We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cotswolds”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Cotswolds”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Great evening meal, after a tough day of cycling in the Cotswolds. If you want a good nights sleep look elsewhere for accomodation. The bedrooms are above the hotel bar, it sounds as though you are trying to sleep in the bar, the walls are that thin. The bedrooms are small but clean, no extras eg, no lamps to read (poor lighting in the room) tissues etc.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thanks for your review Peter. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your evening meal. With regards to finding "somewhere else for accommodation", I feel that is slightly harsh. We have never claimed to be a hotel, we are a pub, with rooms. Occasionally there can be noise from the bar below which is mostly finished by midnight. We pride ourselves on being a busy neighbourhood establishment and understand that this isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. All of our rooms however are equipped with bedside lamps for reading. As for the extras, Visit England believe we provide enough to be classed as 4 star, we agree, it's unfortunate that you do not. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    46
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
137
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I was so lucky to get a very late reservation at The Hollow Bottom - what a beautiful spot in the Cotswolds. The staff were so welcoming and friendly - the service couldn't have been better. I was enthralled with the room - so big and comfortable. As would be expected in a country pub there were people enjoying themselves outside just below my room - but it was a Friday night & someone's birthday - and to be fair I think I was asleep before they left - so can't have been too bad - and life is about enjoying yourself - is it not? I had a great night's sleep - bed was very comfortable and I woke up to beautiful view from my window. The evening meal was very good - but the breakfast was superb and really set me up for the day. Great spot to tour the Cotswolds - and pay a visit to Sudeley Castle. I was only there one night - but could have stayed there very happily for a week. I would give the pub - the accommodation - and most definitely the staff a 10 out of 10! Felicity B

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlickyFloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Felicity, it's great to hear we contributed to your idylic Cotswold tour and lived up to your expectations, even if it was only for one night! We hope should you return to The Cotswolds you'd make another visit, as you say "life is about enjoying yourself" after all! Thanks again. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2014

As with others we did not know what to expect after booking.But our reservations could not have been more out of place.From the time we arrived to the time we left our stay was nothing but perfect pleasure the staff are second to none with a very warm welcome on arrival and perfect service at all other times food was really good with a choice that would satisfy any taste The Hollow is a pub on the edge of a beautiful village with rooms that are very clean and comfortable we are now looking forward to another visit over the next months

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Keith, wow! Excellent news that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you are already planning your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about us. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked the Earth Summit room at the Hollow Bottom and was not disappointed. The room itself was well presented, clean and had all the facilities one could possibly want. The en-suite shower room was spacious and with a great shower. Very relaxed atmosphere and all the staff were really helpful throughout our stay. This pub is situated in a picturesque village and with good amenities close by. The surrounding area is delightful and the views wonderful. The food in the restaurent was excellent with a good menu choice that would suit most people I would certainly recommend the mushroom starter and the duck for main!! When we went down for breakfast in the morning their was a good choice of cereal followed by a full English. We would certainly stay here again and plan to further explore the Cotswolds again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Robert, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It's great to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we were able to deliver in every sense. We do hope you will return for your future stay in the Cotswolds. Thanks again. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Could not have been better, we stayed for two nights. Delightful large room overlooking the countryside across from the road outside, the situation is very rural and there was no problem at all with traffic noise. All of the young staff were very friendly and helpful. The dinner was good, beer was good and the breakfasts great.
It is a horse racing pub, with memorabilia everywhere, in the bar,restaurant and the rooms,-photo's, press cuttings, horses racing plates and even some silks, all very interesting. A lovely old pub to visit. Would certainly stay there again if we return to the region. It is just as a country pub should be.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Earth Summit'
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you Alan, for your lovely review. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable experience and decided to share this with everyone. We hope to see you again in future. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Have just got back from a two night stay at the hollow bottom, was very unsure as to what to expect but a lovely b and b. The staff were friendly towards us and our black lab,a very dog friendly pub which is great. Rooms were great. Food good and lovely location for walking. We had a fab stay and will be planning to return soon. Although being above a pub there was very little noise upstairs. Thanks to all the friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us a lovely review. Your black Lab was very welcome. I am glad you had very little noise as is the case on the majority of evenings. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon, Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Room is nice. Bathroom looks new. Good water pressure. Breakfast is super. You can asked for your choice of eggs etc. Only complain is a glass of wine costs 7. Can't remember if they have wifi. I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunafish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks Tunafish for leaving us a to the point review. Much appreciated. We do have WiFi. It is also free. We have Merlot at £4.40 glass. We have Pinot Grigo at £4.40 glass. You chose a bucket of New Zealand Sauv Blanc. It is £7.25. It is one-third of a bottle. Hope you enjoyed. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,278 reviews
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guiting Guest House
Guiting Guest House
#2 of 3 in Guiting Power
98 reviews
5.5 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Property: The Hollow Bottom
Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing