We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hatton Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ibis Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel(Little Witcombe)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Station Hotel(Gloucester)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,419)
Filter reviews
1,419 results
Traveller rating
506
475
212
121
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
475
212
121
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathtara restaurantsuperior roomafternoon teabottle of champagneeggs benedictmain buildingmini barsconeslovely hotelcream teaeast wingwedding venuecourse dinnerboth nightskippersset menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
846 - 851 of 1,419 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Since my wife and I stayed here 12 months ago there was a noticeable deterioration in things. We booked the bed, breakfast & evening meal deal. The room we were given No10 was looking shabby with ripped wallpaper, missing light fittings and inadequate heating. To be fair the very helpful girl on reception did offer us an alternative room, but as we had so much baggage with us, we did not want to pack and unpack again. A heater was sent to the room to increase the warmth.
The evening meal was delicious but the size of the helpings was noticeably much smaller... this was repeated at breakfast time where scrambled egg on toast was just one half of a bap ! The staff were all very friendly and efficient but the Hotel felt in need of a face lift and good clean. the bar areas and bedroom we encountered looked and felt shabby. We love the hotel situation but it will make us think twice before using again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear James D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you were a return visitor, it is a shame that you did not write a positve review from your first stay.
Since your last stay the hotel has spent £500,000 on a rolling refurbishment program, unfortunately there are a few rooms that are not yet completed, thse will be completed in the coming months. I am surprised to read your comments on our bar and lounges as they have been refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had to spend a night near Gloucester and could not have chosen a better hotel. If you are visiting the Cotswolds or Gloucester/Cheltenham then give this hotel a try. The room was very good - the only down side was the noise from some unruly (probably drunken) guests late at night who decided to have a heated conversation in the corridor outside of our room. Other than that, room service and food was excellent and the breakfast was very good as well

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 489Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just returned from the 2 night Christmas break. We paid extra for a junior suite (quite a lot extra actually). The service from all of the staff was first rate; very attentive and very helpful at all times and all parts of the hotel so that is very good. The food (breakfast and the other meals) was also very good and served good and hot; just as it should be. What was not so good was the state of the junior suite we stayed in (room 7); the room is now very tatty, especially the curtains which were frayed. Things are not a lot better in the bathroom; no shelving for your own stuff and a over bath shower with very little power (although as there is no shower screen perhaps this is as well). As I understand it some of the lesser rooms have recently been refurbished so may not reflect this comment but it remains very disappointing that the hotel management have let their premium rooms fall so badly below a reasonable standard. I will add the we still very much enjoyed our Christmas break but feel a bit cheated by paying a significant excess for a very tatty room.

Room Tip: Just avoid the more expensive rooms (until they get around to refurbishing them).
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Engineer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Engineer42,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read that you had a many good aspects to your stay. Unfortunately our suite was not to your liking, as you will have noticed we have invested heavily in the product over the last 2 years and that will continue in 2014, with Room 7 being a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Loved our mini-break at Hatton Court last weekend to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. Room was great quality and the 5 course taster menu and glass of champagne was delicious and unusual. Only slight downside was that once you've got your finery on and ready to head to the bar and restaurant - you then have to go outside, down some fairly steep stairs and cross a small courtyard, Really could do with a cleverly designed glass and wrought iron canopy so that you're not drenched and blown about (as we were).

Room Tip: The superior rooms are good quality and I especially liked the refreshments draw in the desk.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GappyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Hatton Court hosted our 2013 Christmas Package and, from start to finish, the service was first class. The all-inclusive package that the hotel offered was fantastic and very much appreciated by all 78 guests who made up our party.
The rooms at Hatton Court were wonderful (especially the whirlpool bath...very nice indeed!) and we all left very satisfied. Would highly recommend Hatton Court to all

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stapleford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews