We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay, August 2014” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hatton Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hatton Court Hotel
2 reviews
“One night stay, August 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay. The hotel staff were very friendly and efficient, especially in the restaurant. Food excellent and nicely serve both at dinner and breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable, but ready for redecoration.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ann P,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments they are very much appreciated and I will pass them on to all the staff.

I'm pleased to say we are due refurbishments starting in early September.

We hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    409
    179
    105
    85
See reviews for
138
739
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Booked a two day break through travel zoo £160 bed breakfast one night evening meal.after reading mix reviews did not no wot to expect .
When we arrived thought how nice the building of the hotel was . booked in and the room was very nice and clean so first impression very good in fact lovely . Had evening meal in the restaurant head waiters excellent very polite and service and food very good. Same at breakfast very good . service from staff and a lovely restaurant room. Only thing missing maybe some music in the backgroud.
Location brilliant for Cheltenham' and Gloucestershire town centre
I will give this hotel 9 out 10 land in in our will be back again thank you to the staff and manager for making our stay. So enjoyable.

Room Tip: Best to go for breakfast before 9am The rooms are very comfortable in detached stone building But no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Shane J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I'm delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us.

Apologies for the lack of background music in the restaurant, unfortunately our music system had broken but I'm pleased to say it’s now fixed.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff, I will ensure that this is passed on to them, its much appreciated and makes their hard work all the more rewarding.

I hope we can welcome you back to Hatton Court soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My ex wife and I have stayed here last weekend for two nights, the room was well appointed although some easy repairs would have made the room perfect, a little of the paper on the ceiling was coming adrift the window sill needed filling, sanding and repainting the plumbing was a little quirky and there were a few cobwebs here and there, nevertheless, personally I found the Hatton Court very nice, good location, helpful staff, even though often they were very busy, very nice breakfast, the beds were very comfortable, we would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Stay in the old original part if you like quirky, ask for a room in the new annexe if you want mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Russ D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I note your comments regarding aspects of the room that are a little tired but am pleased to say that our rooms are due refurbishment staring in September.

We hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed sadly only one night for our first anniversary. Firstly we would like to say a big thank you to all the staff who we meet during our stay starting with the very welcoming reception to the waiting staff at dinner and breakfast. We stayed in a lovely room with spa bath and a huge comfy bed! Our only critisim would be that bath room could really be updated yes lovely spa bath but fixtures around bathroom abit rusty really let it down. Dinner and breakfast both delicious could eat it all again!! (That's a lie so stuffed!) lovely hotel would stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBull92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, its really appreciated and makes all their hard work all the more rewarding.

We hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel creating a warm and relaxing atmosphere. The room was very clean and the bathroom including whirlpool bath were great. We ate in the restaurant both days and have absolutely no complaints with the fantastic food and service. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliew2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, who are always grateful to receive such positive feedback, it makes all the hard work even more rewarding

We hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Helpful staff went to great lengths to accommodate my husbands dietary requirements following cancer surgery. A truly memorable weekend surprise family celebration with excellent food & attentive staff

Room Tip: Sadly no lift access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Tricia,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay and celebrations with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, who are always grateful to receive such positive feedback, it makes all the hard work even more rewarding.

We hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court soon and best wishes to you Husband.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed recently for a couple of nights.Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food and service at The Tara restaurant was excellent( coq au vin was superb-thanks chef!). We stayed in an executive double room which was v clean and pleasant but we felt it was rather small and decorated rather blandly. Bathroom was lovely and the bath was huge! Breakfast choice was fantastic-hubby had haddock and I had kippers-absolutely delicious. All in all, a lovely base from which to explore some beautiful Gloucestershire/Herefordshire/Worcestershire countryside.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court.

Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, who are always grateful to receive such positive feedback, it makes all the hard work even more rewarding.

I am pleased to say that we are due refurbishment in the rooms starting in September and so hope to welcome you back to Hatton Court then.

Kind regards
Chloe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
1.2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Property: Hatton Court Hotel
Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Hatton Court Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing