We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food !”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Room a little shsbby, very much in need of updating. This wasn, t the theme for the rest of the building. We stayed two nights eating in on the second..
The food was possibly one of the best meals I have had, it would be worth returning for that alone, Staff were all friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views overbthe gardens not above the main entrance.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53CMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear 53CMV,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you for your kind comments.

I appreciate that parts of the hotel are starting to look a little tired; we do have refurbishment works planned to start in September.

The staff really do appreciate all your positive feedback and makes the hard work all the more rewarding.

I will pass on your comments to the Chefs who will be thrilled with your comments.

We hope to see you again at Hatton Court.

Kind regards
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
There are newer reviews for Hatton Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a terrible stay this week (it was so bad it has prompted me to leave feedback so you might be spared the same experience). I researched the hotel before booking a deal with Secret Escapes for a night away with cream tea, 5 course tasting menu and breakfast. The reviews looked good and the photos looked great but the reality is that it is a dirty, shabby, run down hotel that markets itself on being quality but it is really quite poor. The grounds, building exterior, location and staff are really very good (especially the staff), the food in the Tara Restaurant is good to okay (but this is not fine dining and should not be offering a tasting menu) but the hotel interior - bedrooms / restaurant / entrance lobby, the cleanliness, and repairs / up keep are terrible. It had dirty hand prints on the glass doors, the windows were dirty, the restaurant smelt bad, the furniture, walls and fittings were in a poor state and the carpets were stained and dirty. We had a deal through Secret Escapes that gave us a discount of 39% and I still feel we paid too much. I would recommend avoiding this hotel until it has been refurbished.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LizB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear LizB3,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations.

I note your comments regarding areas of the hotel that does need refurbishment and am pleased to say this is scheduled for early September.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, I will pass this on to the team.

If you would like to discuss any further please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a two-day break at Hatton Court Hotel and anxious to share the joys of this lovely peaceful break in beautiful countryside. Staff exceptionally friendly, fun and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. As two elderly ladies travelling together we were made very welcome.
A very nice addition to our trip was a visit to the Matara Gardens of Wellbeing, a nice short drive away.
My only reason for marking down the sleep quality was that I prefer a very soft bed, but realise that this is a personal choice and I have no doubt that had I requested a softer mattress topper one would have been forthcoming immediately.

Room Tip: Nice light and reasonably spacious room, and super bathroom. Clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyanne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Lucyanne35,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you for your kind comments.

I’m glad whilst you were here the weather allowed you to enjoy the Matara Centre, we are lucky to be surrounded by such beautiful places to visit.

The staff really do appreciate all your positive feedback and makes the hard work all the more rewarding.

We hope to see you again at Hatton Court.

Kind regards
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Returned last night from a two night break via a Travelzoo deal which included breakfast for two mornings and dinner on the first night. After consulting with the hotel, we chose to have the dinner on the second night and to have afternoon tea (at lunchtime on the day we arrived) so that we could explore the area and have a meal out without worrying about the time.
Afternoon tea was the usual sandwiches, cakes and scones and cream and jam and was only £10 per person and we were offered extra scones.
We went with friends and both rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts (you could order exactly how many eggs, rashers etc that you wanted and have the usual cereals, cold meats and cheese, crumpets, croissants and toast) was very good. Dinner was a three course set menu with numerous choices for each course.
Would definitely return to this hotel if in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brensue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Brensue,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to see you again at Hatton Court.

Kind regards
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a nice time on a TravelZoo deal which was value for money.
I'll mention the positives - staff were good from the bar to the Tara restaurant. Food was fine at both dinner and breakfast(not a buffet) and the chef can do soft poached eggs - well done.
Dinner was good and tasty.
Nice views from our bedroom which had two aspects so plenty of light and good views from the first floor.
Dining room was the best room in the hotel and the outside decking area was nice to have a drink and a chat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OliverAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear OliverAmy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

Thank you for your kind comments and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to the staff who are always delighted to receive positive feedback that makes the hard work they do all the more rewarding.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you at Hatton Court again.

Kind regards
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

lovely and helpful staff, nice gardens to relax and have a few drinks. Not the quietest place i have been to but never the less it was very nice. Food was well presented, breakfast, plenty of it. would recommend this hotel, quite cosy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank selina429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Selina429,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

Thank you for your kind comments and am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to the staff who are always delighted to receive positive feedback that makes the hard work they do all the more rewarding.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again at Hatton Court.

Kind regards
Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Attended an evening wedding reception last night (second in a year) and must say that as a 70 year old guest having visited this hotel many times over a 40 year period, I was bitterly disappointed. Last year was bad enough, but last night the price of drinks were extortionate and the buffet I would not have paid for. This used to be considered the cream of hotels in Gloucester, but unfortunately - on last evenings showing - it has now reached the bottom. This is the first time I have made an adverse comment on TA so do not do so lightly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank teejayengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
840 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
848 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
687 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing