We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new business second home”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Despite being an IHG Platinum Elite member with the Holiday Inn chain of hotels, I find myself drawn to this lovely hotel as a base whilst working on Business in the Gloucestershire hotel. The service at the fine dining restaurant is impeccable, where Lucy is always cheerful. The standard of the food is excellent and the menu changes daily.
There is an annexe to the old house with modern design bedrooms, some with large corner whirlpool in which you could recreate the battle of Trafalgar! The décor in these rooms are modern and all the ones I have been in have large flat screen TVs. There are panoramic views stretching over the beautiful Gloucestershire from this historic house with great character.

That said, the staff are probably the best thing about this hotel. They are always friendly and attentive, understanding the needs of their regular guests. Special mention for Lottie who is a shiny star on reception.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are a little older than the ones in the annexe, however I have never sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked a 2 night New Year Break ( 30th & 31st Dec) for New Year & to celebrate my 60th birthday ...it was fantastic ! From the minute we arrived to the time we left we really enjoyed it all. The hotel is set in lovely surroundings and our package included an upgrade to a very comfortable executive room & a complimentary bottle of champagne. Lovely bar & lounge area with real fire & comfy leather couches.The New Year 5 course gourmet dinner was delicious , followed by fun on the casino tables & dancing to the disco ! Along the way we met lots of lovely people and as my birthday was on the 1st Jan really made it very special for me !! All the staff were friendly & attentive and should be greatly complimented for all the hard the work they put in to make this such a lovely experience for all the guests who stay there.
Breakfasts were excellent ...( especially the Bucks Fizz on New Years Day ! ) & the 3 course gourmet dinner on 1st Jan equally as good as the night before .
All in all a fab break ...and one we hope to repeat before too long

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The potholed drive doesn't give a good first impression; the view as you come around the corner is impressive. The main building is beautiful; the large accommodation block is not so lovely, and looms over the old house. My room in the 'block' had beams and a quaint Elizabethan style window; however, the bathroom was dirty. The restaurant was rather stiff and formal; the food delicious although minimalist. The hotel calls itself Hatton Court The Cotswolds: geologically this is probably technically correct, if only just - the city of Gloucester is spread out below, just on the other side of the M5.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcountrywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I went to the two day new year break in 2012 and then 2013. For £250 per person with a superb three course meal on 30th and five course meal on 31st amazing! The staff are extremely professional. We had a slight problem with no water for five mins the staff sorted this out straight away! Throughout our time everyone was friendly and helpful. The food was great, gourmet fine dining which for the price for two nights was great! Log fires and staff made you feel relaxed. Loved the breakfast so much fresh choice and cooked to order which is a great touch considering most places do buffet help yourself job. Really had a cracking time and made my end of xmas break a delight. My parents attended too and loved it! Another great year thank you to all the staff that worked so hard!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just returned from a short break on a Social Living (bargain) deal - 2 nights half board in a lovely room with great views over Gloucester. Loved the thoughtful touches in the room - mini bar and fridge, free bottled water, real coffee and a cafetiere and fresh (long life) milk. The room looked freshly decorated, comfy bed and a big bathroom with a HUGE bath! We had the 6 course taster menu on the 1st night - interesting selection of dishes and on the 2nd we had the 3 course chef's menu, our party of 6 all enjoyed their meals. Breakfast on both mornings was cooked to order with a cold buffet as well including smoked salmon and gammon. The staff were all cheerfully attentive creating a relaxed informal atmosphere. Well done Hatton Court we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallessexfarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Hatton Court.

The hotel is a quaint country hotel with wood burning fires to add to the atmosphere.

The rooms are good, breakfast is well managed. Evening meal is the problem.

Day 1 was a Friday, service was excellent, 4-5 waiting staff to cope with around 30-40 guests. The staff had plenty of time to provide the type of service that should be given.
Day 2 was a Saturday. We were shown to our table and given a menu, then waited, and waited and waited. No offer of bread / rolls was made until the waiter arrived after 20 minutes to take our order. They had run out of rolls and were baking more. Our starters arrived 15 minutes later, but the rolls were still baking. They did finally arrive in between starter and main course. The main course eventually arrived, another request for bread rolls was made but these never materialised. They were understaffed on this evening as the dining room was full but there only 3-4 waiters.

Apart from our poor experience of the second night, the food was excellent.

The hotel is well located for short week-end breaks, but they need to sort out their staffing levels.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panicos64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were there for a wedding in the summer, which was in the garden and had the rolling hills in the background.

We stayed for two nights in a double room which overlooked the garden, the view was lovely. Breakfast was included in our rate and it was fantastic – it included a buffet and a cooked breakfast made to order.

The hotel was at capacity the weekend we were there and we got to see inside a few of the rooms, as they had been booked by other guests of the wedding. The bedrooms vary greatly in size and standard. I believe Hatton Court is in the process of renovating and refurbishing the bedrooms, but unfortunately the room we were allocated was a bit tatty around the edges and I would say a little over priced for what it was. It was a very warm July weekend when we stayed and some of the radiators upstairs were stuck-on blasting out heat, when we asked the housekeeping staff about the issue, they informed us there was nothing they could do. The last point is about the bathrooms – the water pressure in our room was almost non-existent and this meant taking a shower was a little challenging.

It would be helpful if Hatton Court had a gallery of photos on the website, which features pictures from a number of the bedrooms (including bathrooms), so that guests have a good understanding of what to expect. A function on the website to be able to book certain rooms would also add a lot of value. During the refurbishment period, the hotel could be more up front with guests and offer a lower rate on the rooms that are yet to be renovated.

The only other point I would like to make is that the bar staff seemed overrun and a little underprepared for the number of guests in the hotel. Maybe we were a thirsty bunch and took them by surprise! Overall though, the staff at the hotel (including those that worked through the day of the wedding) were fantastic and really helpful.

In summary, the hotel is lovely, the bar and lounge area are beautifully decorated and it is a great location for a wedding. With a few minor details ironed out, this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
854 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,645 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
696 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £74 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing