We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing Wedding Venue..Food mainly..”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Along with the current Mrs b....I attended my cousins (who is also my best friend and the closest thing to a brother I have ) wedding.The bride to be had carefully researched and chosen this venue as a wedding in later life is a very important event.I know they had sample food tastings etc but can only revue as an onlooker and guest..
We arrived at 2.0pm as requested for a 2.30 event,just managed to park as the car park was full.On entering the hotel we made our way in and passing the reception obviously looking for the bar or room for the event ,although 2 or 3 staff were chatting by the desk no help was offered.We made our way to the bar approx 20 guests already there some had been served but it was obvious the young girl on the bar could not cope,at one point a little later she actually left people waiting for drinks and went glass collecting.( The point here is the hotel new all the guests would be arriving between approx 1.45 and 2.30 pm staff should have been allotted accordingly.)
The actual wedding and outside venue were fine no probs there..So on to the reception....a marquee with a solid floor and outside access,well presented tables and quite large,unfortunately bar problem again initially Carlsburg barrel not on or ready,so waiting again ,at this point I must praise all the young people who were present in a work capacity in the marquee.
Right onto the main reason for the revue the food...on the side tables platters of sandwiches which were all unexciting and bland ,incidently they ran out very quickly as well,the same can be said for the tiny brown scones that all you could taste was cinnamon and the 1 tray of 1 small meringue with half a strawberry and cream on top,and really heavy awfull slab cake.
Now I don,t know how much ahead they charge but I doubt it's cheap.
I've just found this on their website and it's probably what we had...............
Full Afternoon Tea

Smoked Salmon, Egg Mayonnaise, Cream Cheese & Cucumber Sandwiches,
Selection of Homemade Cakes & Scones, Clotted Cream,
Strawberry Jam & Tea or Coffee for 2

£35 per couple
All I can say is if your planning an event ,.....Caveat Emptor...Let the buyer beware..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Hatton Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just had a birthday lunch with friends in restaurant. Attention to detail was limited. No side plates when we were given 2 types of bread to nibble on before our starters arrived- we had to request. Also we had to ask for water containers to be refilled.The Maitre De almost shouted out at us.One of our party had the fish platter as his main meal & the warm bread to accompany it came when he had virtually finished.
Food was good but service & forethought could have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank claire2492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Hotel is in lovely setting, very close to the city of Gloucester and - a little gem - the delightful town of Painswick. I agree with some reviews that the hotel would rate higher if it were not for some minor issues (e.g. slow service at breakfast one morning, inconsistent wifi reception). However, I would definitely stay here again if only for the excellent hospitality of most of the staff which made for a very pleasant two-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent Wedding Reception Venue - lovely setting and views. The management and staff were excellent and could not do enough for us to make sure my Daughter's wedding reception went smoothly right from the time we arrived. Room had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. Just a beautiful weekend from arrival until departure. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just back from our second stay at this Hotel having stayed here last year also. Overall the Hotel is very nice and the experience of staying here is great, however, there were a few minor issues during this stay. The light outside the window of our room ( number 34) is incredibly bright and totally illuminates the bedroom at bed time to such an extent that I had to use a bath towel in an attempt to block out some of the light coming through above the curtains. At Breakfast on both mornings there were no muffins available for eggs Benedict which meant I couldn't have my first choice breakfast on either morning also there was no bread knife available for use. We stayed in a superior room with jacuzzi but unfortunately the jacuzzi only worked when it wanted to. The driveway on the approach to the car park is in a very bad state of repair with many potholes, this issue needs to be addressed. On the plus side, the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, staff are friendly and the food and service are both very good. we will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Villamatt1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having used this hotel on a number of occasions on business trips, I decided to take my wife for a night away there over the bank holiday weekend.

On arrival, we were asked at what time we'd like our meal (we'd booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package) - only to then be restricted to 'before 7.15pm or after 8.45pm'.

As they knew in advance we'd be eating in the restaurant, I found this to be incredibly disappointing and explained we would no longer require the room as we would proceed home - as it was only a further hour away.

The hotel have now charged my account for the whole stay - including breakfast and evening meal, even though we were only there for 10 minutes.

I am awaiting a response from the manager - but note they have previously over-booked the restaurant and over-charged guests in the past.

Once again, a hotel has forgotten the key - if you're taking lots of bookings for your restaurant, it is prudent to either offer a booking facility at the time you book your room - or alternatively make a courtesy call to the guest to take the booking or manage expectations in advance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank twinspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hatton Court is a lovely hotel in the beautiful Gloucetershire countryside. We went mid-week as we had been warned that they have many bookings for weddings at weekends and it does get noisy.

The hotel was very well kept and the rooms clean. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good if over-priced. We paid £40 for the a-la-carte menu and although the choices were good and the food ok, the portion sizes were minute. One of our party ordered the lamb tagine which consisted of one skinny,raw lamb cutlet and some lentils. My dinner was served on a slate with some dubious smears around it. There were no vegetables to speak of unless you counted (which we did!) the three green beans on each plate.

Anyway, the rooms were good once we reached them up the 12 outside steps and the two storeys climb up more stairs. All in all a nice place to stay but don't have dinner at the hotel, especially if you've been out walking all day and want a substantial meal when you get back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HolsAbroadFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
840 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
849 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,626 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £78 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing