We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We visited the Cheltenham Chase hotel over the bank holiday weekend. A large wedding on the saturday cause us to take 3 hours for dinner from 7:30 until 10:30 only 2 staff on.Lots of complains from other people
Next day came back tothe room at 5PM not made up, Bar area glasses not cleared, could be a one off it is a nice hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Malcolm B
Thank you for your review, but I was sorry to read of the issues you experienced. We did have a wedding taking place in the Hotel at the time of your stay however this really shouldn't have affected the service you received in our restaurant and bar and I hope that you will accept my apologies. I am also sorry to hear that your room was not serviced in a timely fashion and I will raise this with our Housekeeping team.
I hope that you would not be deterred from returning in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,803)
There are newer reviews for The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,803 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a very convenient base for the Cotswolds. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the reception staff are good. There are some good dinner, bed-and-breakfast deals to be had. We've stayed before and will stay again.
Unfortunately, the restaurant is no great shakes, and I wouldn't spend real money to eat here. At dinner, they murdered my scallops, and the spinach soufflé was really non-artfully presented. The chips were too lightly cooked. Breakfast was worse. They were short-staffed; food was running out, and we went through the whole meal without being offered tea or coffee. And - biggest crime- the bacon was that strange unpleasant cut that I think is only found in economy catering packs, and served wet, flabby and grey. So the catering, like the bacon, needs to be crisped up a little.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BiggerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear BiggerJ
Thanks for your feedback and it's good to hear that you are a regular guest. As mentioned in my reply to a previous review we have recently recruited a new Head Chef and Restaurant and Bars area and we are focussing on these areas of the hotel in order to ensure our standards are as they should be. Feedback from our guests only assists us in this process and I am therefore very grateful for you taking the time to post a review.
We hope to see you back at the Hotel again very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday for a relaxing break in the Cotswolds. Neither of us had been before so were really looking forward to it.

This hotel doesn't disappoint. From the moment you pull into the complex from the main road you are hit with the class. It looks lovely with ample parking.

The decor inside is great, the restaurant is spotless and a nice little bar area for watching the football ;)

Prices weren't too bad for drinks in the bar and the food was of a high standard, again not too bad on prices.

Didn't room service menu isn't amazing and they charge you extra just for bringing it to your room on top of the overpriced food which is probably the only thing we didn't like about the hotel to be honest.

The staff are very friendly and helped us pick a walk to suit us as there are a few which start close to the hotel. I'm my really one for walks but I did enjoy it a lot in the great weather.

The hotel also let's guests use their spa area which was nice. They have an average size pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.

We really enjoyed ourselves and will definitely be returning.

What I would say is there isn't too much else around the hotel if you're looking for things to do. There's a subway, petrol station and a Toby Carvery within walking distance but that's about it. Would recommend going into Gloucester for the day like we did which was fun.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Raj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Raj M
Thanks for such great feedback and many Happy Returns to your girlfriend!
Next time you stay perhaps you could try visiting Cheltenham in addition to Gloucester - they both hold very different attraction for visitors and Cheltenham is most definitely a town worth exploring.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was our second visit to The Cheltenham Chase having visited last year. The hotel is conveniently situated for walking The Cotswold Way, and the bus stop directly outside the hotel for visiting Cheltenham and Gloucester - Leave the car in the large hotel car park.
We enjoyed our stay very much. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Great breakfast. Room for improvement at dinner generally but I believe management are aware of the issues.
We look forward to our next visit to The Cheltenham Chase and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Views over countryside at rear of hotel
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappytravellersSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear happytravellers57
Thanks for your lovely feedback and I hope that you managed to catch some sunshine on the Cotswold Way! We have just recruited a new Head Chef and Restaurant & Bar Manager and are working constantly to maintain our standards in this area, so I hope that you will return soon over the coming months.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I stayed this weekend past as I was attending an event at Castle Combe circuit. Yes, there are hotels nearer but we've used QHotels before and have not been disappointed.

This stay was no exception. Really friendly staff, great breakfast selection and well appointed clean, comfortable room with an interconnecting room for the little ones.

A great place to stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny5ive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Johnny5ive,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I do hope that you enjoyed your track day at Castle Coombe. We are also a short distance to the famous Prescott Hill Climb in Gloucestershire should your club participate in that form of racing too? You must let me know what you race so we can arrange a dedicated parking space for your next stay.
yours sicnerely,
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I organised a family get together here for the third time in 4 years. 24 people, from 1 to 93. The hotel seems very well maintained, the rooms are quite big and everyone was very happy to be back at the same venue. The kids loved the big indoor pool in the afternoon and the evening meal was a great success again. The only issue at all was that their Saturday menu lacked any lamb or pork mains (the manager promised to fix that soonest). We all had a great time and the staff were excellent, as usual. In the morning breakfast was very good, with dishes getting topped up regularly. Then the reception area was pleasant as we gathered and left. Even the bill, against three separate bookings, was quick and accurate. So it's not a cheap venue (eg wine stats at £19.50 a bottle) but it's very well run.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Eric_P_B
May I thank you for your kind feedback. We are all delighted that several generations of your family were all able to enjoy a releaxing weekend here at the Cheltenham Chase, and look forward to the 4th family re-union here for 2-94 year olds!
Best Wishes
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for six nights over a two week period while working in the area. Staff were pleasant and polite. The only down side was each night when we ordered our meals in the bar ,even thou they were ordered at the same time there could be anything from a five to fifteen gap between arrival of meals. This made the other person very uncomfortable, one of us would have finished their meal when the other meal would then turn up. Most hotels we have stayed in if the meals were ordered at the same time they arrived together.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graders2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTurnbull, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Graders2014
We are delighted that you have enjoyed staying here whilst on business and look forward to continuing to welcome you to the Cheltenham Chase for the foreseeable future. Thank you for the constructive comment regarding bar food timing - to avoid guests having to split one bill after dinner we have obviously been putting the individual orders through each room separately and need to reveiw that for the sake of your dining companions.
Yours sicnerely
Keith Turnbulls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#8 of 23 in Cheltenham
618 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
840 reviews
19.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,593 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range: £86 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing