We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customers come first here”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked a night in this small (4 bedroom) country inn at short notice just for a quick break in the Cotswolds. We were in 'Earth Summit' , the superior room and it did not disappoint particularly for the rate we paid. The room was large, clean, warm and best of all comfortable.
Just before we were going down for our evening meal we had a visit to our room from a staff member informing us that a large winning party were due in from Newbury races and if we thought we may be disturbed we could be moved to an alternative hotel in Cheltenham totally at the cost of the management.
We opted to stay and are glad we did. The food (albeit a little more expensive than we would expect in a country pub) and particularly the service were first class. By way of a good will gesture we were also given a bottle of complimentary wine with our dinner.
Yes, the enthusiasm of the winning party was rather loud but in no way troublesome or rowdy, and actually added some atmosphere to the evening !
Would we return ? yes. Would we recommend to others ? yes. I regularly stay in big branded hotels throughout the UK (through no choice of my own), The Hollow Bottom is however somewhere I would stay through choice and the breakfast was great.
I have only marked down the room as there was no bath, an excellent shower, but I do like a soak !
Again I only marked the location down as it is a little bit isolated, meaning I had to drive a bit more than I had planned.

Room Tip: Earth Summit seems to be the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for a very kind review. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose to stay here at The Hollow Bottom again. We're glad the Newbury party of "Splash of Ginge" enhanced your experience of The Hollow Bottom and you were able to join in with the party. We hope to welcome you back soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Hollow Bottom Pub for two nights, and we had a nice stay.
On our arrival we were offered the room we booked, or an upgrade to a better room for no extra cost! We assumed because we had booked for a Monday and Tuesday in late October the upgrade was vacant, never-the -less it was a good start to our stay. We also ate at the pub and the evening meals were of a very good quality and served up by very friendly staff. If there was a minor gripe (and I do mean minor) we were served some obviously burnt toast on the first mornings breakfast, but once I had mentioned it was apologetically replaced.
Overall our stay was very pleasant in a pub that is well situated in the pretty village of Guiting Power, and we would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Both rooms offered to us had good views across countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewiskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade and we hope to see you again very soon, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were looking for a country retreat to escape the pressures of London and found the Hollow Bottom on the internet. And what an amazing place it is! Hollow Bottom is a pub with accommodation upstairs in a beautiful hamlet in the Cotswolds. From the minute we stepped in we had nothing but genuine friendliness and immediately felt right at home. All the members of staff were so welcoming and no request was too much trouble - even a late night cheese platter. We stayed in the Earth Summit room which was very spacious with a sofa and great shower. Overall the place has lots of character and we loved the horse racing theme and huge log fire. We only planned to stay one night but ended up being seduced by the hospitality of the Hollow Bottom and the staff that we just had to stay another night. Food was great and good value - we can highly recommend the prawns and venison. We're now back in London and it feels a million miles away from the beautiful Cotswolds and the lovely Hollow Bottom. Hope to see you all again in the future!
Jo & Anthony

Room Tip: The Earth Summit room is perfect if you want a lot of space and a great view of rolling Cotswolds co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnthony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you to the newest members of The Hollow Bottom darts team! You were amazing! Thank you for taking time out of your busy London schedule to write such lovely things about The Hollow Bottom. The staff enjoyed your company and would be happy to have you back in the future. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We are not exaggerating either. From the moment we stepped foot into The Hollow Bottom last week we knew we were onto a winner. The pub is so lovely and cosy with an huge open fire and lots of wonderful sporting memorabilia on the walls. You can spend hours looking at all the stuff and what is more satisfying is seeing the names of horses you have had a flutter on in the past. Another nice thing about the layout of the pub is there is a distinctive bar area with cosy tables and nooks and crannies and then a lovely big space for the restaurant with lots of tables and more wonderful horsey things on the walls, although you can eat in either. We had pint (rude not to) and then Katie showed us to our room and she very kindly up-graded us to a larger en-suite room, thank you so much. What a lovely room too, beautifully decorated, large and one of those showers with a massive shower head - divine. The view from the window too was something lovely to wake up to. There's a shelf stacked with books if you feel like reading too but the staff are so engaging and friendly you don't want to sit and read. After a stroll around the very pretty village, back to the pub for something to eat. We had previously looked at the main menu and had pretty much decided on what we wanted but then Charlie turned up with the specials. Well that put a spanner in the works but in a nice way. We had a mixture of food from the main menu and the specials menu and all we can say is 'lovely', he is a fantastic chef who deserves all the awards he has won and more. The bar was filling up with locals who we chatted to as well and so we basically dug in and joined in the celebrations when the pub's victorious darts team returned having thrashed everyone else. We will always remember our evening and our impromptu match throwing darts at the 'round wheelie thing on the wall' as it was described by a member of the victorious team - you know who you are! Our fabulous stay was topped off with quite possibly the best ever breakfast the following morning. So to Katie, Noelle, Kevin, Ellie, Fiona and Charlie and anyone we've missed (apologies) who gave us such a lovely time at the Hollow Bottom, thank you so much and we will be back hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

I am smiling reading this review! There are just some things that can only be experienced at The Hollow Bottom and it's lovely to hear your time here was one to remember. The staff absolutely loved having you, and enjoyed playing with "spears" and the "wheelie thing on the wall" with you. Your detailed review is exactly what we ourselves, believe The Hollow Bottom to be, and we truly thank you for taking the time to write it. We would love to have you back and hope it will be sooner rather than later! Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I found ourselves stumbling upon this pub whilst looking for somewhere to stay last minute. We arrived at 8pm and were glad of the lovely open fire to warm ourselves whilst checking in! The staff were incredibly helpful, they can't do enough for you! We were shown to our room and informed of breakfast arrangements. Then we headed into the pub for a lovely light meal in the form of the sharing platter starter, it was delicious and well presented, it was washed down with the beer named after the pub (which I highly recommend). The staff even rescued me and my phobic husband from a rather large uninvited spider in our room! We were mesmerized by the walls of racing heritage, you could stay there all day going through it all! The experience was topped off by a generous cooked breakfast served by a very attentive waitress. In short we really enjoyed our time here and recommend it highly to everyone, all will be warmly received no doubt!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Wandering-LucyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Everything you have mentioned is just as a stay away from home should be in our opinion and it's lovely to hear you agree. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We recently had a three-night stay at the Hollow Bottom. Mine hosts Hugh and Charlie couldn't have made us more welcome. The meals were gorgeous, beautifully presented -
Sunday lunch was delightful.
The staff were excellent and very attentive.

We loved the racing theme and the fact that so many locals used the facilities regularly it gave the country pub a great atmosphere. We would recommend Hollow Bottom. From: F and J E Sykes, Driffield East Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for such a lovely review. It's great to read that you had a very enjoyable stay and that you would recommend The Hollow Bottom to everyone. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

If you love proper horse racing (National Hunt) then this place is a dream. Only found it by chance when browsing for a dog friendly b & b and well WOW. The walls are covered with Grand National and Cheltenham memories and apparently the previous owner is now a very successful trainer based locally. The bedrooms are all named after racehorses and we stayed in Mrs Muck ( i kid you not!!) which was very clean and ideal for our requirements and our dog. Food was exceptional during our 2 day stay (Tiger prawns special starter in garlic butter a delight) and the staff were a pleasure to deal with. Lots of local walks if you take your dog with you, Certainly on the' must visit again' list

Room Tip: Mrs Muck room is directly above the main bar area. If you are worried about too much noise ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montyandtrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food (the tiger prawns are one of my favourites too!) and that the service you received from our staff was excellent, they said to say hello to Lola! We hope you shall return soon now that you know where we are! Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery by Sofitel
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
8.4 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Cheltenham
554 reviews
9.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#15 of 23 in Cheltenham
562 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Big Sleep Hotel Cheltenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range: £63 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing