We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst food ever tasted in a hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst food ever tasted in a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Room was quite nice and the massage was nice. What makes the spa break such poor value at 99 pounds and gets this hotel just two stars is the awful food. Lunch was a very strange combo of dried chicken, dried potato, baked beans or dried salmon bake with dried salad and no butter. How this could be served with any sort of pride I do not know. It was so bad that we ate in the Beefeater down the road rather than take the pre paid lunch. The staff were very polite and you get the feeling that they have heard it before and that it's not their fault. Spa was very nice and the pooŵl and jacuzzi were ok if not very noisy. Then came supper. I wish we had gone somewhere else again. Dried steak with dried mushroom. I poured the mild pink pepper sauce over the chips and steak and took a mouthful to be greeted with the hottest pepper sauce I have ever tasted. It was rancid. Fair play to the waitress. She tasted it and said it was very hot. New chips were served and apologies sent from the chef but by the time I left the restaurant my insides were on fire. We don't think we will even turn up to breakfast as our appetite has gone. Staff were friendly and we were partly compensated for it but even so it was still not worth it.

And if you have a disabled blue badge just hope there is no wedding fair on as the two wedding limos took up two of the disabled bays.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Jeremy H
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at The Chase. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the food served to you during your stay and I apologise that this aspect of your stay did not meet with your expectations. We constantly review and act upon our guest feedback and I can assure you that this is certainly not a true reflection of the standards we aspire to.
I hope that you found the other aspects of your stay met and hopefully exceeded your expectations and that you would not be deterred from returning to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    605
    202
    70
    32
See reviews for
225
815
39
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

A modern, smart but comfortable hotel with a wonderful spa and beauty treatments. I went for a 1 night deal with my friend and we couldn't fault it. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The spa very clean and relaxing. Very good evening meal and huge choice at the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowberrywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear rowberrywilson
Thanks for posting such great feedback regarding your Spa Break at the Chase. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your treatments, breakfast and evening meal.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here many times on family breaks over school hols. Staff are always fantastic, Ash (ops manager), Lottie (reception), Katrina, Lucy, Laura (evening in restaurant), Beryl at breakfast - all are a real credit to the hotel. Our 5yr old daughter loves staying here, made a fuss of by staff throughout our stay. Swimming for kids until 6pm, so plenty of opportunities of leisure use with kids. DB&B good value for money, criticism being the food does not always accurately reflect what's stated in the menu but in fairness this is usually addressed

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank R1_1_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member
Thank you for all the lovely personal mentions for the team here. I have passed your comments on to them and we also reward the team for individual positive feedback so thanks for taking the time and trouble to do this.
Thank you also for mentioning your concern over the menu descriptions. I will investigate this and will ensure that we are consistent in future.
We hope to see you and your family back very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night only during half term. The rooms are good size and the spa facilities are very good. I think it was good value for money. My only comment was that it was not that busy when I had breakfast but I think it was unacceptable that they had fan out of basic breakfast foods for example eggs. I was told they would be ready in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted_meister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Ted_meister
Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt we were great value for money.
We shouldn't be running out of eggs at breakfast and I have passed your comments on to the kitchen team to make sure this doesn't happen in future, my apologies.
We hope to see you again soon
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel twice now through work and I wouldn't book anywhere else when I am in Gloucester. Staff are friendly and helpful, gym is great and for the ladies there is conditioner separately in the bathroom no 2 in 1 that does nothing for you hair!
Huge beds and blackout curtains if carlsberg did hotels this would be it

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186364Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear 186364Liz
Thanks for your review. It's great to hear from one of our business guests and to hear that you wouldn't consider staying anywhere else! Thank you.
Great to be considered the Carlsberg of the Hotel world!
We look forward to welcoming you back for more business stays (and maybe the odd leisure break in the Cotswolds?).
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed last weekend as a birthday treat for a friend. The spa treatments were great, as was the accommodation. We had a buffet lunch which was good but the evening meal was very disappointing. Starters and desserts were good but 6 out of 7 of us had fish pie described as having a 'rosti' topping - this looked like, and had the texture of a bit of coconut matting 'plonked' on the top! The fish was tasteless,had a minced up texture, sauce was watery, and seemed very much like it had been frozen. We didn't make a fuss at the table as, after all, it was a treat from us all for our friend! However, on checking out, we told the receptionist and she assured us our comments would be passed on to the kitchen. I'm sure someone would also have noticed a problem as 6 practically uneaten dishes went back to the kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uballey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear uballey
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry that the food you were served did not meet with your expectations. I can assure you that your comments were passed on to the kitchen and the necessary improvements will be made for the future.
I am pleased that you had an enjoyable Spa Experience with us and hope that you may consider returning for another Spa break again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Lovely bedrooms with especially comfortable beds and high quality bedding. Only disadvantage was they were a bit noisy - doors banging in corridor outside and we could hear neighbour on his phone as if he was in the room! Big hotel which could be anonymous but still has a friendly feel to it. Very helpful staff. Food was good enough and plenty of it but not of such high quality that you would choose this hotel on the strength of it. Big open plan restaurant linked to a large open bar and reception area with plenty of seating. Good spa and pool facilities. Loads of meeting rooms! Everything felt clean and well maintained. Great for big groups.

Room Tip: Having a room without an adjoining door might cut down on the noise from neighbours. Rooms at the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear SpottyTotty
Thanks for posting such a great review of your stay at The Chase. Brilliant to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing