We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, delicious food! ”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We went for a quiet weekend break away at the beginning of March, with the dog and we couldn't have asked for much more.
The room was lovely, we stayed in the Earth Summit and it was extremely spacious and nicely decorated. The room itself was situated above the restaurant, so there was a bit of noise in the evenings, however this is expected if you're going to stay in a countryside Inn. We weren't bothered by the noise, the staff even informed us prior that there would be, even though common sense would have told you.
For the first night we ate in the Hollow Bottom's restaurant and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Looking at the regular menu it was akin to something you would find at most pubs, but the range of special dishes was extensive and the quality inspired. I had a crocodile tail stroganoff and it was fantastic, my partner had the wild mushroom and artichoke strudel and enjoyed the dish , even though she doesn't usually like mushrooms.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and happy to accommodate, I only wish I had got their names so I could point them out, but they were all a credit to the establishment.
We will be recommending you highly to our friends and anyone that will listen!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Taigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Wow! What a wonderful review. The team here take great heart from feedback such as this as collectively they take great pride in making everyone feel welcome and comfortable. We are delighted that this was the case for you. Hope to see you again very soon, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

I included "unexpectedly" in the title of my review as I have known the Hollow Bottom for many years, but never stayed there. It's an institution in the area and among the Cotswold and beyond racing community. Always a lively place, I wasn't sure how quiet and comfortable it would be.

We stayed in the Earth Summit room which had been chosen for us because it was over the restaurant rather than the sometimes noisy bar. It was very large and tastefully decorated, with room for a sofa, queen size-bed, wardrobe etc., and overlooked the green fields across the road.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows and bedding of good quality. Bedside cabinet and reading light on each side, which is always good. Coffee and tea-making facilities in the room, as well as bottled water. The wall-mounted television was not too overwhelming and appeared to have a wide range of cable (?) stations. Also free wi-fi, although it took me a while to connect as the password had recently been changed from the one in the guest information folder.

The en-suite bathroom was a reasonable size, with a free-standing glass shower stall, no bath. My husband had difficulty changing from the rainforest shower-head to the handheld one, but I think that was just user error. Plenty of hot water, too. Heating was from a good heated towel rail. Towels were of reasonable quality and I think there was shower gel and shampoo, but no lotion.

Breakfast was served in the dining room and a table with juice, water, fruit and cereals was set up. There was just one waitress working, but she managed to take care of us and the 6 other guests with no problem. Plenty of tea and coffee, although a coffee cafetiere for each table would have been welcome, rather than having to ask for a refill when our cups were empty. Good menu of the usual options and of course they were happy to mix and match all the breakfast components as requested.

All in all, a very pleasant couple of days, with all the members of staff very willing to help or answer questions. One word of warning - the stairs up to the three rooms in the main pub building are very narrow and steep. Not a problem most of the time, but if you have any mobility difficulties, or intend to have a jolly time in the bar, you would be best staying in the annexe room, which I believe was outfitted to help disabled guests (check first).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely detailed review. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and that is something that we strive to do every day. We do certainly have occasional noisy nights here but the majority of the year is exactly as you have described. Thanks once again and we hope to see you return again very soon. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Lovely pub in a small cute village in the Cotswolds. There is parking at the back of the pub, although not very big (4 spaces) but there is also road parking. We stayed one night in the Earth Summit room. It was a very big room with a sofa and a fire place. In the room there was a complimentary bottle of water, biscuits, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The bathroom was very modern with a nice double shower. There was a small breakfast menu offering cereals, full English, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, poached egg on toast and few other things. We both had the full English and thought it was very good. The waitress couldn't have been any nicer.

I would have liked to have given it a 5, but the glasses next to the bottle of water were very filthy. I just drank the water directly from the bottle. Also, one of the plastic cups in the bathroom had obviously been used and had a bit of toothpaste in.

We went on a lovely walk, more info in http://www.escapetothecotswolds.org.uk/userfiles/file/walks/jubilee/guiting-power-final2.pdf

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and your breakfast. i can assure you that although the water glasses may have been watermarked due to local limescale they would not have been" filthy". We hope this small indiscretion will not put you off returning sometime soon? Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Such a lovely little gem of a pub hidden away in a gorgeous hamlet. The young male who served me (Nathan) was so polite and attentive.. The decor is very homey & is a traditional English quaint pub! If this place was closer to home I would definitely make it my regular!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lauragrace90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you Laura for your really positive review. I am delighted that Nathan and the others looked after you. you will maybe have to move to The Cotswolds? Until then please visit us as often as you can. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Found this little gem by accident as we where visiting the Cotswolds last weekend, a spur of the moment idea, lets stop . Lovely comfortable room, a steal at the reduced price , the little pub full of racing photos. of past Aintree winners so if you like horse racing this one is for you, Food was excellent and breakfast delicious. Sat outside in the evening sun on the 1st day of summer glass of wine was just perfect. We will be back.

Room Tip: Doggy friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank link2od
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We hope you stumble upon us again very soon. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

An ideal break in the Cotswolds with a dog friendly B & B. A great atmosphere and very pleasant staff. Great value and very good food. Looking forward to return soon with Marcie and Deb. A very comfortable bed and lovely shower.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Neil,
thank you so much for your lovely review. we hope to see all 3 of you back again very soon.
Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Looking for a b & b in the Cotswolds and searching various sites on the web we were more than happy with our decision in selecting The Hollow Bottom public house, in Guiting Power. Once we arrived it was soon realised we had chosen well, the friendliness of all the staff and the hospitality was amazing, the food was also something to return for, and we will be visiting the Hollow Bottom again very shortly. Even Marcie our golden doodle enjoyed her visit and was made to feel very special and I know she is also looking forward to her next visit. 10 out of 10, from us.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Hi Debbie, thanks for your lovely review and we are delighted that you had such a nice time. Our only disappointment is that you didn't leave Marcie behind when you left! She is beautiful and we may well be looking for a relation soon. Hope to see you all again soon, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
7.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,388 reviews
7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,056 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guiting Guest House
Guiting Guest House
#2 of 3 in Guiting Power
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range: £54 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing