We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely old hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hatton Court Hotel
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely old hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I've stayed here on several occasions and had a variety of rooms. The rooms in the old house all have a different character but remain comfortable and very clean. The rooms in the new wing and more luxurious, with fridges and jacuzzi baths and I always feel like I'm being treated when I am offered one of those. The food on the evening restaurant menu is expensive but it's like eating in one of those places with a rosette. Service is impeccable. Breakfast is worth lingering over, although I invariably too have the time to do so. I'd stay there for leisure too if I had an opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prestongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    409
    180
    106
    85
See reviews for
138
741
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed for two nights for my Birthday - found a rate on-line but wanted to check that dogs were welcome so phoned direct. Not only were dogs welcome but the charming receptionist offered to match the on-line rate.
Arrived to find we'd been upgraded to a lovely room overlooking the vale of Gloucester and Robinswood Hill, complete with jacuzzi bath.
Next surprise was a champagne high tea served in the Gazebo with great views overlooking the valley and the River Severn. It was a prezzy from my sister, delicious.
We have a bouncy Lab but there was never a feeling of being tolerated rather Barnaby was as welcome as we were.
The breakfast was freshly cooked to order rather than the congealed buffet version you get at many hotels with more stars and the service was charming.
All in all a good value hotel with many little extras you'd normally expect in a much higher rated establishment.
One very minor gripe - the bar service was a bit slow - not a huge issue.
Thanks for making my Birthday relaxed, happy and memorable

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Room is lovely, great features and very clean. Bath is huge but bed could be bigger! Breakfast was perfectly cooked though there was a little bit of a delay. Great views from room and around the hotel. Would definitely come here again!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimjan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

A one night stay on a Friday evening in a double room on bb, we added on the a la carte dinner in the Tara restaurant.
Our room was on the first floor and had good views , it was an average size , a comfortable bed , and a lovely bathroom with a whirlpool bath and overhead shower, the room was very clean .
The hotel was very busy , there was a wedding due to take place the day after but the reception was welcoming and the wedding did not affect our stay.
The meal in the restaurant was ok , but we both thought it was overpriced nad the servings were not huge but the quality , presentation and the ambience of the restaurant was really nice with a mixture of ages . May I add the service was first class. Breakfast was perfect and check out was very smooth and again helpful staff.
I would stay here again , it was handy for visiting Gloucester and also on the edge of the Cotswolds.
I also thought the wedding package they advertise looked very competitive .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline_Thorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Had a recent over night stay. Staff very friendly and attentive. Our room was in the annexe which was clean and well presented with a large en-suite bathroom. Comfortable bed. Only food we had was breakfast. Great to see an extensive selection of cereals, breads and fruits should you decide not to go for a full English.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_B999_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

On arrival there was a wedding in progress so a little disconcerting, hotel look untidy and needed to be cleaned but difficult when a large function is taking place.Receptionist a little curt at first maybe due to pressure i don't know, she was very pleasant the next day. Our room was extremely hot even with the windows open all night due to a main central heating pipe down wall. The bath water ran so slowly that we gave up as the water would be cold by the time it filled the whirlpool bath. The stains on the carpet were very off putting in junior suite No 6 and feel this should have been dealt with. The staff were very pleasant and efficient and our secound night was extemely relaxing and the food was excellent. however we would not stay again if a wedding was taking place. The Saturday night was noisy, slamming doors, shouting , laughing etc until 3.30am in the morning. The hotel dinning room is comfortable and relaxing, serving good food. The car parking on arrival was a nightmare, absolutely full. A little more thought should be given to arriving hotel guests and there need to park.There was no fridge, no balcony as stated on your own Hatton Court site for both junior suite's and after enquiring at reception felt disappointed on being told that these were never in junior suite no 6. We did not get what was advertised especially as the picture of the suite we had was the one you advertise on your site.Such a pity this hotel we feel could really excel with improvements.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room especially.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drekkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed at the Hatton Court Hotel with friends. The staff were freindly the rooms were great and it was a short drive to the centre of Gloucester and Stow was 40 minutes away.
We had a drink in the bar before being shown to our table where we were looked after by the staff. The food was well presented and very tasty.
Breakfast had a something for everyone and was also served by friendly staff.
This hotel a great value for the money and we are planning to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondegeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
13.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing