We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was okay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Was okay!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel was really nice. Room clean and smart! .. Ate both nights food was nice fishpie was packed with fish! Staff were lovely simon behind the bar legend! Pool and jacuzzi were lovely! Going back in Aug hopefully :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    625
    210
    74
    35
See reviews for
236
850
40
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Booked months in advance for a romantic Valentine's weekend break and initial experiences mostly positive. Welcoming receptionist, pleasant, clean room with a rural view, although a bit cool and dimly-lit, and a delightful pool with luxuriously hot jacuzzi!

We'd pre-booked our Valentine's Day meal for 7pm, when there were few fellow diners in the Hunter's restaurant. However, after being served with our drinks and being proffered cold rolls, it took 45 minutes and three requests before our uncomlicated starters of soup and prawn salad arrived. We'd chosen the specials of lamb and pork shoulder, yet we were served with what can best be described as a small portion of blended baby food with a few vegetables. OK if you're a baby but not if you're a hungry adult, and we were paying £16 for the privelege. The waiter seemed unwilling to look after us, too. Fortunately there's a Toby Carvery 200m up the road so that's where we ate on the Saturday night!

The buffet breakfast was fine if not special so, while the Chase is a good place to stay B&B, I recommend avoiding the hotel as a place to dine in the evening. To maintain the hotel's racing theme, The Hunter fell at the first hurdle...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Mike S
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your stay with us. We really do value guest feedback such as yours.
I am sorry that you felt the food served to you did not meet with your expectations. As you can see from the majority of the feedback on TA we do generally get very good feedback regarding our food and I am therefore sorry that you were disappointed. We have taken your comments on board and will use them, along with our other guest feedback to maintain our standards for the future.
I'm pleased that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and hope that you will not be deterred from returning to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Thoughrouly enjoyed our stay last night. Were made to feel welcome by staff all of whom were very friendy welcoming. The room was lovely and was clean and tidy. There are great facilities, and the food was to an excellent standard. Overall a great experience and would definately visit again!!

Helpful?
Thank nikki21493
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear nikki21493
Brilliant to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and that eery aspect exceeded your expectations. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I visited this hotel back in November with a friend for a start to a girly trip. We stayed one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Check in was easy with very friendly and polite staff.

We settled into our room which was very spacious and comfortable and we were very impressed with the FREE WiFi access. We were able to connect multiple devices (phones, iPad, laptop etc.) without the need to log off one in order to connect the other. I thought this was especially good as I have not known other hotels to do this.

At dinner we were greeted by a member of staff who showed us to our table and took our drinks order. We were given a menu to peruse which was extensive in variety. I had the burger which is perfect if you love comfort food.

We were able to look around the facilities that were in the hotel but unfortunately we did not have time to go swimming or use the spa. However, it all looked lovely and WHEN I go back I will most certainly be factoring in the time to use the spa.

After a comfortable nights sleep, the breakfast was excellent. The variety is everything you would expect from a four star hotel AND MORE! It was being replenished regularly and was all very fresh and plentiful.

Overall, this hotel most certainly delivered on excellent quality and service. It was very clean, the food was fantastic, the staff were very polite and friendly, the facilities were well kept, beds were comfortable, WiFi was fantastic and the bathroom was very clean with a lovely shower.

The only thing I would change is the fact we didn't get to stay any longer than one night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Lucy B
..........You must stay for longer next time!
Thank you so much for such a great review. Your comments have been passed on to the team here and maybe next time you could take advantage of one of our fabulous Spa Breaks (details on our website).
We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I have just visited this nice hotel for a Spa day.
It was brilliant value for money .
I had an ESPA facial which lasted an hour and was very relaxing.
Lunch was super with a variety of sweet and savoury items served on a wooden board.
Nice glass of bubbly finished it off well.
One warning would be that the morning was very busy in the pool with true swimmers.
Good job cheltenham chase.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Chloe B
Thanks for your review and I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy such a relaxing Spa experience with us and it's great to read that you felt it was such good value for money.
Hopefully see you again soon!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed 4 days for our wedding anniversary recently. Made to feel welcome. Lovely room, well appointed and clean. Only problem was a weak wireless signal. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good quality and the restaurant staff efficient. Good position near M5. Will definately stay again. Haven't rated the spa as we didn't get to use it, but having it there was an attraction to us.

Room Tip: If good wireless signal is important to you it might be worth checking it when you get to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowMeteor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear YellowMeteor
Happy Anniversary! and thanks for such a lovely review. I'm pleased we were able to make you feel welcome for such a special occasion and we hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had the pleasure of being taken to the Cheltenham Chase Hotel this weekend for a few days away in the Cotswolds. Having stayed there previously for work it was lovely to be able to go back and experience the hotel for pleasure.

We had a five star treatment from start to finish. We were greeted with big smiles on check in, and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The facilities were clean and modern, and well kept during the time we were there.

The staff in the bar in the evenings were fantastic and attentive. I would highly compliment both of the chaps who served me countless times on both Friday and Saturday evening.

The food was good, we ate breakfast both days and an evening meal in the bar area, not only was the food well cooked and prepared it was also good value compared to other places in the locale.

All in all I would highly reccomend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJWritesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Templarx
Thank you very much for posting such a complimentary review of your stays at The Chase. It's good to hear that you found us versatile in that you enjoyed both your business and leisure stay with us.
I hope that you managed to get out and about to see more of the lovely Cotswolds despite the weather - I know there were a few sunny spells in between the torrential rain so i hope that you managed to take advantage of this.
Thank you also for your complimentary comments regarding the team here. All of which have been passed on.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing