We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Spa break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Spa break”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed for a 1 night spa break and could not fault the service from start to finish. Arrived at 12 and told room would be available at 3 o'clock initially, but within minutes, not only was the room ready but we had been upgraded... Very nice surprise !!

After checking in, we went to the bar to have our light lunch.... Wrong description to be honest as there was plenty to choose from on the platter we ordered....Very tasty.

Room was impressive and there was a huge comfortable bed which enabled a good nights sleep later on.
After getting changed into robes and slippers, we made our way to the spa area where we had use of the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. There is also a gym there which appeared to be reasonably well equipped with both CV and weight machines.

The only minor criticism was this was supposed to be a relaxing break, but the pool had baby swim classes all afternoon and was not the peaceful location that I had anticipated....but did not detract from our experience.
After a couple of hours, we were treated to a couple of treatments, a.full body massage for me and a back, neck and shoulder massage with facial for my partner.Highly recommended....

Dinner and the following breakfast were excellent and the service from the staff was first class. Couldn't fault the experience overall and was great value for money. We will definitely be looking to return at some time in the future and would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to experience the same.... Thank you to the staff for making it a most enjoyable visit.. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC1FC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear SCIFC2014
.......and thank you so much for such a lovely review! We share all of our feedback with the team here so they will be really pleased to read your comments regarding your stay, thank you.
I'm sorry that your time in the pool clashed with our baby swimming class. They take place twice a week and are only 45mins in duration so it is unfortunate that this was at the same time that you were trying to relax in the pool.
We hope you will return for another stay soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    625
    210
    74
    35
See reviews for
236
852
40
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked a one night spa break for my partners birthday. Having searched the internet there was limited availability for our dates so pleased that the Cheltenham Chase were able to accommodate our request. However, as soon as we arrived we couldn't have been more disappointed. The hotel building is very uninspiring...a 1980 facade with "normality" being the appropriate description. We arrived in reception to be met with a drowning noise eminating from a number organs that were on display throughout the reception areas. It transpires that the hotel were hosting a "Key Group" Conference that display Yamaha organs and target the older generation! This completely took over the hotel during our stay which bordered on the ridiculous. The hotel should have made us aware of such an event at the time of booking...we could then at least have had the ability to not gi ahead with the booking. That said, the spa treatments were fantastic....rooms very nice....service adequate....buffet lunch very nice. Evening meal was simply horrendous, we had to complain about the food which was sent back to the chef....i would have been totally embarrassed to send out the food, and i am not a chef!! All in all, I would not recommend this hotel and I am sure there are better alternatives, whatever your aspirations!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Stephen S
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your stay with us. The Hotel opened as a new building in the late 90's and has recently had a full refurbishment and a facelift at the front of the Hotel, so I am sorry that we didn't meet with your expectations in this respect. We were also very sorry to read your comments regarding the food standards. I can assure you that this is certainly not a true reflection of our normal standards and not what we aspire to and we will be taking corrective action to ensure our standards are maintained for the future. I hope that you will accept my sincere apologies.
It was great to hear that there were many aspects of your stay which met and hopefully exceeded your expectations and hope that you would consider returning to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Checked in ok staff fine then it started. Got in lift and it immediately set off with a jolt and we expected it to never make our second floor. It did but we used the other lift from then on. It was hit and miss as to wether it made it. Both lifts therefore need replacing immediately they are old and tired.
Arrival at room ok and it was fine. Unfortunately channel 3 on tv was out of sync with sound .This made viewing v.difficult. Channel 6 sky news was in sync but they spent a lot of time talking about RAINE which of course was Ukraine but picture was too wide for TV!
Down to bar and asked for 2 white wines. Returned warm!
Asked for Potato crisps , sorry we are out but they are on order!
Restaurant ...asked for deli starter. Mostly inedible particularly the dips.
Returned.
Next we had ordered Fish pie. Another report describes it perfectly.
It was luke warm, watery and Inedible. Returned.
Breakfast next day was fine.No real complaints.
Next evening could not face Restaurant but had 2 glasses champagne.
Fine. Second 2 glasses ordered but bottle was not returned to fridge from previous order so was not really cold but acceptable!
Staff here are quite good and do try to please.
Would suggest hotel manager spends more time looking after the establishment since the basics are there but guidance and management are lacking.
This was our second visit. Last time 2 years ago everything was fine.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank russellw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear russellw231
Thanks for your honest feedback. I can assure you we really do value feedback as an essential tool in maintaining our standards.
I would like to reassure you that our lifts are serviced regularly and are in full working order. The Issue you experienced with the TV was intermittent in nature and has now been resolved, our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We have taken on board the comments you have made regarding the standard of the food served and service in the bar and will take action to ensure our standards are maintained for the future.
Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your stay and I hope you may consider returning in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you want a value for money spa break without all the luxuries of a dedicated "spa hotel" this is the place. The rooms are a good size, large bed, seating and table, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities, toiletries, iron, trouser press. The Gym is split into two rooms, machines and free weights, the free weights room is not very big and not a lot of space but they are adequate. Treatment rooms were good and the treatements received nice. Swimming pool is ok, there is not a lot of space or chairs around it for relaxing but the pool is ok. Sauna, and steam room are small but adequate. The buffet lunch served as part of the package was excellent, the variety and choice was perfect. The evening meal, however, was mediocre to say the least. It did not spoil the experience but just dont have too high expectations with regard to quality. Service was good. Drink prices at the bar are expensive Breakfast is again buffet and variety is excellent and quality excellent. Could do with a bit more attention to cleaning detail in bathrooms, bedrooms, plenty of parking and overall a decent hotel. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear bmills
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your opinion on your stay with us, it is much appreciated.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rest assured that we will take action on the points for improvement that you mention.
It's great to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Ellie Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stay at Q Hotels on a regular basis at Cheltenham, Winchester and Ashford all a high standard of service and superb bedrooms. Unfortunately the restaurant at the Chase Hotel is very average in service and quality. Our last experience was as follows. We asked for a table for 7.30 pm at our early afternoon check in and was told only 6.45 or 8.30 was available. We arrived on time and ordered two glasses of white wine to have with our starters 30 mins later the the glasses of wine arrived just in time with the food. Then after another twenty minutes i contacted the waitress and asked what had happened to the bottle of wine her excuse was a barrel had burst and was leaking in the cellar "we did not want a beer anyway" then we realized the place was half full but all the staff including the barman were serving a table of twenty four people. All our food was only warm and arrived in drips and drabs. Extra side orders of chips were delivered that had not been ordered. The problem was the restaurant was understaffed . We might as well gone up the road to the Toby Inn or Beefeater and paid less. The breakfast was superb and the place was packed. Fortunately they have a Chinese/Asian waiter working his socks off keeping the tables cleared and making sure your getting coffee refills. May we suggest the management promote him to work in the restaurant evening shift to shake the service up.

Room Tip: All very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear penderowen
Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your stay here at The Chase. It's great to hear that you enjoy your stays with QHotels and I hope that you will continue to use us as your Hotel group of choice in the future.
I'm sorry that you experienced issues with the service in the restaurant. We are currently working hard to maintain our normally high standards in this area and your feedback is a great help in achieving this but I appreciate how this would have affected your enjoyment of your stay.
Thank you for mentioning Hatta, our breakfast waiter. He is a superstar isn't he and we would love to have him working evenings, if only we could persuade him.
Many thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Room was quite nice and the massage was nice. What makes the spa break such poor value at 99 pounds and gets this hotel just two stars is the awful food. Lunch was a very strange combo of dried chicken, dried potato, baked beans or dried salmon bake with dried salad and no butter. How this could be served with any sort of pride I do not know. It was so bad that we ate in the Beefeater down the road rather than take the pre paid lunch. The staff were very polite and you get the feeling that they have heard it before and that it's not their fault. Spa was very nice and the pooŵl and jacuzzi were ok if not very noisy. Then came supper. I wish we had gone somewhere else again. Dried steak with dried mushroom. I poured the mild pink pepper sauce over the chips and steak and took a mouthful to be greeted with the hottest pepper sauce I have ever tasted. It was rancid. Fair play to the waitress. She tasted it and said it was very hot. New chips were served and apologies sent from the chef but by the time I left the restaurant my insides were on fire. We don't think we will even turn up to breakfast as our appetite has gone. Staff were friendly and we were partly compensated for it but even so it was still not worth it.

And if you have a disabled blue badge just hope there is no wedding fair on as the two wedding limos took up two of the disabled bays.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Jeremy H
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at The Chase. I was sorry to read your comments regarding the food served to you during your stay and I apologise that this aspect of your stay did not meet with your expectations. We constantly review and act upon our guest feedback and I can assure you that this is certainly not a true reflection of the standards we aspire to.
I hope that you found the other aspects of your stay met and hopefully exceeded your expectations and that you would not be deterred from returning to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A modern, smart but comfortable hotel with a wonderful spa and beauty treatments. I went for a 1 night deal with my friend and we couldn't fault it. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. The spa very clean and relaxing. Very good evening meal and huge choice at the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowberrywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear rowberrywilson
Thanks for posting such great feedback regarding your Spa Break at the Chase. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your treatments, breakfast and evening meal.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing