We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol - UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Standard hotel stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for one night for business. No complaints, average stay but to be fair didn't spend much time there. Plenty of parking, check in and out efficient and friendly. Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast fare standard, staff were friendly. Didn't use any facilities (gym, etc) so can't comment. Would stay here again as location good. Nothing outstanding but no complaints either.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear SmartieBristol
Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on your stay with us. I hope that you'll get the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and use more of our facilities. I'm sure that if you do you'll be able to rate us far higher!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    650
    216
    77
    36
See reviews for
246
896
40
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Before we went we phoned the hotel many times to book our treatments, evening dinner times and lots of questions relating to our stay and the staff were so friendly and helpful on every occasion.
Arrived on Sunday morning and was greeted by a young lady called Tuesday (who was born on a Sunday) straight away we felt at home and knew it was going to be a good stay,
Everything from the staff, food, spa, gym, treatments, rooms and beds were second to none. We ran out of tea bags and milk in our rooms and was swiftly sorted out with more.
This was my second visit my first being nearly four years ago, it was even better than I remembered,
For a special occasion, a quick night / weekend away, Spa break or meeting they seem to cater for everything and everyone. I have never stayed anywhere more friendly and it was home to home except we did not have to do anything total relaxation. Thank you Cheltenham Chase love from Debby, Elaine, Lulu and Maria the rather load ladies. x One fault only think the kitchen could do with a new dish washer or better cleaning tablets, some of the crockery not so nice.

Room Tip: Our rooms were lovely..............did not get to see inside any others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Debby, Elaine, Lulu and Maria,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your stay and I am so pleased that you all had such an enjoyable time away at The Cheltenham Chase.
We share all of our feedback with the team here and it's great for them to hear that their friendliness and enthusiasm does not go unnoticed, so thanks for giving them a special mention.
I have passed your comment regarding the cleanliness of the crockery on to our Kitchen team to investigate and take action where necessary, thanks for highlighting this and our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
We hope you will come back again soon!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was rated as a 4 star and it did offer swimming pool / Jacuzzi / sauna & steam room facilities. The bedrooms were modern and quite nice - including fridge and kettle. There was also a hairdryer............although it was kept in a drawer which could not be closed whilst using it and in order for it to work a button had to held in - very annoying! The television was out of sync so that when the mouths moved the voices came about 15 seconds later - this was reported to reception but nothing was done to repair this fault before we left.
We ate in the lounge the first evening - you had to queue up at the bar to order and had to wait quite a while as there was only a couple of members of staff working. The food was ok but nothing to write home about. The selection of desserts was very poor and un-inspiring.
The breakfasts were very good and there was an excellent selection to chose from both hot and cold.
The selection of meals in the main restaurant were unappealing and we decided to eat elsewhere the second evening.
The staff were reasonably helpful within the dining room.
The hotel does not have any local shops / garage closeby and apart from residential housing there only seemed to be Toby restaurant within easy distance.

Room Tip: The odd numbers seemed to be on the rear of hotel overlooking the grounds. Avoid Room 128 as the tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear 35Penguin
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you have rated your experience as disappointing and I can assure you that we certainly do act upon our guest feedback where possible, so your comments are very valuable to us.
The hairdryer in your room is an industry standard dryer which normally (as a safety measure) does need the button to be kept pressed down but I can appreciate that this is not ideal. I am sorry to hear that your TV sound was out of synch with the picture and we will look into this. We are also taking delivery of new TV's for all our bedrooms in May which will give our guests a great choice of freeview channels.
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the food choices during your stay and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies. We are launching new menus over the next few weeks and therefore welcome any feedback on this area.
There is a garage just a few hundred feet away from the Hotel, just past the Toby Carvery (turn left out of the Hotel entrance and it's off the roundabout ahead). There are also local shops within a mile of the Hotel. I am sorry that you were not made aware of this and for future reference our Reception team are able to give local information.
Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope that you might consider returning to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed two nights on a spa break package with my husband and our friends - another couple. We arrived at the hotel at around midday and was hopeing to drop our luggage off while we explored Cheltenham. We were delighted to be informed by a very pleasant and professional looking lady on reception that our rooms were ready. We headed to our rooms and were very happy to find that they were spacious, clean, modern and well equipped. We then headed to the spa to confirm our treatment times for the next day and headed into Cheltenham town centre, which is a lovely place to shop.

Our spa package included bed, breakfast, lunch on one day and evening meal both nights. We eat in the restaurant on the first night. The menu was a bit limited but we ordered 3 courses each. The mushroom soup was Luke warm and was supposed to be served with a crusty roll but it did not arrive until about 10 mins after receiving the soup, the main courses were ok but risotto was awful, the desserts were lovely. Service was slow but just about acceptable.

No complaints about breakfast, plenty of choice and tasty. Lunch was good too. We enjoyed the day in the spa, the staff were very friendly and the wet facilities were very good. Our treatments were wonderful but there is one thing that needs addressing - the relax lounge. It is a very small room with four loungers and two chairs. Apart from four loungers in the pool area this is the only area in which you can relax, which is totally inadequate for the amount of people who want to use it.

We booked a table for 7.30pm for our evening meal and arrived at the restaurant a little ahead of that time and was shown straight to our table. We placed our order and waited one and a quarter hours for our starter to arrive. We complained to our waitress who apologised and said that there was a large function at the hotel which was causing a delay in the kitchen, we expressed our dissatisfaction and was told that our complaint would be passed on to the manager. We waited around 45 mins for our main course to arrive and the burgers were burnt and hard. Another complaint which was also being reported to the manager. From The time we sat down to the time we received our desserts (which were lovely) two and three quarter hours had passed, two complaints which were supposedly sent to the restaurant manager but no visit from the manager at all. There is obviously a managment problem in the restaurant.

It's a real shame about the restaurant because otherwise we all had a lovely weekend, but if I was to return I would not buy a package which included an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear mikcol
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel.
It certainly sounds like you enjoyed your stay overall which is great to hear. I hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for the delays experienced in the restaurant. We are working hard on our food standards and food service at present and we will be introducing a new menu in the next few weeks so guest comments such as yours is invaluable to us.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A really nice and tidy hotel with four stars. The reception area is warm and welcomed. The staff friedly und helpful all the time. I was on my way to the hotel and booked a table in the restaurant at short notice and it wasn't a problem. Even after I have asked to shuffle me forward due to earler arriving it wasn't a matter.

The restaurant is warm and friendly too and we enjoyed our dinner (it was part of a special offer and we can definitively recommend such a offer). Only one minor issue was during our order we received the information that we couldn't get our wished dish due to no longer available. The menu list is quite tight too, so we had the problem to find something else. I did the wrong choice but it was my mistake. Another minor point is that we were in the mood to order some wine but after getting the wine list it took about 20 minutes the waitress to ask, so we decided to stick to the Aperitifes and we got a long drink later at the bar.

The breakfast was served as buffet in the restaurant and we can't complain anything. Tea, coffee, toast, beans, fruits (a full english breakfast plus).

The room was tidy, nice and we had space enough. Everything was fine apart from two minor things. Fistly and this is the biggest one the matress was a bit old and on my side I felt like lying in a well. I was able to sleep therefore a minor issue. Secondly the bathroom is very small, this not really a problem but there was no heater inside and it was very cold on the tiles, especially for my wife :-)

But in the end a really nice hotel with a friendly staff and we can definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was really nice and appropriate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torstensuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear torstensuess
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a constructive review regarding your stay with us. We welcome all of our customer feedback and certainly use it to maintain and improve our standards for future and returning guests.
It was great to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and we will certainly take on board your comments regarding the service of wine and the comfort of your mattress so thank you for bring these matters to my attention.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs. UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I suspect this hotel is not accustomed to catering for many people during the week. Last night we ordered Duck.... No duck, we ordered pizza.... No pizza. Tonight we asked first, anything off the menu... No sir please just order. There were six of us, two ordered Duck guess what.... No Duck. Soup without bread roll , the lovely blond waitresses are not at fault they just bring the bad news with a resigned smile. This morning the porridge took 20 mins and the poached egg was hard, looking forward to breakfast in the morning.
Btw the rooms are ok and the staff are friendly. Restaurant management probably needs a review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Longing-for-peace
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review, and I am pleased that you appreciated our rooms and the friendliness of the team here.
We were sorry to read your comments regarding breakfast service and we will utilise your feedback in re-training our team in the restaurant.
I hope that you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Arrived spa 5 mins after last admission due to delay at check-in (no-one at desk) even though only wanted few mins relax in hot-tub told closing pool 40 mins before published time. Next morning no self-service hot food, staff confusion, eventually ordered cooked breakfast arrived 30 mins later: these experiences disrupted whole purpose of being there: to relax & enjoy time out.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmf56trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear dmf56trips
Thank you for posting a review. I have discussed your comments with the Leisure Manager and his records show that you arrived at the pool at 7.30pm (last admission is 7.15pm) and as the club closes at 8pm we normally close the pool and poolside side facilities at around 7.50pm in order to allow people to change and leave by 8pm. I am sorry that you were not able to take advantage of this facility.
I am also sorry to hear that your breakfast took so long to prepare. On the morning in question we had a smaller number of guests in house and therefore the restaurant and kitchen took the decision to operate a 'breakfast cooked to order system' to prevent the food spoiling under the hot lamps. However this did cause a delay and we have learnt from this experience for future occasions. I hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
735 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#11 of 23 in Cheltenham
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
816 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,311 reviews
19.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing