We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Break”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value Break”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Booked a 2 night gourmet package through OPL, which included afternoon tea, £40 per person restaurant allowance on first night, £25 per person allowance on second night plus full breakfast.

We were not disappointed. Room was on the small side, but clean, comfortable and well maintained. Spacious bathroom.

Location of the hotel is good. Great base for exploring the beatiful Cotswolds
Afternoon tea was lovely - we got a glass of bubbly which was a nice surprise!
Evening meals were also good, but you dont always get exactly what is stated in the menu desciption. Great choice at breakfast of both hot and cold items.

We found all staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Overall, a good stay, and we would be happy to use this hotel again.

Room Tip: executive room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    423
    190
    111
    96
See reviews for
152
761
21
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is in a lovely setting, the staff are very friendly and efficient. We were upgraded from a standard to superior room which was very nice although the bathrooms could do with some TLC. The Tara Brasserie was over priced for the small portions and the quality wasn't great. There are three menu's on offer daily, The Brasserie, The Tara Restaurant Daily Chef's Menu and the A La Carte and for some reason the same dish ordered from different menus is totally different. The hotel has a great comfortable feel about it but it's let down somewhat by the food. In saying all of that we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAlly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I booked a Superior Room at short notice and the room we were allocated, by my standards, was not Superior – the room was cold, dark, had no view (as advertised) and was damp. By the evidence in the room, a plug in air-freshener (to hide the musty smell), a ‘damp-box’ on the windowsill, a portable radiator (in addition to the permanent one) and the bathroom towel heater was ON (and thank god it was, because we put the warm towels in the bed to warm them up!), I would say the hotel management were very aware of this.

The only reason, I can work out, this was a superior room was the spa bath, mini bar and dressing gowns. It was certainly the most basic superior room I’ve stayed in.

But on the plus side, after requesting a change of room (to the very understanding receptionist-very slim with long blonde hair) we were moved to a lovely sunny room, with no plug-in air freshener or portable radiator or a ‘damp-box’, even the bathroom towel heater was turned off.

The Breakfast was wonderful – the bacon was amazing and as the weather was so perfect we were given the choice to sit inside or outside on the verandah.

The showers in both rooms were very good and the beds were very comfortable.

The hotel is beautiful and in lovely surroundings. It is just the luck of the draw which room you get.

If I did return I would book a standard room as we didn’t use the spa bath, mini bar or the dressing gowns….nor did we get a view!!

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room mention it to the receptionist - they certainly changed our short b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruca2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 days with some friends as we were all celebrating significant wedding anniversaries. The bedrooms we were given were clean and the beds comfortable - but we agreed that the bathrooms could do with a bit of an overhaul (although this would not detract us from staying again). The evening meals were to a good standard, well presented by attentive staff. Breakfast choice from a cold selection and hot cooked items was also good - especially the eggs benedict! Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and attentive. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are on upper floors, some with more steps than others so best to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here one night shocked and dismayed at the room they offered us initially. It was small unwelcoming, shabby and dirty. We refused this room and they then offered us a different room which was as bad as the first one which we also refused. We were then upgraded to the room with the four poster bed which was not really a four poster. This room was also grubby with peeling paint worn carpets. The French doors would not close the windows were filthy. This room had a huge balcony that desperately needed jet washing. The bathroom had a large bath which was also dirty. If it hadn't been for the fact that we did not arrive until 7 in the evening we would not have stayed. The food was ok but very small portions and very expensive. A pint of beer and a glass of wine was £12. All in all an experience we would not wish to repeat.

Room Tip: Don't stay there try somewhere clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrandmrsc2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just wanted to share what a fantastic wedding we had this weekend at Hatton Court. Perfect venue for a wedding, we were looked after all weekend. The staff are exceptional, friendly, polite, efficient and extremely helpful - the stress of a wedding is just taken away. The food is also to a high standard and well presented. Nice grounds for photos and the rooms for guests are lovely. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

we have stayed a number of times and always been very pleased with the service and food we prefer to stay in the hotel it self the atmosphere is great ..Log fires and high back chairs .We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here. We had room one which is more like a suit with wooden beams .so ok its not a new building and it does have it faults .we like it

Room Tip: ask for a room away from kitchen .can be a bit noisy in the night and early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oucab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
793 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,102 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
354 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing