We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deteriorating quality and value for money”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Since my wife and I stayed here 12 months ago there was a noticeable deterioration in things. We booked the bed, breakfast & evening meal deal. The room we were given No10 was looking shabby with ripped wallpaper, missing light fittings and inadequate heating. To be fair the very helpful girl on reception did offer us an alternative room, but as we had so much baggage with us, we did not want to pack and unpack again. A heater was sent to the room to increase the warmth.
The evening meal was delicious but the size of the helpings was noticeably much smaller... this was repeated at breakfast time where scrambled egg on toast was just one half of a bap ! The staff were all very friendly and efficient but the Hotel felt in need of a face lift and good clean. the bar areas and bedroom we encountered looked and felt shabby. We love the hotel situation but it will make us think twice before using again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear James D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you were a return visitor, it is a shame that you did not write a positve review from your first stay.
Since your last stay the hotel has spent £500,000 on a rolling refurbishment program, unfortunately there are a few rooms that are not yet completed, thse will be completed in the coming months. I am surprised to read your comments on our bar and lounges as they have been refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had to spend a night near Gloucester and could not have chosen a better hotel. If you are visiting the Cotswolds or Gloucester/Cheltenham then give this hotel a try. The room was very good - the only down side was the noise from some unruly (probably drunken) guests late at night who decided to have a heated conversation in the corridor outside of our room. Other than that, room service and food was excellent and the breakfast was very good as well

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 489Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just returned from the 2 night Christmas break. We paid extra for a junior suite (quite a lot extra actually). The service from all of the staff was first rate; very attentive and very helpful at all times and all parts of the hotel so that is very good. The food (breakfast and the other meals) was also very good and served good and hot; just as it should be. What was not so good was the state of the junior suite we stayed in (room 7); the room is now very tatty, especially the curtains which were frayed. Things are not a lot better in the bathroom; no shelving for your own stuff and a over bath shower with very little power (although as there is no shower screen perhaps this is as well). As I understand it some of the lesser rooms have recently been refurbished so may not reflect this comment but it remains very disappointing that the hotel management have let their premium rooms fall so badly below a reasonable standard. I will add the we still very much enjoyed our Christmas break but feel a bit cheated by paying a significant excess for a very tatty room.

Room Tip: Just avoid the more expensive rooms (until they get around to refurbishing them).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engineer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Engineer42,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you had a many good aspects to your stay. Unfortunately our suite was not to your liking, as you will have noticed we have invested heavily in the product over the last 2 years and that will continue in 2014, with Room 7 being a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved our mini-break at Hatton Court last weekend to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. Room was great quality and the 5 course taster menu and glass of champagne was delicious and unusual. Only slight downside was that once you've got your finery on and ready to head to the bar and restaurant - you then have to go outside, down some fairly steep stairs and cross a small courtyard, Really could do with a cleverly designed glass and wrought iron canopy so that you're not drenched and blown about (as we were).

Room Tip: The superior rooms are good quality and I especially liked the refreshments draw in the desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hatton Court hosted our 2013 Christmas Package and, from start to finish, the service was first class. The all-inclusive package that the hotel offered was fantastic and very much appreciated by all 78 guests who made up our party.
The rooms at Hatton Court were wonderful (especially the whirlpool bath...very nice indeed!) and we all left very satisfied. Would highly recommend Hatton Court to all

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stapleford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on business and at the very start I was made to feel extremely welcome by the receptionist Charlotte who was friendly and very helpful, as others have stated I was upgraded to a superior room with Jacuzzi bath (very Nice). The Tara restaurant was very nice and dinner was of the highest standard and quality..as was the breakfast with a fantastic choice, both hot and cold with all the hot food prepared fresh. I have seen comments on here that are not that positive....let me tell you if these people think this hotel is anything other than fantastic then they must never stay in hotels very often!! The customer service I encountered for the whole 5 days was nothing short of superb. I will most definitely be returning for a leisure break in the very near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demetrios C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you took the time in a very busy period to write about your experiences.
It makes me very happy and proud when my team get praised for their hard work. Hopefully we will see you back at Hatton Court in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I booked in for one night last Friday - not with any party or function, but as an overnight stay for Cheltenham races.

When I checked in, I was asked by reception whether I was with a function/party - and said no.

My sleep was subsequently disturbed up to 3.30am by noise from the function/party and the aftermath ....

When checking out, the same receptionist then asked 'how was your stay?'

When I told her the truth, she said that, if I had said I wasn't with the party/function, I would have had a room in away from the main hotel block.

Simply unbelievable!!

Safe to say, I will not be returning.

Room Tip: suggest you write down, maybe in CAPITAL letters, that you would like a quiet room ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redbeer560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanna79, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Redbeer560,Thank you for your review, as always I would have preferred to have discussed this face to face or by phone. My reception manager spoke with you on both occassions and she explains that she was extremely apologetic to you on check out. In December our hotel is tahnkfully very busy with a variety of clientele, all here to have a good time. We do try our best to ensure that relevant rooms are allocated dependent on demand and availability. I am sorry that we did not get it right for you. If you wish to discuss the issue further please contact me directly at the Hotel.
Kind Regards

Simon Hanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
854 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,644 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
695 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £74 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing