We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveller rating
537
497
232
128
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
497
232
128
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath tara restaurant superior room afternoon tea bottle of champagne main building mini bar eggs benedict scones lovely hotel cream tea course dinner a la carte menu wedding venue both nights bed and breakfast lovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the day before and got a great deal. Room was lovely and quiet. I really liked the small bottle of fresh milk in the minibar fridge, so much nicer than the little uht pots. A few stains on the room carpet and holes in one of the pillow cases were a little disappointing. Staff were all very friendly and welcoming.
Breakfast was very nice with hot food cooked to order.
However, please provide more training to bar staff on how to make cocktails - my mojito initially tasted of slightly flat soda. More sugar and a better muddling of the lime and mint helped but I was still disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiliaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on business on a late deal room rate, and it was nice, but not excellent. My room was in an annexe and was a good size and well equipped, a couple of the lamps didn't work and neither did the bathroom fan, but is was a nice room.

It's in a nice setting, the dining room has great views and a lovely terrace. Breakfast was fine, and throughout my stay the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great location.
Listed building and therefore has sash windows ......room 9's window rattled in the wind and sounded like distant artillery fire in the middle of the night.
Breakfast was good but was not served all the items listed on the full English breakfast menu.
No lift which meant the stairs were a bit of an ordeal for my wife who has an injury to her knee.
Stayed because it was cheaper than a well know hotel chain.

If you are considering a wedding venue the fixed price wedding may be worth looking at.

Room Tip: Good views from room 9 but rattling window if windy.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, good room (Exec room) which was clean and nicely refurbished. Only niggle was the Shower over the bath was set too low and no shower curtain so whole bathroom got wet!
Food was good standard and tasty. Service good and location/ setting perfect as just out of Gloucester.
Good value and would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights, had a double room in the annexe on the 2nd floor. room was small but adequate for our needs, some nice touches in the room, good quality tea, coffee and hot chocolate and contained a mini bar & fridge ( which we weren't informed about). Cleanliness very good. Service was very good and all staff were welcoming and friendly, hotel made sure all my dietary needs catered for. Had dinner in the evening which was good cost £25 each for two of us for 2 courses, good standard but small portions.
Breakfast was also very good, however we were not informed of all the options on the sat morning and there were no menus on any of the tables unlike on the sun morning. Parking is good here. Our room had a good view. Overall had a great time, really enjoyed it met some lovely people too would stay again.

Room Tip: There is a pub just a 10 min walk down the hill if you want some pub fayre and don't want to pay hotel prices. The pub does two meals for £10 even on weekend. Lots of lovely places/villages to visit in the local area too. Gloucester and Cheltenham are only a short distance.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews