We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Anniversary break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights (sat-mon) to celebrate our first anniversary. The hotels room are lovely, clean and extremely spacious with comfy beds. We used the leisure facilities which were okay, although we used the pool on a Sunday so it was quite busy with families with children so not very relaxing! We chose not to eat at the hotel based on previous reviews and there are various pubs within easy reach. The hotel bar prices are expensive so on one night we chose to walk to the toby carvery next door (2min walk) and sat in the bar here (much much cheaper!!) breakfast seemed to be hit and miss... Sunday morning we spent easily 10minute in the queue waiting for food to be replenished and by the time we got to the front it had gone again so we had another few mins wait!! Monday morning however was a different story with plenty of food available, no queues, and so much tastier! The hotel is situated in an ideal place to visit Cheltenham and Gloucester, and we would definately return to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hayley_golden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear hayley_golden
Thanks for your review and may I wish you a Happy Anniversary! I hope that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that we gave you a memorable Anniversary. We take on board your comments regarding breakfast service and our drinks pricing and I am so pleased that you found your room exceeded your expectations.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    604
    202
    70
    32
See reviews for
225
813
39
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I attended a weekend at the Cheltenham Chase in January, the weekend was a group affair for a charity weekend.

The reception at the hotel was warm and professional.

The Room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable and there was free wifi

The food on the Friday night was a buffet and as a vegetarian the options were limited and not very warm.

The drinks at the bar are very expensive, and I have been to a lot of these occasions with my friends and we have had some good weekends. This weekend turned out to be one of the driest because of the pricing of the drinks.

On the Saturday gala night, I had arranged for a vegetarian meal and was told that they had run out of the vegetarian options, and when they did manage to arrange something for me it arrived so late and the other guests had long finished theirs. The main course was also not of a very high standard either. On the the whole the food was a big let down for me as a vegetarian which suprised me for the class of the hotel.

Breakfasts, there was a lot to chose from but the quality again was a let down and wasn't overly warm. As for the toaster they have one of those machines and wasn't very effective, ended up just having bread and butter.

On the whole most of the staff were very polite and helpful, the rooms very clean and comfortable. The bar prices and food were a big let down and I would rather go to a 3 star hotel where we had reasonable bar prices and excellent food.

Would I go again, probably not....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilKeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear NeilKeeble
Thank for your constructive feedback regarding your stay at The Cheltenham Chase in January. Our drinks pricing is higher than a public house but we do hope that our levels of service and surroundings reflect this difference in price and indeed our prices are comparable to other 4star hotels in the area, however we do take on board your comments.
I am sorry that you were disappointed by the food quality during your stay. We are working hard to maintain our standards in this area and I hope that you might give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our food offering at some point in the near future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were treated to two nights in a suite by our family, unfortunately we had to rearrange our stay twice due to unforseen domestic circumstances. The package that was paid for by our family didn't include and changes but the hotel went out of their way to find us a suitable time when we could make it ... thank you.

The suite was brilliant as were all the staff that we came in contact with, especially the young lady who waited on us, the receptionist who took time out to take our photo's and the leisure staff who loand my wife a £1 coin for the locker.

Dinner and breakfast were really great (though not if you feel the need to cut down on food), dinner menu caters for all tastes and dietary needs and they go the extra mile to cater for anything different that you may request. The pork and herb sausages for breakfast are superb ... couldn't fault anything.

There is an option to pay £20 for a lifetime membership of the chain where you can het offers and discounts etc. If you are not already subscribed then do it while there as they will knock off £10 and you still get the whole membership ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Terry D
Thanks for your feedback. I'm pleased that we were able to accommodate you on your package and that you had such a great stay with us.
I can recommend joining the 'Breakaway Club' you will get access to great offers and money off vouchers which you can use in any of QHotels lovely properties.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the near future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We visited the hotel for a girly spa weekend and at £119 for lunch, dinner, bed and breakfast plus a full body massage, this was a very good deal and we had a great time, but unfortunately I can only agree with the other comments about the food.

Lunch was a buffet-style affair with a selection of hot and cold platters, which were ok, but looked a bit stale (as if they weren't that fresh). There was a decent selection however.

Dinner was a disaster from start to finish - we had booked a table for 8pm at reception, but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told it had been booked for 8.15 and were asked to have a drink at the bar, and told that someone would come to get us. A good twenty minutes later no one had come to fetch us, so we back we went and were eventually shown to our table - I should mention that it wasn't particularly busy, but there was a wedding going on in one of the conference rooms.

After a 30 minute wait our starters finally arrived...as with lunch, these didn't look freshly prepared - the deli platter consisted of two gloupy pots (supposedly hummus and baba ganesh), the driest olives ever, non-toasted pitta and chewy sun-dried tomatoes. Things didn't improve with the main courses - once again the customary 30 minute wait and when the fish pie arrived (which we had been warned about, but thought we'd give the hotel the benefit of the doubt) we couldn't believe any chef worth his salt would let a dish leave his kitchen looking like that. The "rosti" (if you can call it that) on the top was charcoal grey, rock hard and what was underneath was no better and totally inedible.

The profiteroles for pudding were nice - you only get two though, small portions seems to be the thing here...and perhaps it's just as well - and the topping on the creme brulees were more char-grilled than caramelised!

The spa itself is fairly basic - it's really just a standard hotel pool with hot tub, steam room and sauna - but the treatments were nice and staff friendly. Brown is an interesting choice of colour for the bathrobes, nothing beats a white fluffy one...but that's just my personal opinion!

We had a really good time and the manager was very apologetic about the food (we were each refunded our meal allowance of £26), but as we are clearly not the first people to complain it's a shame action hasn't been taken to improve the standards in the restaurant, as it really does let the place down.

On the plus side, breakfast was actually really good - halelujah!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Jippy
Thanks for your constructive review of your stay with us, it is much appreciated.
It's great that you had a good stay with us overall but I am sorry that the food standards did not meet with your expectations. We are working hard to improve our food standards and would hope that you will consider returning to the Hotel in the near future to let us show you that we have acted upon our guest feedback.
Good to hear you appreciated your breakfast.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire moorlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Overnight stay for business. Hotel was full & busy but check in was quick & efficient. Room was a good size room with comfortable bed. Relaxing breakfast with great poached eggs on request! Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Moorlanders
Thank you for your review, and great to hear from another of our Business Guests.
If you find yourself using us for accommodation regularly in the future please do let us know if you have any special requests for your stays with us. For example we are happy to allocate you a certain room (subject to availability of course) and to cater for your food whims, please do just ask.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Room was fine, decent size with a comfy bed.

Reception, bar and restaurant area laid out like motorway services. Judging by the number of people milling around decided to give the spa a miss, can't imagine it would have been relaxing.

Very pricey food, poorly cooked and limited choice. We ate out on the second evening.

The brochure speaks of a wear what you like and relax policy, did not enjoy breakfasting alongside people in bathrobes and bare feet.

No atmosphere aimed at corporate visitors and families. If we had paid full price for our stay I would have been furious.

Room Tip: Our first floor room at the end of the wing was cold and the heater was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firestoneway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Firestoneway
Thank you for giving such honest feedback regarding your stay with us. I would like to assure you that we do monitor and act upon all of our guest feedback.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet with your expectations and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Chase Hotel. Staff were extremely friendly. The beer was great (real Ale) and food was excellent. Bedroom was a very good size and spa facilities were good with a decent sized pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mark B
Thanks for your review and for mentioning our friendly team. I am so pleased that you had such a great stay with us and we hope to see you back here very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
19.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing