We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best dog friendly ever”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

only stayed for one night ,but would definitely go back. staff were really friendly,the food and meat quality was first class.we stayed in the bindaree room which is totally separate from the rest of the building,so we did not have to worry about our dogs barking or making a noise with direct access outside for late night wees.the locals on saturday night were most welcoming,brilliant atmosphere.we will definitely go back.thanks for a lovely weekend (even though it was snowing).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abicook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thanks for a lovely review, we're glad we could live up to your expectations and that you were still able to enjoy your stay even with the snow! We're glad you enjoyed our Bindaree room and that the dogs were happy too! It was lovely to have you here and hopefully we'll see you again soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Had a meal Saturday lunchtime,
All excellent, Great staff, Great food and excellent beer, even better host !

Would really recommend this gem in the Cotswolds
Its nice to go to a pub that lives up to its reputation, Keep up the good work
We'llbe back soon

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for telling us about your experience. We're very happy to hear that you had a nice time here at The Hollow Bottom and Alan provided you with good service and I'm sure entertainment! We'd love to see you again. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I know this pub as its my sisters local and have had a few beers on Race weekends and always had a great time and it can be a busy place but never in a bad way ! we have never used the rooms or the restaurant, with christmas approaching we decided to organise a family get together a pre christmas dinner, we had a great welcome from the staff and later from the current owners/landlords, Room are comfy and clean and surprisingly large, its a busy bar but this added to the whole evening, locals are friendly, staff are fantastic, there is a great selection of beer and a good wine list, Great food ! we had a great evening and a great nights sleep .... to top it off the following morning possibly the best full english I have ever had !! will be back many thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj_watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We really do appreciate it. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we provided the right atmosphere for your family get together. We hope to welcome you back soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Even though the weather was terrible we had the usual friendly greet from Alan and our room, Mrs Muck, was as beautifully laid out as per previous. We ate in the restaurant part where we experienced pigeon as a main meal which was delicious on the palate.
The pub has its own 'real ale' and with wall to wall Racing and Sport on the 2 TV's i at least was in my element!!!!!!!!!
Our English breakfast finished our stay off beautifully and i would recommend anybody to stay here as the perfect antidote to working life.

Room Tip: All seem fantastic value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for coming back to see us. We're glad you enjoyed your experience once again and hope that we'll see you again soon in the near future. Your breakfast will be waiting! Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

As past hopeful Oz racehorse owners, we knew The Hollow Bottom would be the pub for us for our first foray into the English countryside. With the hosts' warm welcome, this time we were on a winner. For us Australian visitors, this pub had it all - comfy clean room, better than London dining, wide choice of beer and wine, friendly hosts and their staff and best of all, a satellite TV channel race dedicated. Host Hugh in his kitchen has got the deft touch to produce a quality meal. It was a week night, but we noticed the locals coming in to enjoy the dining. Says it all!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hend0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thank you for your recent review. Such kind words! We like to think we can cater for racing enthusiasts, food lovers, and locals too and from your review it sounds like we are doing just that. We're glad you enjoyed your dining experience and found the staff to be friendly. We hope you will come back one day. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Just spent the weeknd at Cheltenham races and told I had to visit the "Hollow Bottom" well when we arrived at the "pub" it was very busy at the bar but the staff looked after our party with ease and had our table for dinner all ready and waiting. One of the owners Hugh was a perfect host and helped us choose from the great wine list and specials which were on offer. Everyone enjoyed the great food and the we all had a fantastic night. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LovelyLad07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

I must agree Hugh is brilliant!! Seriously though, it was nice to have you and really glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you for the next races! Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed one night in the Bindaree room. This pub was everything we were looking for in a country pub.
We had to travel down narrow English roads to get there, which was fantastic. We arrive late in the afternoon and received a friendly greeting when we arrived. Were shown to our room which is situated out the back of the hotel. The room was large, big bathroom and nice and comfortable bed.
We then headed inside the pub for a couple of drinks. Great bar, really enjoyed taking in the atmosphere. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was terrific. Service was great, so we had a really good night.
No problems with noise in our room, had a great night sleep except for a couple of calls from Australia (couldn't work out time difference).
Breakfast was excellent, fresh and well cooked.
Overall really enjoyed our night in the Hollow Bottom. Would highly recommend as a great English pub to visit.

Room Tip: The Bindaree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoveCobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Everything you picked up on is what the Hollow Bottom prides itself to be: Atmospheric, Welcoming and of a High Standard. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
9.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range: £64 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing