We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Jem”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely evening here on Friday . Fabulous helpful receptionist . Was great value , nicely decorated and a jacuzzi bath . Breakfast was fabulous all locally sourced and freshly cooked to order . Nice views of the countryside all around . We slept like a log . Beds perfect and a truely enjoyable stay well done !

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janesmithmiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

I attended at this Hotel, for two nights, either side of a Registrar Officiated Family Wedding. It is an impressive main building, with an equally impressive Annexe, set upon a hillside, but, I felt that the approach to the Front Door, from a country lane, along a driveway, was marred by the need to negotiate the large car-park, particularly on foot. The checking in process was efficient, and we were booked into a first floor room in the Annexe. The double room was clean, attractively decorated and furnished, and a good size. The bed, in this room, was very comfortable, and we enjoyed a good sleep on both nights. The view out over the countryside was pleasing, but, looking down, the view of half a dozen alloy ladders, and beer barrels, in a yard, did detract. Be aware that the Annexe has an outside access staircase, and, inside, does not have a lift. There were very young children staying in here, and their parents did not find it easy to get in or out, when also carrying buggys, bags etc. There was a period of time, during the Saturday morning, when both our shower and basin was unable to produce hot water. To our knowledge, several other guests in our party were also inconvenienced. A room-maid did apologise, and stated that this was not uncommon when the Hotel had a large
number of guests in residence. Friends, staying in the main building, had the same problem on the Sunday; they had paid for a room with a jacuzzi bath, but, were unable to fill it with hot water!
The room for the Wedding Ceremony was very attractively decorated and laid-out. The authorised capacity is, I believe, for 70 people. We were blessed with warm, sunny weather, and, after the Ceremony, the terrace and lawn area outside, was enjoyed by mingling guests, while the official photographer went about his task. The Wedding Breakfast was taken in a large marquee, permanently erected, with easy access, just a little down the slope below the terrace. Halfway into the meal, the quality of the marquee's construction was severely tested, when there was a tropical style downpour, accompanied by thunder and lightning! But, we all stayed warm and dry. The buffet style meal was most enjoyable. The staff were, throughout, very attentive and pleasant. Lucy, a Trainee Operations manager, I believe, was very helpful and supportive.
Our stay here was pleasant and enjoyable. Apart from the items mentioned above, there a few little 'gripes' which I feel are worth bringing up. When the Wedding was first booked, just over a year before the event, certain price details were quoted and agreed, which were later changed and disputed. This was not entirely resolved satisfactorily. We were only permitted to book 10 rooms, as part of the Wedding Package. After these had been allocated, guests could book a room, but, at a higher rate. As a result, there were about 30 guests, who opted to reside, for one or two nights, in hotels spread around Gloucester and area. Why the limit? All of these guests could have been accommodated in Hatton Court, at least boosting their bar takings! When booking a room for my Daughter, and her Family (Husband & 9 month old daughter), a cot was requested, in three 'phone conversations with the hotel. But, upon arrival, there was a bed provided, instead of a cot. When this was pointed out, the Receptionist replied to the effect that, she had a friend whose very young child was happy in a bed. This response was not appreciated. A cot was provided. On the Sunday morning, a room separate to the Dining Room, had been booked for the specific Breakfast use of resident Wedding Guests. The food was fine, but it's provision to the Buffet table was a little slow at times. One guest, who attempted to go to the regular Dining Room, was 'actively discouraged' by a Staff member, but, because of the food situation, she, and several other guests, moved across the corridor. A female, suited, staff member, perhaps put out that she was having to be responsible for two rooms, reminded me of a School Ma'am, by her manner in moving around the room, carrying the 'Class Register', sharply asking guests for room numbers.
Overall, I found Hatton Court to be a satisfactory venue for both a Wedding function, and, a weekend stay. The countryside is very attractive, in any weather, and the Hotel is convenient for both tourist attractions and commercial areas, such as Gloucester Quays.

Room Tip: If there are any mobility issues, then a room in the Main building is a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed here for a week in July, having booked solely on the basis of reports on trip advisor. Really good, big comfortable well appointed room with all facilities. The restaurant was very good, and we ate there on several occasions. Consistently good food, good attentive service with out being intrusive. Staff were all courteous and helpful, from booking a table to getting a couple of extra hangers for my shirts. Good base for Cheltenham, Tewksbury, Berkeley Castle, Snows Hill Manor etc. Plenty of car parking. Rooms we had were in the new part of the hotel. I would certainly return. Great base for visiting the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night mid week break. The room had fab views and a good feel of old worl charm. However the top of the four poster bed was dusty and the carpet needed a good clean. The staff in the bar and on reception were exceptional, we ate in the bar in the evening my husband had the burger which was great and the chips on the fish and chips were beautiful. Breakfast really needs improvement though. The food was good quality and nice selection however the toast was cold and our hot breakfast took an age to come. When we requested more toast it took 20 minutes and when it eventually came out it was freezing.
This hotel is lovely with great potential but needs some tlc.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a mid week break with jacuzzi bath. The room was lovely and the bed was huge. Champagne on arrival which was lovely. Meals were small but filling after 3/5 courses. Staff friendly and barman was brilliant. Def stay again. Thank you x

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a lazy sunday offer. We arrived to have a great sunday lunch, homemade yorkshires, nice beef and it was very busy! But the staff were very friendly and professiona. We then had an allowance towards our evening meal in the hotel restaurant, it you like formal restaurants, you will love this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterlady84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place. My boyfriend booked a night away in this beautiful hotel. We had a superior room in the East wing. Nicely decorated, big comfy bed with jacuzzi bath. We were told check in was not till 3 but arrived early to find our room was ready and were checked in efficiently. We had pre booked our evening meal time and enjoyed a few drinks in the bar, which had excellent service. Evening meal was outstanding and so was the service. Breakfast was also in the Tara restaurant with a large selection. At both meals we did not feel like were sitting on top of other guests. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would return. Thank you for such an enjoyable break

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Deanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your kind post. I am delighted to read that you had such a good time, it is great when my teams hard work and effort gets recognised.
I look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Regards
Simon Hanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
854 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,646 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
696 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing