We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic in every way!”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic in every way!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We are not exaggerating either. From the moment we stepped foot into The Hollow Bottom last week we knew we were onto a winner. The pub is so lovely and cosy with an huge open fire and lots of wonderful sporting memorabilia on the walls. You can spend hours looking at all the stuff and what is more satisfying is seeing the names of horses you have had a flutter on in the past. Another nice thing about the layout of the pub is there is a distinctive bar area with cosy tables and nooks and crannies and then a lovely big space for the restaurant with lots of tables and more wonderful horsey things on the walls, although you can eat in either. We had pint (rude not to) and then Katie showed us to our room and she very kindly up-graded us to a larger en-suite room, thank you so much. What a lovely room too, beautifully decorated, large and one of those showers with a massive shower head - divine. The view from the window too was something lovely to wake up to. There's a shelf stacked with books if you feel like reading too but the staff are so engaging and friendly you don't want to sit and read. After a stroll around the very pretty village, back to the pub for something to eat. We had previously looked at the main menu and had pretty much decided on what we wanted but then Charlie turned up with the specials. Well that put a spanner in the works but in a nice way. We had a mixture of food from the main menu and the specials menu and all we can say is 'lovely', he is a fantastic chef who deserves all the awards he has won and more. The bar was filling up with locals who we chatted to as well and so we basically dug in and joined in the celebrations when the pub's victorious darts team returned having thrashed everyone else. We will always remember our evening and our impromptu match throwing darts at the 'round wheelie thing on the wall' as it was described by a member of the victorious team - you know who you are! Our fabulous stay was topped off with quite possibly the best ever breakfast the following morning. So to Katie, Noelle, Kevin, Ellie, Fiona and Charlie and anyone we've missed (apologies) who gave us such a lovely time at the Hollow Bottom, thank you so much and we will be back hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I am smiling reading this review! There are just some things that can only be experienced at The Hollow Bottom and it's lovely to hear your time here was one to remember. The staff absolutely loved having you, and enjoyed playing with "spears" and the "wheelie thing on the wall" with you. Your detailed review is exactly what we ourselves, believe The Hollow Bottom to be, and we truly thank you for taking the time to write it. We would love to have you back and hope it will be sooner rather than later! Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    45
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
134
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I found ourselves stumbling upon this pub whilst looking for somewhere to stay last minute. We arrived at 8pm and were glad of the lovely open fire to warm ourselves whilst checking in! The staff were incredibly helpful, they can't do enough for you! We were shown to our room and informed of breakfast arrangements. Then we headed into the pub for a lovely light meal in the form of the sharing platter starter, it was delicious and well presented, it was washed down with the beer named after the pub (which I highly recommend). The staff even rescued me and my phobic husband from a rather large uninvited spider in our room! We were mesmerized by the walls of racing heritage, you could stay there all day going through it all! The experience was topped off by a generous cooked breakfast served by a very attentive waitress. In short we really enjoyed our time here and recommend it highly to everyone, all will be warmly received no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-LucyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Everything you have mentioned is just as a stay away from home should be in our opinion and it's lovely to hear you agree. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently had a three-night stay at the Hollow Bottom. Mine hosts Hugh and Charlie couldn't have made us more welcome. The meals were gorgeous, beautifully presented -
Sunday lunch was delightful.
The staff were excellent and very attentive.

We loved the racing theme and the fact that so many locals used the facilities regularly it gave the country pub a great atmosphere. We would recommend Hollow Bottom. From: F and J E Sykes, Driffield East Yorkshire.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. It's great to read that you had a very enjoyable stay and that you would recommend The Hollow Bottom to everyone. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you love proper horse racing (National Hunt) then this place is a dream. Only found it by chance when browsing for a dog friendly b & b and well WOW. The walls are covered with Grand National and Cheltenham memories and apparently the previous owner is now a very successful trainer based locally. The bedrooms are all named after racehorses and we stayed in Mrs Muck ( i kid you not!!) which was very clean and ideal for our requirements and our dog. Food was exceptional during our 2 day stay (Tiger prawns special starter in garlic butter a delight) and the staff were a pleasure to deal with. Lots of local walks if you take your dog with you, Certainly on the' must visit again' list

Room Tip: Mrs Muck room is directly above the main bar area. If you are worried about too much noise ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montyandtrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food (the tiger prawns are one of my favourites too!) and that the service you received from our staff was excellent, they said to say hello to Lola! We hope you shall return soon now that you know where we are! Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Here from Australia and stumbled across Hollow Bottom. What a brilliant find! The owners and the girls Katie, Fiona, Noel and Ellie went above and beyond to make our stay so lovely. The food that came out of the kitchen for dinner and breakfast was scrumptious. Don't miss the opportunity to stop in at Hollow Bottom, my absolute favourite B & B. Thanks for the memories that we will take home with us to Adelaide.

Thanks from Jane and Ross

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
What a lovely review! All the girls said they loved having you here and were pleased they were able to contibute to your enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back one day. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We really loved The Hollow Bottom, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble, the food was absolutely delicious, I would definitely recommend the Venison - it was first class, compliments to the chef. We stayed for 2 nights in Earth Summit, which was so clean and inviting and had absolutely everything we needed. Guiting Power village was so peaceful and quiet, our weekend was much more relaxed than anticipated, we didn't want to leave! Cannot wait to go back to the Hollow Bottom, maybe try the Pigeon next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinnyjones2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We loved having you here and look forward to your return. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
8.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Property: The Hollow Bottom
Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing