We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel for a short break”
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatton Court Hotel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel for a short break”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed recently for a couple of nights.Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food and service at The Tara restaurant was excellent( coq au vin was superb-thanks chef!). We stayed in an executive double room which was v clean and pleasant but we felt it was rather small and decorated rather blandly. Bathroom was lovely and the bath was huge! Breakfast choice was fantastic-hubby had haddock and I had kippers-absolutely delicious. All in all, a lovely base from which to explore some beautiful Gloucestershire/Herefordshire/Worcestershire countryside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, who are always grateful to receive such positive feedback, it makes all the hard work even more rewarding.

I am pleased to say that we are due refurbishment in the rooms starting in September and so hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court then.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    436
    192
    112
    97
See reviews for
159
777
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked for our first anniversary as we stayed at a 4 star offering a similar fine dining menu after our wedding last year.

This was £80 more expensive and didn't even come close. No option on menu so we ended up having the normal a la carte as a few of the courses we didn't like.

Hotel was very understaffed and we were regularly left standing waiting at the bar as the bar an was off in other parts of the hotel. Restaurant staff were lovely however.

The exterior of the building is beautiful but this does not follow into the rooms which appear to have not been decorated for some time and are desperately in need of an update and new plumbing for the toilets .

All in all very overpriced for the standard you would expect for the setting. If you want a enjoyable country hotel stay----go elsewhere

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations.

I note your comments regarding areas of the hotel that does need refurbishment and am pleased to say this is scheduled for early September.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our restaurant staff, I will pass this on to the team.

If you would like to discuss any further please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed one night on a "package deal". All staff very friendly and helpful Room was clean and tidy.
High tea and evening meal very enjoyable, although there were a few glitches in the kitchen . Breakfast was ok .All in all good value for the "package deal" price.
.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payinguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise if there were a couple of kitchen glitches but hope they were sorted out or you quickly.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, who are always grateful to receive such positive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I have just got back from a weekend stay at Hatton Court, booked via Travelzoo.
We've had several stays through Travelzoo, and this was definitely one of the best.

We arrived a little bit earlier than the 3o'clock check in time, but we were able to check in with no problems. The room itself was a good size, with a lovely comfortable bed. The bathroom was a perhaps a little bit dated, but everything was fully functional.
My biggest frustration in the room was the lack of lights. There was one in the hallway, two bedside lamps and a desk lamp. None of which were idea when the curtains were drawn and I was trying to get ready in limited light. I think I've read on a previous review that a refurb is on the cards for later this year - I hope this is something that is improved on.

Dinner was a 3 course set menu, which was lovely. The portions were good - unlike other set menus we've had in the past. My only complaint was that the banoffee pie was far too big - I don't like waste, but there was no way I could finish it! Oh, and the music being played was a little bit.... dated.

Breakfast the following morning was just as good. A great selection of continental buffet and a lovely traditional breakfast cooked to order. The sausages and bacon were particularly good!

Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked on lastminute.com a 1 night stay with dinner for 2 for £122, booked Hatton Court as we were going to be in the area and wanted a charming hotel with character, Hatton Court from the web photos particularly the exterior looked beautiful so we went ahead and quickly booked, unfortunately looks can be deceiving. The small reception area had just 1 receptionist who was clearly overworked and under pressure from having to deal with guests, bookings, calls etc so she rushed everything, we went in to our room which was quite nice and spacious but with a dated look and a toilet that did not flush properly, the hairdryer also did not work and my wife also noticed that the towels were dirty and the room itself did not feel very fresh, she made a complaint and we were immediately upgraded with no extra charge, The new room was massive with a 4 poster bed etc, but again looked old fashioned and looked as though it had not been decorated for donkeys years. Went for dinner which also proved a disappointment, i had chicken chassuer which tasted like chicken with a bit of gravy, my wife's fish and chips were soggy and the chips seriously over cooked/almost burnt, the fish cake starter was equally non eventful ,In fairness the next day's breakfast was very good and made up for the previous night and the staff did a good job, but all in all not the most rewarding experience and certainly a bit of a disappointment when you look at the photos. , ,

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Michael G
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations.

I note your comments regarding areas of the hotel that does need refurbishment and am pleased to say this is scheduled for early September. I apologise that the towels in you room were dirty - our housekeepers do check all linen before putting it in a guests room but appreciate on this occasion it was missed

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, I will pass this on to the team.

If you would like to discuss any further please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed just one night. Had a lovely comfortable room which was unfortunately at the top of the building and many, many stairs to climb. If booking avoid rooms 1 and 2 unless you are very fit.
The room itself was beautiful but a little shabby in places needing a paint job.
They only had a three course meal on offer for dinner so we decided to go into Gloucester. We went to the Quayside first which is beautiful but found the city centre very dirty and run down.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Shirley B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel is due for refurbishment stating in early September so hope that you will come and visit us again in the not to distance future.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Purchased through offpeakluxury.com as a food lovers weekend but this was anything but.
No a la carte menu - no rose wine - steak without a steak knife and no English mustard. Salmon sent back twice as raw in the middle meant this food lover went without a main course. Bill had to be amended 3 times due to charging for items our party did not have.

Would not recommend as it does not deliver on food or service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupert10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Rupert10,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations.

Unfortunately from time to time we do run out of certain items and understand that this can be a tad disappointing.

I’m sorry you did not enjoy the Salmon dish and apologise for the mistakes made on your bill, but understand that this was rectified for you.

I note your comments regarding the lack of Steak knife and have spoken to the Restaurant team to ensure that correct cutlery is given to guests once their order has been taken.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
817 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
837 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,130 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
7.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing