to punctuate every sentence with an obscenity in very loud voices. It was slightly off putting to try to enjoy a pre dinner drink with the children in the bar to the background of the "f" word every 5 seconds. It was like the place was run by Gordon Ramsey. Not the owners fault and only a slight mark on an otherwise lovely stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms on rural road with single glazing, so choose a room at the back if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for a fair and honest review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your every need. Customer service is something we believe we are good at and so glad that you agree. Apologies for some of the language you experienced during your stay from one or two of our locals, unfortunately this does still happen in the pub environment but we are working hard to try to reduce this in the future. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

USA's Equestrian Team spent 6 weeks in the Cotswold in preparation for the London Olympics. The staff at the Hollow welcomed us with open arms and provided service with a smile the entire time.

On many occasions, we came with a large dinner party and no reservations, but they always managed to 'sort something out'.

The locals embraced us, and fast friends were made. They are proud of their horses which makes USA's Equestrian team happy too.

Good pub grub and beer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipperNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

We absolutely loved having the USA Equestrian team here at The Hollow Bottom and wish you all the best of luck for the Olympics. We'd love to welcome you back anytime. Thank you for leaving a lovely review. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The Inn was slightly further from the M5 than anticipated but well worth the journey - a little haven of comfort in the Cotswolds countryside! A lively pub with friendly welcoming staff and excellent restaurant - plenty of variety, great service and first class food. The room was spacious with enormous comfortable bed and great en suite with double shower. Excellent breakfast cooked to order - we're looking for an excuse to return!
,

Room Tip: Stayed in Earth Summit - enormous room with KS bed - very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gigha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really do pride ourselves on good service and we're glad that you appreciated it. An excuse to return? Who needs one?! We'd love to welcome you back again. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were travelling in the UK for three weeks (from Uruguay), and stayed in three marvelous places, all "por casualidad". We dropped in to the HB late one rainy afternoon, and were shown to the Earth Summit room which was perfectly equipped, clean and very comfortable.
Being a little dry inside we adjorned to the bar, grabbed the best seats in front of the fire and settled in. The food was excellent - haggis included - and the service excellent. We even enjoyed the warm english beer!
Everything about this little gem was a winner - we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank El_Gringo_Gordo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 June 2012

Thank you so much for visiting us. We're so glad your review reflects an enjoyable stay and that you found the food, service and room to be of an excellent standard. We hope that you'll return soon for another warm English Beer?! Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,358 reviews
7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guiting Guest House
Guiting Guest House
#2 of 3 in Guiting Power
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#2 of 69 in Cheltenham
636 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Bradley
The Bradley
#4 of 69 in Cheltenham
461 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Cheltenham Townhouse
The Cheltenham Townhouse
#7 of 69 in Cheltenham
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range: £57 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing