We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but let down by prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Good but let down by prices”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is set in a quiet area on the outskirts of Gloucester. Driving to the hotel felt a bit like I'd gone wrong as it is at the end of quite a small winding lane - arriving in the dark I was glad for the illuminated Mercure entrance sign!

Reception was friendly and very helpful, organising taxis for our group, and efficiently sorting check in/out.

The hotel dinner wasn't cheap but was relatively good for the price. The steak I had was ok but wasn't the best cut of meat I'd ever had for the price. The drinks were expensive at approximately £7.50 a large glass of wine. Considering that you are pretty much a captive audience in the hotel unless you drive out or get a taxi, the drinks could be cheaper. Taxi to and from
Cheltenham was approximately £20 - be sure to confirm the price with the driver prior to setting off as we had to negotiate several times!!

Room was ok, but nothing special.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear ianedmonds

Thank you for your review of the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall hotel.

We were pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us recently.

The hotel is indeed in a rural setting away from the hustle and bustle of town therefore it can be a little harder to find than most but most Sat Nav devices will guide you to our hotel. We are, however, glad that you found us.

I will pass on your kind words onto our Reception team who continue to make us proud of our staff here. Friendliness and a warm welcome is what every weary traveller deserves when checking in.

Our dinner and drink prices are keeping in line with the market for a 4 star hotel and you will find that the quality of the food and wine will also have been reflected as we receive many compliments on our meals. We hope it was to your satisfaction otherwise.

Taxis into Cheltenham are not the cheapest form of transport particularly if you were staying with us during Race Week where they are at their busiest. However, at the bottom of the lane where we are situated, there is a very regular bus service that will take you into Gloucester or Cheltenham for a much smaller price.

Overall we do hope you had a comfortable stay with us and that we see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    259
    143
    71
    26
See reviews for
110
402
17
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
275 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea at this hotel as a gift. Rang and booked, very polite on telephone and this carried on with warm welcome from receptionist and waitress who showed us through to our table, both very smart in their uniforms too.
Strangely although it was Sunday afternoon we were the only people in the large dining room so did rather lack atmosphere. The dining tables were all beautifully set and we had a table in the big bay window overlooking the lake.
Finger sandwiches with traditional fillings, smoked salmon, cucumber and cream cheese and egg and cress were tasty as was the fresh scone with generous portions of jam and clotted cream. The cake selection, fruit cake and sponge slices and mini victoria sandwich were rather dull and not home made, however suited me as I do not eat cream. Waitress was attentive and courtesy checked half way through.
Decor is dated but in keeping with the style of the building and certainly not shabby or dirty.
The imposing white building outside gives an impressive first impression and the quiet setting beside the lake was ideal for a post meal stroll.
This hotel is local to us and well used for special events by many people we know, have never heard a bad word about it as a venue. We enjoyed our tea and the only reason the rating isn't higher was the lack atmosphere due to being the only people there and the fact the cakes were very Mr Kipling like!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earthtravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear earthtraveller

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Afternoon Tea you had with us recently.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your time here at Bowden Hall. Our staff are certainly attentive and friendly and the hotel grounds provide an impressive view from the lounge where you dined.

After speaking with the duty manager on the day you were here, I do believe that there were other afternoon tea bookings that had been and gone around 1pm and 2pm and that yours was booked for 4pm hence why it may have appeared quieter. It was simply that others had booked earlier in the day.

With regards to the cakes, we do not advertise that they are home made and therefore they are bought in but are of a decent quality and we have received compliments on them in the past.

We do hope that the overall experience you had with us will encourage you to return to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having read the negetive reviews then I am afraid that I am in total disagreement. Stayed weekend last month, down to watch the rugby with my wife & can say that whilst the hotel needs a bit of 'tlc' which understand being addressed at present time, the bed may be hard ( but haey only for 2 nights ), the twin room was excellent size, plenty of towels which had NOT seen better days, unlimited hot water and a kettle!!. Breakfast was excellent, choice & hot. All staff whether waiting, housekeeping or reception were very good and courteous ( specially Alison )
and a credit to the hotel. Ideal location and only 5 mins walk from the bus stop ( nos 5 ) to Gloucester. Only downside is the bitter beer in the bar, who drinks Boddingtons??

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minesabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Minesabeer

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your weekend.

All of our beds have brand new mattresses which the majority of guests have found to be most comfortable. As you pointed out, we have recently re-carpeted the entire downstairs public areas which both brightens and freshens the look of the main areas in a modern way.

The hotel is ideally situated for Gloucester, Cheltenham and the Cotswolds yet hidden away suitably to ensure peace and tranquillity for a restful break.

I will be sure to pass on all your kind comments to all those involved in making your stay such a pleasant one, particularly Alison who receives many kind compliments. We were also glad that you had a plentiful supply of hot water, clean towels and enjoyed our wonderful breakfast service.

Should you wish to return to Bowden Hall then we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 24th feb (2 nights) under the Love Promotion. Hotel absolutely lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Dinner on the first night was superb. The room to which we had been upgraded was very spacious with an extremely comfortable superking sized bed, certainly no prob sleeping. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Carol P

Thank you for your comments for the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall.

It was exceptionally good for us to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us! It is always heart warming for us to read when our guests have such a pleasant time.

We are extremely proud of our hotel especially the staff that work tirelessly to ensure that guests have that all important welcome and that nothing is too much. Comfort is very high on our list of priorities also and we are glad that you enjoyed a good night's sleep.

I will pass all your kind comments on to all our staff involved in making your stay such an enjoyable one as I know they will appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you wish to return in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Here on business, the hotel looks impressive as you approach, the staff were welcoming and friendly and very efficient. My room was pleasant, clean and warm on a chilly day and breakfast was pleasant, again accompanied by attentive and friendly staff. Everyone did all they could for us, very welcome. The only issue is that behind the grand facade, the hotel itself is showing the signs of age and use and generally looks very tired. Retaining features is very welcome in this day and age of bland hotel chains, but some TLC wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Rob S

Thank you your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent business trip with us and that the staff were friendly and welcoming and your room was comfortable and warm.

Our hotel certainly is a grand old building which requires constant TLC to keep it looking good both on the outside and the inside. We recently had a new carpet installed on the ground floor for all the public areas which we feel freshens up the hotel and makes it look warmer and brighter.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass them on to those that ensured you had a pleasant stay.

We do hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We arrived to see this lovely building surrounded by beautiful grounds.The receptionist was welcoming and very efficient .our room was light clean and very warm.We were early so went down for a drink in the magnificent bar,again the staff were friendly and helpful.our weekend deal included a meal which we booked for early evening,was a delight and we were served at a very high standard in a relaxed and calm atmosphere .The hotel is a short distance from Glouster and the Bus service is very frequent .I recommend the Dock area for eating and shopping .We had a wonderful weekend and cannot wait to go back to this splendid Hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyd997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Lesleyd997

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us.

The building certainly is grand and we like to think our guests find it comfortable and welcoming but most importantly, relaxing. We were also glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals.

As you pointed out we are indeed only a short distance from Gloucester and it's Quays where the shopping and choice of eateries is excellent making it a perfect destination to unwind.

We are glad that you would consider returning to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back where we hope your experience will be just as pleasant as this one.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

we booked our 2 night break at the end of January from an advert Ina national newspaper. We found all the staff very friendly. the room was basic but adequate and most importantly it was wArm. Breakfast every day and dinner for one night was included and we were pleasantly surprised that we had the choice of the full a la carte menu, and the meal was excellent. Hotel is located in a quiet area but only a short drive into Gloucester. We would definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Neilshanahan

Thank you very much for your comments.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We were also glad that you had a comfortable night's sleep and that the food was excellent.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the nearby city of Gloucester and the regency town of Cheltenham along with the charming Cotswolds. Being set in such rural surroundings ensures a quiet and pleasant stay.

Thank you for recommending the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall and we look forward to welcoming you back should you wish to return in the future.

Kind Regards

Rebecca D Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
4.8 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mercure Bristol North The Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel

Property: Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Address: Bondend Lane Bondend Road, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton St Leonards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classically-styled country house hotel with Regency decor; amenities for business & leisure guests; situated on beautiful grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Upton St Leonards
Ramada Hotel Bowden Hall
Ramada Gloucester
Gloucester Ramada
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel Upton St Leonards, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing