We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RELAXING BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A RELAXING BREAK”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We are just back from a 3 day break at this lovely hotel which we have visited several times before. The hotel is set in lovely surroundings and there is always plenty of free car parking available as well as free internet access which is much appreciated. It is ideally suited for visiting Cheltenham, Gloucester and the Cotswolds.

The welcome, as always, was warm and friendly, our room cosy, clean and spacious, and we managed to get a good night's sleep on all 3 nights.

We had dinner in the hotel on Friday evening which was excellent. The waiting staff were very attentive but not intrusive.

Breakfast all 3 mornings was lovely, relaxing and everything was in plentiful supply.

Checkout was friendly & efficient and we hope to be back to this particular hotel either in the summer or early Autumn (we have other Q hotel stays booked in the meantime - they have become our hotel chain of choice as they give consistently good service and live up to our 4* expectations!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Northampton Richo
Brilliant to hear such great feedback! Not only regarding The Chase but also our other QHotels! We have 21 Hotels in the group so you have plenty of choice for future Hotel breaks!
I am so pleased that you had such a great stay with us and thank you so much for going to the trouble of posting your views on Trip Advisor for everyone to read.
I hope that you enjoy many more QHotel breaks but please do return to The Chase soon!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    634
    212
    75
    36
See reviews for
241
867
40
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I stayed here for one night for business. The hotel is very nice. The staff are friendly and helpful and run the hotel efficiently. The rooms are a good size, warm, spotlessly clean and nicely laid out and decorated. I also found all the conference facilities roomy and well laid out.
The only problem I would have with this hotel is the food.
The buffet at lunch time ran very low leaving people sanding around waiting for some items of food and in the evening the buffet food was cold and unappetising. The vegetarian option was also dreadful- a stodgy pasta with some pesto on it.
All in all I would stay in this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it to others however the food let the experience down and was far below the expectations of a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curious_traveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear curious_traveller
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your experience of the The Cheltenham Chase Hotel. It was great to hear that you found most aspects of your stay to your satisfaction but very disappointed to read your comments regarding your opinion of the food offering during your stay. I can assure you that this is certainly not a true reflection of our normal standards and your comments have been discussed with the team here in order to maintain our standards for the future. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused.
It is great to hear that you would otherwise recommend the hotel and hope that you will choose to return in the future when I am sure we will be able to demonstrate 4* standard food at its best.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We chose to come for a spa day and as soon as we arrived we could see the hotel was massive. It is situated in a good location just off the M5 and was very easy to find. On arriving we went to the spa changing room and then proceeded to the gym. After a while in there we decided to go to the swimming pool, where there was a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was really warm and I did not want to get out. We had also booked a treatment. We were able to sit outside for our lunch. The were plenty of tables and chairs with umbrellas for hot sunny days so that there could be a little shade. I also discovered a play area for children which seemed really good. We had a disabled person with us and the bar staff kindly carried his drinks outside for him and also opened all the doors for him on route. Our treatments were also very relaxing and I was pleased to find that I was able to buy goods from the Spa Find range. They were not expensive either. After our treatments we sat in the bar area and had our pastries which were also included in the spa day. Once again the bar staff carried the drinks to the outdoor seating area for my husband and our disabled friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear babst1
The thought of sitting outside on hot sunny days does seem like a distant memory at the moment doesn't it?!
I am pleased that you enjoyed your Spa Day at the Hotel - and that you actually managed to sit outside for your lunch!
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to post such a lovely review regarding your stay and I hope that you will consider returning very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this hotel . We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. The decor warm and welcoming. We had a bar meal the first eve which although was quite expensive was very nice, but the meal in the restaurant meal didn't come up to standard of a 4**** hotel the food was Luke warm and the restaurant itself was cold too. The room we were in wasn't cleaned by the maid until 3pm which was a bit of a nuisance.. Apart from the mentioned I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzy462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Cazzy462
Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate all of our guest feedback.
I am pleased to hear that overall you would recommend the Hotel and indeed would return but it is a shame that your meal in our restaurant did not meet with your expectations. We will certainly learn from your comments for the future.
Our room maids do endeavour to clean all rooms as soon as possible, however often due to high numbers of departures we are occasionally unable to clean some rooms until later on in the day. I do hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My sister and I have just returned from an overnight spa break at this hotel which was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. The food, spa treatments and room were all excellent. We will certainly be returning again and would highly recommend this hotel to others. Go and try it for yourselves and you won't be disappointed. You will leave feeling relaxed and happy. So refreshing to find such good service which sadly is not the case with some establishments these days. Well done Cheltenham Chase Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Sandra R
Thank you so much for your fabulous feedback! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Spa Break with your sister.
Our Spa and Hotel team will be so pleased to read your comments on the service you feel you received and it's great to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations in this respect.
Thank you once again for posting such a lovely review and we hope that you may consider returning with your sister again for another Spa Break!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The room and general upkeep of the hotel was fine, however our stay was let down by appalling food and service. The first nights meal was reasonable so we elected to eat again the second night, however a wedding at the hotel overtook the entire area with very rowdy and drunk guests which overspilled into the main hotel restaurant and bar. The food took approx 1 1/2 hours to arrive and was cold and not what was ordered! (The chef needs to research what certain dishes should actually contain) We ended up walking up the road to the nearby carvery (which interestingly commented upon the number of hotel guests they have eat there!) Having complained to the hotel manager - we were promised a written apology and a free nights stay to try and prove the hotel wasn't normally that bad - 5 months later we are still waiting. We have stayed in better quality 2* hotels. Not at all what you expect from a 4*! We would never go back!

Room Tip: Use a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dph75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear dph75
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel back in 2012. I joined the Hotel as General Manager in late November 2012 and I am therefore sorry that you were not contacted following your stay. As you can see from the recent reviews on Trip Advisor our feedback on our food offering is generally very good; however I hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Having seen our recent feedback I do hope that you may consider returning to the Hotel as we would love to restore your faith in our Hotel and company.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed overnight, which we have done several times before. The breakfasts had certainly improved on our last couple of stays. The staff at breakfast are always helpful and pleasant. The jacuzzi was very cool - really disappointing - and the pool was quite cool too, and the staff in the leisure club are very off-hand. Otherwise it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review regarding your stay at The Chase. I am sorry that you found the Pool and the Jacuzzi to be a little on the 'cool' side. I am not aware of any recent issues in this area and can assure you that both facilities are currently running at the correct temperature. I am therefore sorry if this was not the case during your stay with us. I hope that you will accept our sincere apologies and that your stay with us was otherwise enjoyable.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
708 reviews
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing