We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Took advantage of a last minute one night offer to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had stayed at Hatton Court several years ago and were curious to see if it was just as good as last time. Still a nice hotel in beautiful surroundings but not the same. We had a very comfortable executive room but the fiittings (eg taps and door handles) all looked tired and worn. It also helps if the tea and coffee tray has a nearby socket! The plug in room air freshener was a bit overpowering. The restaurant setup has changed to a restaurant and a seperate brasserie. The restaurant turned out to be nouvelle cuisine - not my favourite - pretty and tasty but not altogether satisfying. The restaurant service was a bit slow. Breakfast was a shambles, with half the guests waiting for food or drinks. I had to send the "full English" back as it wasn't as ordered - got mixed up with a room service order. The sausages looked lovely but were inedible and like rubber truncheons. Good food murdered! Enjoyed the visit but not again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clutzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We booked a one night dinner bed and breakfast break with bottle of champagne for £160 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had emailed and phoned ahead to request a room with a pleasant view so was really disappointed to be given a room on the ground floor with view of a brick wall and a bay tree making the room really dark. We moved rooms across the corridor in the annexe to a view of the car park but at least it was bright. The room was a reasonable size with jacuzzi bathroom but more like a standard room in most hotels in terms of size and amenities. The decor and furniture in my opinion was quite ugly.

At dinner in the main restaurant we were told that the chefs menu was being revised so we were offered the table d'hote menu with the addition of an amuse bouche and a sorbet. The menu we were expecting was £40 a head but what we got was £25 with very few choices. My starter of mackerel pate was tiny however my monkfish main was a decent portion and delicious. Service was polite and attentive. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the cooked option was freshly prepared and excellent.

All in all we had a pleasant if a little disappointing stay but there are plenty of other hotels in the Cotswolds offering similar packages and getting it spot on.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunnyskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed an excellent-value, Sunday night stay in this lovely Cotswolds hotel. We had requested a quiet room with a good view and were not disappointed. In fact, we were upgraded to an exceptionally spacious room in a separate annexe. Excellent! The hotel is very close to the M5, but we were only aware of this when looking out the window from the bar.

We particularly enjoyed our breakfast, which was freshly cooked and served impeccably by our friendly waiter.

The only issue we would have with the hotel is its two-tiered restaurant system. If you go for the table d'hôte menu you eat in the traditional (and in our opinion much nicer restaurant), while if you go for à la carte, potentially spending more, you are put in the brasserie, which we felt lacked atmosphere and was more like a corridor leading to the formal restaurant. Having free bottled water with dinner and in the room was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetotravelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Being an important family birthday, we booked in for Afternoon Tea. The service was excellent, and the variety of food on offer was superb.

Plus, from our table, we had a wonderful view down over the Gloucestershire countryside.

A very memorable occasion for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: We were 'non resident'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank franc_o_fyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely location making for a peaceful stay. Breakfast choice good but portion size varied enormously from day to day ! Room warm and clean but the beams around the window were a serious health and safety hazard. Neither of us are particularly tall but had to duck down to walk around the bed, not what you would expect in a hotel of this standard. Maybe advice when booking would be a good idea so guests could ask for a room that didn't have beams!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the low beam hazard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here as a family a few times and I cannot fault this hotel at al! They catered for my two little ones needs no matter what they wanted they would get it for them, service and food was to the best standard, and the rooms we've stayed in PERFECT! we will be definitely back again this year!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrssb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wife and I took advantage of Living Social deal to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Hatton Court.

It was everything we could have hoped for and more, the staff are impeccable and very professional, the room (No.12) although a little tired, had great views and was warm and clean.

Dining was a delight although the portions are not for fat boys.

If you are after criticism, yes the drive could do with a bit of tarmac and some areas could do with a makeover, but we will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
865 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
859 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,677 reviews
24.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £73 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing