We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The rooms are reasonably nice although the showers are in need of a bit of TLC. Staff all very pleasant but the food was very poor. We actually sent it back and had a small portion of something else. Breakfast food was also not that good in the cooked department although there was plenty of fruit and bread available.
the swimming pool was ok but the shower area again needed a bit of work.
disappointed

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacemaker56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear lacemaker56
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review on your stay at The Chase. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food you were served. We are working very hard on this area at present and your feedback is much appreciated. I hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

2nd visit in 6 months. well located. Friendly and helpful staff. accommodation excellent and food v. good. Leisure pool excellent. What more do you want for a break. Cotswold Hills Golf club 10 mins down the road and an excellent Golf course.

Room Tip: We've always been in 'south block' and had undisturbed nights. cannot comment on 'we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Ian R
Thanks for posting such a lovely review on your stay at The Chase and we hope to see you over the summer months for another golfing break!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This last weekend was probably our sixth stay at the Cheltenham chase hotel and it is always the same .On your arrival there is friendly staff at the reception desk, a lovely clean room awaits you.
Good wi fi coverage, lovely bath and shower.
Booked a table as we had friends come to stay overnight, table for four ready bang on time and our meals were superb with great service.
The choice of food for breakfast is amazing and if you want something not on the menu ie poached eggs they will cook them for you no fuss. Departure is a no hassle experience .
Why have we been six times ? because its great value for money and you know it will always be a great stay with friendly surroundings ,handy for the Cotswolds /cheltenham and gloucester and only 40 minutes away from where we live, always a bargain.

Room Tip: Although the front facing rooms look at the main road and car park there is no road noise, but the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crasher1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear crasher1361
Thank you for your review, and wow, six stays?! That's great to hear and I hope you'll be back for many more. We actually had one of our business guests clock up their 300th stay this week!
It's great to hear that you appreciate our location. We are very fortunate as our location is popular for both our business and leisure guests, being very close to the M5, equidistant between Cheltenham and Gloucester and within easy reach of all the popular and very beautiful areas of the Cotswolds.
We hope to see you again soon.
Thanks once again.
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We went for a charity weekend ... however, personally felt that food for the evening functions could have been better and was certainly limited (actually quite gastronomically poor) for vegetarians. Looking at previous posts, the hotel and chef have some work to do in the latter area.

I will also echo the sentiments about the bar prices. A draught real ale (which was pretty good) was not to badly priced (well we live near London). However, £6 for a single vodka and mixer of diet coke, is over the top.

On the positives, the staff were very helpful. Breakfast buffet was excellent and plentiful, even at the time when the breakfast serving time was closing. Very nice hotel in a good location. Rooms and amenities where excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HitchinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear HitchinTiger
Thank you very much for your constructive comments regarding your stay at The Chase. We constantly evaluate our service and product standards and customer feedback is a very important tool in this process.
We take on board your comments regarding the function food and the price of our drinks. Drinks prices are set centrally and are in line with similar hotels in our area however we will bear this in mind for the future.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts at the Hotel and I will pass your feedback on to the team on breakfast.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The room was spacious clean comfortable with everything you need to make for a lovely stay, the bed was very cosy and the linen was clean and smelt nice, the bathroom again was spacious with nice clean white towels, the shower was impressive hot water that didnt run cold !! The food at breakfast was of a high quality displayed nicely, we an excellent choice of hot cold food, The meal we had both evenings again was of high standard the service was brilliant all staff were helpful and polite, checking that all was well with you.

Room Tip: We stayed in 219 was quite with a nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear ChristineLincoln
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review regarding your stay with us. Come back for another weekend treat again soon!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed in their superior rooms which are lovely nice and bright and colourful. Every where is clean. You also receive a small bottle of wine, bottle of beer and water. The nice touch of carton of milk in the fridge also. Together with a jar of nuts of chocolate raisins.

The bedding is superb also.

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month and will have no hesitation in returning. However, pity not all of the Q Brand is alike this hotel.

Staff are lovely also and very friendly.

I have used this hotel for both business and pleasure and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Book a superior room worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Aggett
Thank you so much for such a great review of your stay at The Chase. We really value all of our feedback, but it is so nice to be able to pass on such positive comments to the team.
It's great to hear that you view us as such a flexible hotel, being suitable for both your business and leisure stays and we hope to see you again very soon.
Thanks again.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a very standard example from the group's high standards in terms of quality of room, overall cleanliness, efficiency and polite, well informed staff.

Dinner was slightly disappointing on the starter but the main and dessert were fairly well executed and good value for money from a 4* hotel.

Special mention to Katrina, our waitress, who was top class, a real asset to the team.

Overall very good and would definitely consider staying again should I be in the area!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank edible-monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear edible-monkey
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. Although we are really pleased that you would rate us as overall very good we will certainly be aiming higher than typical and standard for your next stay with us! We are working very hard on our menus and food standards and customer feedback forms such an imporant part of this process so thank you for your valuable feedback.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
698 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
764 reviews
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham
2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range: £94 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing