We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works Christmas Party”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We booked rooms after booking our works Christmas Party here. There were nine of us and the 4 rooms booked were clean, comfortable and provided exactly what we needed.

The Party was great fun, and at the price it was worth every penny, the DJ played a good selection of music and the dancefloor was never empty.

A photographer was on hand to take photographs of the guests if they wanted, which you to pay for, but the photos were worth it.

Considering the large number of guests, the quality of service and food was great, the staff were busy, but still attentive.

Breakfast the next day was in our daughter's words "lush". It was a very nice breakfast and a nice way to start a new day.

Would have no hesitation in recommending Bowden Hall to friends and family, infact roll on next Christmas!!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the lake, the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Paul V

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that you found all the staff to be helpful, happy & pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

Recently celebrated my birthday here with my wife. Our room (#228) was clean and comfortable. Breakfast plentiful and an enjoyable meal in the restaurant had on our first evening. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel would benefit from some modernisation (for example the general decor and the health club changing rooms), but age and architecture of this building is what gives it its charm. Whilst I do not consider Bowden Hall to be a 4 star hotel, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Keith Major

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased you found the staff welcoming and pleasant during your stay at the hotel. There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the near future. I have forwarded your comments to our property manager for his perusal.

Again, thank you for leaving feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EchoBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The only probelem we had was the same as NickOSu ,but we were given a room number that did not exist and is was soon sorted out.The wedding meal was very good with fast efficient sevice.
The new year eve party was very good with lots of interesting people to talk to again the meal was very good, but as we booked back in june we could not remember what we had ordered from menu, again this was soon sorted out, full marks to the staff. We found all the staff very helpful, friendly and efficient. Only ate in the hotel for one night apart for the wedding and new year, as we know the area very well and know where all the good pubs are to go for a meal.

The hotel is a bit off the beaten track so a satnav is helpful or be good at map reading. A word of warning, there no lift at the hotel only a whellchair lift to the first floor, so if you have a heart condition or breathing problems, then it advisable to ask for a room on the first floor ,also parts of the car park are on a steep slope. The hotel is need of some refubishment, but do not let the stop you from staying there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear Bonduranger

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry that there was a bit of confusion when checking into the hotel but notice from your comments that this was sorted quickly and efficiently and that your overall stay and experience was a good one.

The hotel is a little of the beaten track but within easy access to the M5 junction 11 and set in beautiful grounds so worth the treck!

There are plans within Jupiter Hotels to update certain areas of the hotel in the not too distant future.
Again, thank you for leaving feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

We had a Xmas break and it was fantastic. Although we live fairly locally we wanted a treat and were not disappointed.
Everything was what we had wished for. The food was excellent, service great with 'happy pleasant staff' even though they were rushed off their feet nothing was too much trouble. Yes some parts of the hotel are a bit dated but it's Georgian so has lots of character. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.
If you want to stay somewhere where the food is excellent, staff great and beautiful surroundings then this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear EllieLou

Thank your taking the time to leave feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at the hotel and that you found all the staff to be helpful, happy & pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighburyCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We were checking in for a New Years Eve party with friends. It took ages for the 2 Reception staff to find our booking as there was another guest with same surname! They eventually gave us the door swipe keys, which would not work. Back down to Reception who obviously believed that we were swiping the cards in the door lock incorrectly. Sent is back up with a helpful young man, who also couldn't get our swipe cards to work. After using his master card he discovered the room was already occupied - shame as our party were in the adjoining rooms. The New Year Eve food, table and room decorations were very good and waiting/bar staff were brilliant. Breakfast this morning was very average, but again waiting staff very helpful. Overheard the DJ last night moaning to the Reception staff that he thought the room had too many pensioners in - they weren't pensioners they were customers!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickOSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear NickOSu

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave back feedback on Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

I am sorry to hear that your check-in wasn’t up to our usual standards and that in fact the room you were given was in fact already occupied – this is not acceptable and I apologise for any confusion over your room reservation been O’Sullivan and the reception team giving you the key to Sullivan’s bedroom.

I am pleased to hear that you thought all staff members to be extremely helpful throughout your stay.

Your comments on an ‘average’ breakfast are again something I will need to look into – we pride ourselves on the quality of food we serve to our guests and regularly get excellent feedback about it.

Lastly, and most disappointingly for me is the comments made by the DJ which you overheard on New Year’s Eve – for this I can only apologise sincerely for. Every guest in our hotel is treated in the same manner whether 9 or 90 and comments like this should not be made by the DJ. I WILL be taking this up with the DJ personally to ascertain why he thought such comments were deemed necessary.

Again, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

Kind Regards

Gavin Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
854 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hilton Puckrup Hall, Tewkesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range: £69 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing