We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding nightmare”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Awfully tired and dirty hotel found previous guests underwear in my room. Shower didn't work very dusty. Food terrible, saw so many of the cooked breakfasts being sent back. To top it off the manager Simon Hanna is in denial

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Mrs Butler, As you promised you have indeed taken your biased and slanderous views to a public forum. As I noted in my emails your claims were incorrect and your demand for a full refund was not valid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Amazing romantic break for musket and partner. We had a junior suite with huge jacuzzi bath :-)
Champagne on arrival and bath robes waiting on the four poster bed.
The food was amazing and we had it all in room service!! Breakfast was pre ordered to have in our room!! Lovely :-)
Hidden little gem we absolutely loved it :-) we will go back for sure!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank catherinePorstmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch great value two courses for 15 quid beautiful location, excellent cocktails, great professional staff and delicious lunch. I had goats cheese pannacotta with beet root relish and truffle oil totally delicious I've never had savoury pannacotta. Roast beef was perfectly cooked and we practically licked our plates. View stunning too.Cannot wait to go back will be a regular here for sure!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank orlaith_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I first visited the Hatton Court Hotel in February this year as I was looking for a wedding venue away from my home as I am a wedding venue decorator by trade based in wales and wanted something different that ticked all the right boxes for my wedding! and that's exactly what I found in the Hatton Court.
The wedding coordinator Rebecca was a dream to work with,nothing was to much trouble and Rebecca was happy to listen to my ideas and meet my requirements which in visiting some other hotels this was not the case.
The hotel also had a special rate for guests attending the wedding which was a great touch.
I arrived at the hotel on 31st October and was showed to my room which was lovely warm and cosy.
On the Friday around 80 of our family and friends arrived ready for our big day on the Saturday.
Breakfast and bar meals were absolutely lovely and all the staff were extremely nice and accommodating and couldn't do enough for myself and my guest.
Wedding day
More guest arrived and were checked into their rooms.
We had 110 guests at our wedding and I cannot thank Rebecca,Mark,Lucy and all the staff at the Hotel enough from start to finish everything was more than perfect. The ceremony was lovely the service and food in the reception was second to none totally amazing, and the evening buffet was also fab. What I also noticed was there was plenty of staff on hand and they were constantly checking if everything was ok.
Morning after the wedding again all our guest commented on how lovely the breakfast was and how friendly polite and accommodating all the staff were.
I would just like to say again I cannot thank Rebecca, Mark, Lucy and everyone at the Hotel enough for helping make my wedding totally perfect in every way!
Will definitely be returning for a weekend or function in the near future.
Totally Amazing wedding venue and hotel!
Very Happy Bride & Groom
Thank you Hatton Court Hotel xxx

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The surly gentleman who attended to our check-in and the cold traditional English breakfast were the only weak features of this hotel. The location is excellent. The other staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was delightful with all you needed for a relaxing stay. The dinner was average, lacking imagination but reasonably priced. Our room was in a section apart from the main hotel with many stairs to climb.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Howget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We ( 4 ) started at one of the groups other hotels and quite frankly it was not what we expected
probably because we knew and were expecting the standards at Hatton Court. BUT having stayed there before and it was only 18 miles away we explained our disappointment and asked if we could change our booking to stay at the Hatton Court which is one of our favourite hotels. True to form, nothing was too much trouble, and we drove to Hatton Court who had prepared two superior rooms for us and gave us the same terms as we had booked under this particular deal at "the other place" Except that we had to pay perhaps a little too much premium for the change to what was now clearly a totally different standard of hotel to others in the group. The food was really good especially the taster menu on the first night. Because of the change they did not realise, until we went down for a pre dinner drink that one of our party was a non meat eater, which can be difficult with taster menus, but even that difficulty was catered for without any issues . All drinks were reasonably prices and every member of staff very friendly and willing to help. We even joked with one about his muscles and tattoos or at least the girls did ! Well done Hatton Court you took what could have been a real disappointment into the realms of first class attentive service backed by superb accommodation and food ..

Room Tip: If you want luxury and service stay here. If you do not want to take your walking boots off and like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benno448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stayed saturday night on the "romantic package" deal, which includes a 3 course dinner, and breakfast the following morning, a bottle of champagne and a box of chocolates and rose petals in the room. we stayed in an executive room in the wing, which was a decent size, we found the bed very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a large bath, which was great as we both love having baths.the evening meal was nice, and the breakfast the following morning was also very nice. the hotel has good views sitting on top of a hill, though it would mean if you wanted to go anywhere you would have to drive or take a taxi.the hotel has an older feel to it as opposed to a modern hotel, and it would depend on your point of view as to whether you would like this or not. we don't live too far away so we would probably not stay here very often, but decided to take advantage of the offer and have a night away, and we did enjoy it and thought it was good value for what we had included

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
865 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
859 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
1,673 reviews
4.3 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £73 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing